Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Aberdeen 1880 1881 21-1S-3W
Alberta See Erwin
Austin Changed from Oakland Grove, 1861; To Lonoke County, 1873
Barrettsville 1905 29-3N-6W Changed from Lide, 1887; Mail to Hazen
Barsfield 1907 1958 36-3N-4W Mail to Briscoe
Bayou Two Prairies 1849 1849 19-3N-9W
Belcher 1875 26-1S-6W Named for Thomas M. Belcher, Postmaster; From Lonoke County, 1875; To Fairmont
Belcher Changed from Des Moines, 1882; Changed to Fairmount, 1883
Beulah 1890 1925 3-3N-4W Was to be Stove; Mail to Biscoe
Biscoe 2-2N-4W Changed from Surrounded Hill 1902; Local name, Fredonia
Bradix 1890 1893 32-3N-5W Named for Mary Bradix, Postmistress; Mail to Hazen
Brownsville See Lookout
Brownsville 1868 8-2N-8W Changed from Grand Prairie, 1851
Carlisle 1873 To Lonoke County, 1873
Celestine 1896 1896 1-3N-6W Was to be Ethel or Oliver; Mail to Des Arc
Centre 1858 1860
Cherryville 1866 Changed from Red Oak, 1858; Named for George W. Cherry, Postmaster
Clear Lake 1858 1866
Danly 1848 1848 33-4N-9W
David 1890 1891
Des Arc 1848 11-4N-5W From Pulaski County, 1848
Des Moines 1880 36-1S-6W Changed to Belcher, 1882
Devalls Bluff/Devalls 1851 17-2N-4W
Erwin 1895 1910 17-4N-4W Was to be Stella or Alberta; Mail to Beulah
Ethel See Celestine
Fairmont 1900 25-1S-6W Changed from Belcher, 1883; Mail to Stuttgart
Fredonia 1881 Changed to Surrounded Hill, 1881; See Biscoe
Gordon 1908 1908
Gospoda 1918 1928 14-3N-5W Mail to Des Arc
Grand Prairie 1845 5-2N-8W From Pulaski County, 1846; Changed to Brownsville, 1851
Gumwood 1858 1866
Hamilton 1857 1866 22-1N-7W
Hazen 1873 19-2N-5W
Hick's Station 1867 21-2N-8W Named for William F. Hicks, Postmaster; Was to be Hicksville; Changed to Lonoke, 1872; To Lonoke County, 1873
Hickory Plain/Hickory Plains 1849 10-4N-7W
Hicksville See Hick's Station
LaGrue 1857 1866 26-1S-6W
Lake Bluff 1852 1866
Larissa 1857 1866 28-4N-8W Was to be Louisa
Letha See Stalmont
Lide 1886 29-3N-6W Changed to Barrettsville, 1887
Lone Grove See Twilight
Lonoke Changed from Hick's Station, 1872; To Lonoke County, 1873
Lookout 1913 1923 36-1S-4W Was to be Brownsville; Mail to Roe
Louisa See Larissa
Mooreville 1894 1908 13-4N-7W Named for Edwin Moore, Postmaster; Mail to Hickory Plains
Morelen 1868 Changed from Walnut Plains, 1866; Named for L.H. Moreland, Postmaster
Nash 1907 1907 14-3N-5W Mail to Des Arc
Oakland Grove 1842 From Pulaski County, 1846; Changed to Austin, 1861
Oliver See Celetine
Owlet 1889 1896 4-5N-5W Mail to Des Arc
Paradise 1879 1879
Payer See Ulm
Pleasant Prairie 1875 1875
Pluck 1889 1890 Mail to Hickory Plains
Prairie Centre 1866 1878 24-2N-7W Mail to Carlisle
Red Oak 1853 9-3N-9W Changed to Cherryville, 1858
Redbank See Walter Chapel
Roe 1880 To Monroe County, 1883
Samterville 1882 1883 35-2N-5W Mail to Devall's Bluff
Stalmont 1899 1900 30-1N-6W Was to be Letha; Mail to Carlisle
Stanton 1870 1870
Stella See Erwin
Stineville 1898 1909 17-5N-5W Mail to Belcher
Stove See Beulah
Surrounded Hill 3-2N-4W Changed from Fredonia, 1875; Changed to Fredonia, 1881; Changed back in, 1881; Changed to Biscoe, 1903
Taylor's Bend 1857 1858
Tellala 1894 1907 35-4N-7W Mail to Hickory Plains
Ten Mile Point 1849 1851
Thomasville 1879 1881 5-4N-6W
Tollville 1898 1905 10-1N-5W Named for Burgess Toll, Postmaster; Mail to Hazen
Twilight 1880 1881 25-1S-4W Was to be Lone Grove
Tyler 1875 1881 33-1N-6W
Ulm 1888 1-2N-5W Was to be Payer
Uzzell 1899 1905 18-3N-6W Named for Onestus K. Uzzell, Postmaster; Mail to Carlisle
Vaby 1897 1905 13-1N-5W Mail to Hazen
Walnut Plains 1859 Changed to Morelen, 1866
Walter Chapel 1877 1890 27-3N-6W From Lonoke County, 1884; Was to be Redbank; Mail to Barrettsville
Watensaw 1850 1867 From Monroe County, 1855
Wattensaw 1874 1876 9-3N-5W
Wylie 1882 1884 2-1S-6W Named for Sarah I. Wylie, Postmistress; Mail to Fairmount