Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Abner 1911 1925 31-6S-26W Mail to Rabell
Antoine 1838 23-8S-23W From Clark County, 1854; To Clark County, 1866; From Clark County, 1877
Aro See Shawnut
Arp 1890 1913 13-7S-25W Mail to Pike
Arthur See Star of the West
Bakerville See Rock Creek
Bandana 1888 1889
Bankston 1908 1909 35-5S-24W Mail to Kirby
Bear Creek See Georgia
Bellville See Rabell
Ben 1898 1898
Bend See Roy
Bills 1888 1917 9-9S-24W Mail to Murfreesboro
Boto 1908 1909 Mail to Murfreesboro
Bowfin 1889 1916 18-9S-23W Mail to Delight
Brocktown 1851 1911 7-8S-24W Mail to Murfreesboro
Caney Fork 1879 1895 27-6S-24W Mail to Elk; Was to have been Canyay Fork
Canyay Fork See Caney Fork
Chaney 1882 1883 3-7S-25W Mail to Murfreesboro; Named for Mathew D. Chaney, first Postmaster
Coldbath See Rock Creek
Collier Hill 1879 1881 21-7S-25W
Cooper 1910 1917 31-5S-26W Mail to Daisy
Couch See Crawford
County Line 1852 1859
Cox 1910 1911 7-7S-26W Mail to Norvell
Crawford 1896 1910 15-7S-26W Mail to Arp; Was to have been Couch
Daisy 1894 1965 14-6S-26W Mail to Glenwood; Name changed from Gentry, 1894
Dora 1870 1873 21-7S-27W
Doss 1890 1890 24-8S-24W Mail to Wolf Creek
Elk 1893 1907 1-7S-24W Mail to Pike
Eurah 1901 1902 36-8S-25W
Gentry 1888 Name changed to Daisy, 1894
Georgia 1878 1881 16-5S-25W Was to have been Bear Creek
Glenwood 1907 10-5S-24W Also known as Holly Station and Hollywood
Grandfield 1908 1918 19-6S-27W Mail to New Hope
Highland 1910 1955 28-8S-25W Mail to Nashville
Holly Station See Glenwood
Hollywood See Glenwood, 1877; Mail to Arkadelphia
Homidy 1881 1882
Huddleston 1851 1875 4-9S-23W
Huey 1888 1889 31-5S-25W Mail to Gentry; Was to have been Love
Jenkins 1898 1898
Kirby 1879 12-6S-25W
Langley 1883 12-5S-27W Name changed from Lindon
Lindon 1879 1882 12-5S-27W Mail to New Hope; Name changed to Langley, 1883
Lissie 1891 1918 35-6S-25W Mail to Rabell
Lodi 1888 1925 15-5S-26W Mail to Glenwood
Lonestar 1902 1911 7-6S-26W Mail to New Hope; Name changed from Star of the West
Love See Huey
Murfreesbrough/Murfreesboro 1851 17-8S-25W Name changed from Zebulon, 1851
Nathan 1885 1932 31-7S-26W Mail to Nashville
New Hope/Newhope 1878 16-6S-27W
Norville 1909 1915 10-8S-26W Mail to Highland
Pates Springs 1872 1874 7-6S-27W
Pike 1896 1955 28-7S-24W Mail to Delight, also known as Pike City
Pike City See Pike
Pineland 1883 1890 35-5S-24W Mail to Amity
Plainview 1897 1897
Rabell 1916 1923 12-7S-25W Mail to Murfreesboro; Was to have been Bellville
Red Land 1860 1883 8-62-24W Mail to Kirby
Reine 1898 1907 34-8S-26W Mail to Bingen
Rock Creek 1868 1908 11-5S-24W Mail to Glenwood; Was to have been Colbath from Clark County, 1873
Rosboro 1907 1955 30-5S-23W Mail to Glenwood
Roy 1890 1914 32-8S-25W Mail to Bingen; Was to have been Bend
Royston 1857 1884 31-7S-25W Mail to Murfreesboro
Shawnut 1892 1949 10-7S-23W Mail to Graysonia; Was to have been Aro
Stanley 1914 1923 15-7S-25W Mail to Rabell
Star of the West 1860 1904 13-6S-27W Name changed to Lonestar; Was to have been Arthur, 1882
Stellvill See Wolf Creek
Sutton 1887 1890 15-5S-25W Mail to Lodi
Tokie 1898 To Hempstead County, 1909
Wilson 1888 3-5S-25W Name changed to Zebulun, 1902
Wilton 1849 To Howard County, 1885
Wolf Creek 1868 1907 15-8S-24W Local name, Stellvill; Mail to Delight
Zebulon 1834 Name changed to Murfreesborough, 1851
Zebulun 1923 13-5S-25W Name changed from Wilson; Mail to Glenwood