Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Allison 1899 1903 23-13N-17W Named for Jefferson D. Allison; Local name, Bean; Mail to Searban
Atlas 1907 14-13N-17W Changed to Imo, 1930
Baker 1907 1955 28-15N-15W Was to be Low Gap; Mail to Marshall
Baskins 1889 1900 23-13N-17W Mail to Marshall
Bean See Allison
Bear Creek 1871 1956 27-14N-17W Mail to Marshall
Begley 1923 1933 7-14N-14W Mail to Leslie
Big Flat 1854 1865 19-13N-16W
Blanco 1910 20-15N-17W Changed from Calf Cree, 1888; Mail to Snowball
Bloom 1882 1883 13-13N-16W Mail to Marshall
Bluff Springs See Dugger Mills
Booster 1912 1957 21-13N-16W Mail to Witts Springs
Box 1895 1910 13-15N-15W Mail to Rock Springs
Browntown See Magic Springs
Burrowsville 25-16N-15W Changed from Lebanon, 1857; Changed to Marshall, 1867
Calf Creek 1857 5-17N-14W Changed to Blanco, 1888
Campbell 1891 1953 9-14N-14W Mail to Landis
Canaan 1939 1955 8-14N-16W See Omaga; Mail to Marshall
Clark See Thola
Cozahome 1987 8-16N-14W Changed from Harriet, 1919
Craig See Magic Springs
DeSoto 1880 1888 12-15N-17W Mail to Saint Joe
Dixie See Imo
Dongola 19901 1967 26-15N-17W
Dortha 1910 1911 31-14N-16W Was to be Whitt; Mail to Watts
Duff 1890 1905 16-16N-16W Mail to Gilbert
Duggersmill/Dugger 1878 1903 21-17N-18W Was to be Bluff Springs; To Boone County, 1881; From Stone County, 1900; Mail to Everton
Easter 1884 1886 36-14N-16W Was to be Red Rock; Mail to Marshall
Elberta 1905 1952 19-14N-14W Local name, "Old Lynnhurst School House"; Mail to Leslie
England See Debie
Eula 1906 1955 33-15N-18W Mail to Marshall
Evening Star 1916 1918 10-16N-15W Mail to Harriet
Fawn 1894 21-17N-18W Changed from Glencoe, 1891; Mail to Duggersmill
Gilbert 1903 31-16N-16W
Glenco/Glencoe 1888 28-17N-18W Changed to Fawn, 1891
Harriet 1909 19-16N-14W Was to be Neptha; Changed to Cozahome, 1919
Harriet 1923 36-16N-15W
Hensley Switch See Zack
Horaceville 1881 1881
Hurricane Mine 1916 1918 7-16N-18W Mail to Pindall
Imo 1955 24-13N-17W Changed from Atlas, 1930; Was to be Dixie; Mail to Marshall
Ivanhoe 1887 1896 9-15N-14W Mail to Box
Jack Pot Mine 1909 1910 17-16N-15W Mail to Maumee
Kay 1918 1938 11-13N-16W Mail to Watts
Kilburn Changed from Switch, 1904; Changed to Pindall, 1908
King See Monks
Landis 1897 1975 15-15N-14W
Lebanon 1858 1859
Lebanon 1840 Changed to Burrowsville, 1857
Leigo 1918 1931 19-14N-18W Mail to Eula
Leslie 27-14N-15W Changed from Wiley's Cove, 1887
Locust Grove 1846 1867 12-14N-13W
Loretta 1911 1911 36-15N-15W Mail to Leslie
Low Gap See Baker
Luna See Watts
Magic Springs 1926 1954 35-14N-18W Was to be Craig; Local name, Browntown
Marsena 1930 1973 9-14N-17W Was to be Midway
Marshall 25-15N-16W Changed from Burrowsville, 1867
Marshall Prairie 1854 1886 From Newton County, 1857; Back to Newton County, 1867
Maryaltha 1920 1920
Maumee 1899 1955 11-16N-16W Mail to Saint Joe
Midway See Marsena
Monks 1901 1908 10-14N-15W Was to be King; Mail to Leslie
Murillo 1886 1931 From Van Buren County 1908; Back to Van Buren County, 1921
Neptha See Harriet
Old Lynnhurst School House See Elberta
Omaga 1924 1935 8-14N-16W Named for Omaga Horton, Postmaster; Was to be Canaan; Mail to Marshall
Owl See Switch
Oxley 1907 1968 23-14N-14W Mail to Leslie
Pickune(?) Springs See Watts
Pindall 3-16N-18W Changed from Kilburn, 1908
Pleasant Exchange 1856 1857
Point Peter 1848 1943 21-15N-18W Mail to Saint Joe
Providence 1854 1886 16-15N-14W Mail to Marshall
Push 1903 1914 12-16N-17W Mail to Tomahawk
Red Rock See Easter
Richard 1913 1914 3-15N-18W Was to be Woolum; Mail to Point Peter
Rock Fish 1858 1866 ?-14N-17W
Rock Spring 1909 1960 3-15N-15W Mail to Marshall
Rumley 1907 1966 1-13N-14W Named for Henry N. Rumley, Postmaster; From Van Buren County, 1910
Saint Joe 1877 17-16N-17W
Scat See Switch
Snowball 1888 1966 32-15N-17W Mail to Marshall
Sutterfield 1886 1887 Named for Nathaniel W. Sutterfield, Postmaster
Switch 1904 3-16N-18W Was to be Scat or Out; Changed to Kilburn, 1904
Thola 1920 1958 35-15N-14W "Old name" Clark; Mail to Marshall
Tomahawk 1851 1940 17-16N-16W Mail to Saint Joe
Valley See Wilco
Water Creek 1871 1873 17-17N-16W
Watts 1890 1955 36-14N-16W Was to be Luna; Local name, Pickune(?) Springs; Mail Marshall
Whitt See Dortha
Wilco 1930 28-14N-16W Changed from Oneal, 1904; Was to be Valley; Mail to Omaga
Wiley's Cove 1842 27-14N-15W Changed to Leslie, 1887
Witts Springs 1857 14-13N-18W
Woodrow See Zonaria
Woolum 1908 1953 33-13N-16W From Van Buren County, 1917; Back to Van Buren County, 1919; See Richard
Yellville 1831 To Marion County, 1838
Zack 1907 1955 10-15N-16W Was to be Zif; Local name, Hensley Switch; Mail to Marshall
Zeb 1905 1912 1-15N-12W Mail to Gilbert
Zif See Zack
Zonaria 1915 1916 33-14N-14W Was to be Woodrow; Mail to Oxley