Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Anoloko 1891 1892 8-16S-15W Mail to Norphlet
Atlanta 1858 1866
Attaway 1898 1907 5-20S-17W Named for Bernstine Attaway, Postmistress; Mail to Junction
Aurelle 1901 1933 24-19S-13W Was to be Brady; Mail to Strong
Barringer 1919 1921 30-16S-14W Was to be Ritchie; Mail to Quinn
Beaver Run 1849 1857 20-16S-18W
Beechland 1846 Changed to Mount Holly, 1853
Bethany 1903 1903
Bird See Wilkes
Black's 1832 1833 1834 Named for Jonathan Black, Postmaster
Blanchard Springs 1919 33-19S-15W Changed from Caledonia, 1881; Was to be Hall; Mail Caledonia
Bolding 1904 1955 3-19S-11W Mail to Huttig
Brady See Aurelle
Bum See Ease
Cabin/Cabun/Cabeen's 1832 17-13S-9W To Bradley County, 1840; Changed to Warren, 1843
Caledonia 1872 21-19S-15W Changed to Blanchard Springs, 1881
Caledonia 1886 1932 21-19S-15W Mail to Junction City
Calion 1907 16-16S-14W
Cargile 1893 1925 15-18S-15W Mail to El Dorado
Cario 1898 1916 28-17S-17W Mail to Shuler
Champagnolle 1918 23-16S-14W Changed from Union Courthouse, 1846; Mail to Calion
Chew's Mills 1878 1879 14-18S-16W Named for John H. Chew, Postmaster; Was to be Cotton Valley
Chip 1885 1903 3-20S-16W Mail to Junction
Concord 1889 4-19S-12W Changed to Victoria, 1903
Corea Fabre 1832 Changed to Camden and to Ouachita County, 1842
Cornie 1850 1916 4-19S-18W Mail to Three Creeks
Cotton Valley See Chew's Mills
Cottonland 1901 23-18S-13W Changed to Sandy Bend, 1902
DeSoto 1892 1893 14-17S-16W Was to be Pinson; Mail to El Dorado
Dilolo 1884 31-17S-13W Changed to Lawson, 1909
Doright 1903 1905 33-17S-14W Mail to Dilolo
Ease 1914 1920 17-17S-13W Was to be Bum; Mail to Lawson
El Dorado 1847 28-17S-15W
El Dorado Landing 1878 1879
Felsenthal 1903 1969 S16-19S-10W Mail to Huttig
Fishback See Griffin
Fosters 1840 1847 Named for William Foster, Postmaster; To Ouachita County, 1842
Griffin 1893 1955 33-15S-16W Was to be Fishback; Mail to Smackover
Griffin See Wesson
Hall See Blanchard Springs
Harrison 1841 1843 To Bradley County, 1841
Haymos See Jess
Henderson City See Smackover
Hibank 1911 1917 30-18S-14W Mail to El Dorado
Hillsboro/Hillsborough 1846 1926 25-18S-14W
Hogg's Store 1847 Changed to Lisbon, 1847
Huttig 19-19S-10W Changed from Spinola, 1904
Irwin 1908 1908 Named for E. H.Irwin, Postmaster
Jess 1891 21-16S-15W Was to be Haymos; Changed to Norphlet, 1891
Junction/Junction City 1894 2-20S-16W
Juno 1894 1918 15-17S-14W Mail to Nick Springs
Kinard 1892 1907 11-18S-16W Named for Thomas Kinard, Postmaster; Mail to El Dorado
Lambert 1879 1882 17-17S-14W Named for James D. Lambert, Postmaster; Mail to El Dorado
Lapeer 1895 1916 5-20S-11W Mail to Marion, Louisiana
Lapile 1877 1955 8-19S-11W Mail to Strong
Lawson 31-17S-13W Changed from Dilolo, 1909
Lisbon 1931 2-17S-17W Changed from Hogg's Store, 1847; Mail to El Dorado
Lockhart 1894 1897 31-19S-14W Mail to Union Parish, Louisiana
Lutre 1894 1895 36-19S-14W Mail to Hillsboro
Magill 1908 1908
Magnolia 1844 10-13S-17W Changed to Wilmington, 1847
Marysville See Wilks
McMurrain 1900 3-17S-15W Changed to Quinn, 1907
Medlock 1896 1897 36-16S-15W Mail to Norphlet
Meeks 1856 1860 16-19S-15W
Meuit(?) See Upland
Midway See Sess
Mill Creek See Rock Springs
Moro Bay 1856 Changed to Pigon Hill, 1856
Mount Holly 34-16S-18W Changed from Beechland, 1853
New London 1854 1933 34-17S-12W Mail to Strong
Newport Landing See Sna
Nick Springs 1913 1923 32-17S-14W Mail to El Dorado
Norphlet 21-16S-15W Changed from Jess, 1891
Oakville 1849 Changed to Three Creek, 1851
Ode See Orb
Orb 1901 1902 30-17S-16W Was to be Ode; Mail to El Dorado
Pigon Hill 1911 33-16S-12W Changed from Moro Bay, 1856; Mail to Wilmington
Pineflat 1895 1896 16-16S-17W Mail to Mount Holly
Pinson See Desoto
Quinn 1927 2-17S-15W Changed from McMurrain, 1907
Reform 1851 1852
Richie See Barringer
Rock Springs 1874 1880 13-17S-14W Was to be Wallusville or Mill Creek
Rural/Mount Rural 1898 1904 13-18S-12W Mail to Lapile
Sandybend 1928 24-18S-13W Changed from Cottonland, 1902; Mail to Urbana
Scotland 1852 1866 21-19S-16W
Sess 1913 1914 36-17S-18W Named for Seaton G. Sessoms, Postmaster; Was to be Midway; Mail to Cario
Shuler 1881 1917 11-18S-18W Named for J. F. Shuler, Postmaster; Mail to El Dorado
Smackover 1887 7-15S-15W From Ouachita County, 1890; Was to be Newport Landing or Henderson City
Spinola 1892 25-19S-11W Changed to Huttig, 1904
Steenville 1926 1928 10-17S-16W Named for Fred J. Steen, Postmaster; Was to be Westville
Stephen's 1860 1867
Strong 32-18S-12W Changed from Victoria, 1904
Surry See Wilks
Three Creeks 1917 16-19S-17W Changed from Oakville, 1851; Mail to Wesson
Tremont 1852 1867
Trull 1904 1922 23-18S-17W Mail to Wesson
Tubal 1892 1916 24-19S-18W Mail to Three Creeks
Union Courthouse 1837 14-16S-14W Changed to Champagnolle, 1846
Union Springs 1852 1866 4-19S-12W
Upland 1895 1926 5-19S-15W Was to be Meuit (?); Mail to El Dorado
Urbana 1905 16-18S-13W
Victoria 32-18S-12W Changed from Concord, 1903; Changed to Strong, 1904
Wallusville See Rock Springs
Wesson 1887 1972 29-18S-16W Was to be Griffin
Westville See Steenville
Wilks 1890 1907 34-17S-18W Was to be Surry or Bird; Local name, Marysville; Mail to Village
Wilmington 1929 2-17S-13W Changed from Magnolia, 1847; Mail to El Dorado
Woolley 1880 1895 25-18S-16W Mail to Cargile