Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Actus 1880 1908 21-7N-31W Was to be Drywood; Mail to Jenny Lind
Alamo See Burma
Anna See Bedford
Arbuckle's Island See Island
Auburn 1908 30-7N-29W Changed to Langston, 1886; Was to be Edna; Mail to Greenwood
Back Bone 1878 1878 3-6N-32W
Back Bone 1856 1866 21-6N-31W Was to be Hill
Barling 1890 33-8N-31W Local name, Spring Hill; See also Camp Chaffee
Bedford 1890 1903 5-8N-29W Was to be Anna
Beltville 1884 1884 8-7N-32W Mail to Fort Smith
Bethell 1880 1880
Bethell See Iposo
Beverly 1877 1915 28-8N-29W Mail to Lavaca
Big Creek See Bloomer
Biswell Springs 1889 1891 16-7N-30W 1895
Black Jack From Scott County 1877; To Scott County 1877
Black Walnut See Long Prairie
Bloomer 1851 1923 7-7N-29W Local name, Big Creek; Mail to Charleston
Bonanza 1897 1960 4-6N-32W
Breckinridge 1858 1866
Brunner 1852 1867 13-6N-30W
Bucket See Rye
Burma 1901 20-5N-31W Changed to Midland, 1904; Was to be Alamo or Mohawk
Burnville 1879 1912 15-6N-30W Mail to Greenwood
Camp Chaffee See Barling
Cavanaugh 1886 1902 8-7N-32W Mail to Fort Smith
Central 1917 1-7N-31W Changed from Montrose, 1883; Mail to Barling
Chocoville 1852 Changed to Mansfield, 1887
Cornish 1898 1898
Cresent 1889 1903 13-7N-32W Mail to Jenny Lind
Dayton 1905 17-5N-30W Changed from Hodge's Prairie; Mail to Huntington
Dorsey See Nep
Drywood See Actus
Edna See Auburn
Excelsior 1882 1912 16-6N-31W Mail to Greenland
Floyd See Narrows
Fort Smith 1829 8-8N-32W From Crawford County, 1851
Greenwood 1852 12-6N-31W
Gwynn 1899 10-4N-32W Changed to Hartford, 1905
Hackett/Hackett City 21-6N-32W Changed from James Fork, 1877
Hartford 1874 10-4N-32W Changed to West Hartford, 1905; Then from Gwynn, 1905
Hill See Back Bone
Hodge's Prairie 1853 8-5N-30W Changed to Dayton, 1873
Huntington 1887 25-5N-31W
Ipavo/Ipava 1880 1890 12-4N-31W Was to be Bethell; Mail to Mansfield
Iris 1882 1883 8-7S-32W Mail to Fort Smith
Island 1890 1911 2-9N-29W Local name, Arbuckle's Island; Mail to Beverly
James Ford 1850 1851 From Crawford County; Changed to Hackett City, 1877
Jenny Lind 1851 1959 33-7S-31W Mail to Fort Smith
Jenson 1887 1906 17-6N-32W Mail to Hackett
Langston 1886 6-6N-29W Changed to Auburn, 1886; Named for John P. Langston, Postmaster
Lavaca 34-8N-30W Changed from Military Grove, 1879
Liverpool 1887 1888 2-4N-32W Mail to Hartford
Long Prairie 1855 28-7N-32W Was to be Black Walnut; Changed to Enterprise, 1867
Mansfield Changed from Chocoville 1887
Mark 1885 1887 34-6N-32W Mail to Hackett
Massard 1877 1901 30-8N-31W Local name, Mazzark; Mail to Fort Smith
Mazzark See Massard
Mew Market 1853 1872 23-6N-29W
Midland 19-5N-31W Changed from Burma, 1904
Military Grove Changed from Myer's Landing 1879; To Lavaca, 1881
Milltown 1880 1912 36-6N-30W Mail to Greenwood
Milor 1860 1875 2-?-31W
Mohawk See Burma
Montrial 1891 1910 18-5N-31W Mail to Midland
Montrose 1876 6-7N-30W Changed to Central, 1883
Mountain Glen 6-4N-30W Area from Scott County
Myer's Landing 1877 12-8N-30W Changed to Military Grove, 1879
Narrows 1899 1900 12-6N-30W Was to be Floyd; Mail to Auburn
Neal 1892 7-7N-31W Changed from Rye, 1888; Mail to Cresent
Nep 1900 1905 19-11N-32W Was to be Dorsey or New; Mail to Hartford
New See Nep
Peoria 1878 1915 7-4N-31W Mail to Mansfield
Prairie Creek 1907 1910 2-4N-32W Mail to Midland
Randolph 1886 1888 28-7N-31W Mail to Actus
Round Knob 1855 1856 7-7N-31W
Rye 1886 13-7N-32W Was to be Buckey, Changed to Meal, 1888
Salem See Witcherville
Slatowville 1890 1911 20-5N-32W Mail to Hackett
South Fort Smith 1910 1963 34-8N-32W Mail to Fort Smith
Spring Hill See Barling
Sugar Loaf 1851 1902 13-5N-32W From Crawford County, 1851; Mail to Montrial
Ursula 1898 1943 33-8N-29W Mail to Charleston
Vache Grass 1858 1866
Valley 1858 1866
Washburn 1875 1933 28-6N-29W Mail to Greenwood
West Hartford 1905 1918 20-4N-32W Changed from Hartford, 1905; Mail to Hartford
Witcherville 1875 1926 1-5N-31W Local name, Salem; Mail to Hutington