Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alto 1896 1928 23-11N-7E Was to be Dixon or Wilkes
Baldwin See Dague
Bay Village 1877 1911 4-9N-4E From Cross County, 1898; Back to Cross County, 1911
Beasley 1915 1927 27-10N-7E Was to be Louise; Mail to Tyronza
Beatty Perkins
Bern 1892 1894 24-11N-1E Mail to Weiner
Boatrun 1920 1922 36-10N-5E Was to be Rowan; Mail to Marked Tree
Bolivar 1839 7-11N-4E Changed to Harrisburg, 1857
Bucks See Lepanto
Buffalo Creek See Buffalo Lick
Buffalo Lick/Buffalolick 1878 1906 17-12N-4E Local name, Buffalo Creek; Mail to Harrisburg
Caseyville 1858 1860 1862 Named for Abner M. Casey
Coldwater 1854 1873 9-9N-4E To Cross County, 1865
County Line 1833 Changed to Farm Hill in Green County, 1842
Dague 1902 1913 7-10N-7E Was to be Baldwin; Mail to Tyronza
Dent 1901 1901
Deweys Mill 1921 1921
Dixon See Alto
Edwards 35-11N-3E For Jonathan Edwards, Postmaster; Changed from Kovics, 1883; Changed to Marked Tree, 1888
Elde See Poinsett
Farm Hill 1858 Changed from County Line in Greene County, 1842
Fisher/Fisherville 1883 15-10N-1E
Freeman's Depot See Greenfield
Frys Mill 1915 1929 27-11N-7E Mail to Tulot
Goldboro/Goldborough 1852 1861 5-13N-4E
Greenfield 1834 1931 33-13N-4E Was to be Freeman's Depot; Mail to Harrisburg
Harrisburg 24-11N-3E Changed from Bolivar, 1857
Hatchie Coon 1916 1918 32-12N-6E Mail to Tulot
Hydrick 1905 1933 35-10N-3E Mail to Cherry Valley
Idaville 1893 1894 9-11N-4E Mail to Harrisburg
Johnston 1850 1859
Judd Hill 1919 1926 1-11N-5E Mail to Trumann
Kovics 1882 Changed to Edwards, 1883
Leaton 1860 Changed to Cleberne, and to Cross County, 1883
Lepanto 1892 33-12N-7E Was to be Bucks
Lock Bee 1854 8-14N-4E Changed to Jonesboro; Iin Craighead County, 1858
Louise See Beasley
Marked Tree 35-11N-6E Changed from Edwards, 1888
Morning Sun 1867 1869 8-12N-4E
Mosher 1896 13-12N-5E Changed to Weona, 1902
Mulligan 1913 1919 6-12N-4E Mail to Harrisburg
Old River 1912 1918 7-12N-7E Mail to Monette
Perkins 1888 17-10N-7E Was to be Beatty; Changed to Tyronza, 1892
Pitts 1899 1938 18-12N-1E Mail to Cash
Poinsett 1902 1903 7-12N-4E Was to be Elde; Mail to Greenfield; See Tulot
Riverdale 1938 9-12N-7E
Rowan See Boatrun
Santa Fe 1851 1866 To Craighead County, 1859
Smith's Changed to Walnut Camp, 1847
Trumann 13-12N-5E Changed from Weona, 1904
Tulot 1918 1974 5-11N-6E Was to be Poinsett
Tyronza 17-10N-7E Changed from Perkins, 1892
Waldenburg 1896 25-11N-1E
Walnut Camp 1835 1856 Changed from Smith's, 1847; From St. Frances County, 1847
Weiner 5-11N-2E Changed from West Prairie, 1884
Weona Changed from Mosher, 1902; Changed to Truman, 1904
West Prairie 1874 6-11N-2E Changed to Weiner, 1884
White Hall/Whitehall 1872 1966 25-10N-3E Mail to Harrisburg
Wilkes See Alto
Winningham 1880 1886 32-10N-6E Named for Isaac Winninghanm, Postmaster; Mail to Edwards
Youngville 1885 1887 25-11N-1E Named for Robert C. Young, Postmaster; Mail to Weiner