Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Ashleys Point 1871 1874
Askew 1856 To Lee County, 1873
Avenue 1894 1912 5-6S-2E Mail to Mellwood
Axsom 1902 1908 5-1S-2E Named for James H.B. Axsom, Postmaster; Mail to Marvel
Barney's 1850 Named for Zimei Barney, Postmaster; Changed to Gillen's Landing, 1859
Barton 1873 3-2S-3E
Beech Grove 1849 1866 36-2N-4E
Beech Tree See Fagi
Big Creek 1830 Changed to Trenton, 1858
Big Creek Changed from Planter's 1859: Back to Planter's, 1860
Blackburn See Doran
Bristol 1873 1873 6-2S-3E
Cheek 1890 1895 17-6S-2E Mail to Avenue
Coffe Creek 1878 7-3N-2E Changed to Gobell, 1897
Coffee 1898 1904 7-3S-2E Was to be Spain's after Christopher C. Spain, Postmaster; Mail to Cypert
Cottondale See Fair
Council Bend 3-3N-6E From Crittenden County, 1847; To Crittenden County, 1849
Countiss 1907 1925 3-5S-2E Named for John M. Countiss, Postmaster; Mail to Elaine
Crumrod 23-6S-1E Changed from Ferguson, 1941
Cypress 1875 1927 33-2S-1E Mail to Marvel
Doran 1904 1907 Was to be Blackburn or Monroe
Doughertys/Dougherty's Landing 1881 1881 24-6S-1E Named for G. W. Dougherty, Postmaster
Dunn 1880 To Monroe County, 1883
Edwardsburg 1867 Changed from Tullyville, Monroe County, 1854
Elaine 1907 25-4S-2E
Fagi 1881 1882 4-3S-4E Was to be Beech Tree
Fair 1903 1913 7-5S-3E Was to be Cottondale; Mail to Modoc
Ferguson 1899 13-65-1E Named for Isaac C. Ferguson, Postmaster; Changed to Crumrod,1941
Gillen's Landing 1875 29-5S-2E Changed from Barney's, 1859
Gobell 1901 1905 32-2S-2E Mail to Marvell
Goble/Gobel 1899 5-3S-2E Named for Green W. Goble; From Coffee Creek, 1897; Mail to Coffee
Hastedville 1873 1874 4-5S-3E Was to be Halsteds Landing; Named for Daniel V. Halsted, Postmaster
Helena 1831 9-2S-5E
Hickory Hill 1876 1879 6-1S-1E
Hickory Ridge 1871 1875 6-1S-1E From Monroe County 1873; was to be Tilula
Hicksville 1883 22-1S-1E Named for Thomas C. Hicks, Postmaster; Changed to Postelle, 1894
Hoop Spur 1910 1912 18-4S-3E Mail to Elaine
Hydepark 1885 1908 31-1S-4E
Jeffersonville 1857 1866 3-1N-4E
Keysville/Keys Ville 1877 1887 22-3S-3E Named for Marshall K. Key, Postmaster; Mail to Red Store
La Grange 1852 29-1N-4E To Lee County, 1873
Lakeview 1925 30-3S-3E Changed from Red Store, 1906; Mail to Helena
Lambrook 1918 1929 23-4S-1E Mail to Elaine
Laposa 1898 1899 24-6S-1E Was to be Wilkinson or Westover
Latour 1881 1920 25-1S-3E Was to be Loula; Mail to Lexa
Lexa 14-1S-3E Changed from Lexington, 1885
Lexington 1880 14-1S-3E Changed to Lexa, 1885
Lick Creek 1836 1848
Lick Creek 1907 1907
Loula See Latour
Lundell 1914 12-6S-1E
Marianna ?-2N-3E Changed from Walnut Ridge 1852; To Lee County, 1873
Martin's/Martins 1833 1843 4-1S-4E
Marvell 1873 5-2S-2E
Mayflower Landing 1875 11-6S-2E Changed to St. Louis Landing, 1877
Mellwood 1906 25-5S-1E
Modoc 1875 1927 33-4S-3E Mail to Elaine
Monroe See Doran
Mooney 1850 1851
Mouth of Cache 1828 name crossed out
Mouth Saint Francis River 1875 5-1S-5E Changed to Smiley, 1911
Newell 1893 1906 15-1S-2E Mail to Marvell
Northcreek/North Creek 1848 1917 29-1S-3E Mail to Lexa
Oakdale 1847 1849
Old Town/Oldtown Landing 1877 1878 1-4S-3E
Old Town/Oldtown Landing 1838 1-4S-3E Changed to Prewitts Landing, 1876
Oldtown/Old Town 1902 1918 36-3S-3E Mail to Helena
Olivers Landing 1870 1872 13-6S-2E Named for Benjamin L. Oliver, Postmaster
Oneida/Onieda 1907 3-3S-3E
Phillips Bayou 1868 1874
Pillows/Pillow 1878 1894 6-2S-4E Named for Edward D. Pillow, Postmaster; Mail to Barton
Planter's 1859 Changed to William's Shop, 1860
Planters 1849 1875 20-1S-4E Changed to Big Creek, 1859; Back to Planters, 1860
Polk Store 1870 1872 4-5S-3E
Poplar Grove 1870 1-2S-2E
Postelle 1973 32-1S-1E Changed from Hicksville, 1894
Prewitts Landing 1876 Changed from Old Town, 1876
Ratio 1916 1960 17-5S-2E Mail to Elaine
Red Store 1878 30-3S-3E Was to be Toney; Changed to Lakeview, 1906
Salvador 1882 1907 29-2S-4E Was to be Worthington; Mail to Helena
Scrugg's Ferry 1860 1866 Named for Hartwell Scruggs, Postmaster
Smiley 1911 Changed from St. Francis, 1911; 'Never in operation'
Southland 1889 1925 16-1S-4E Mail to Lexa
Spain's See Coffee
Spring Creek 1871 To Lee County, 1873
St. Louis Landing 1875 Changed to Wildwood, 1875
St. Louis Landing 1886 12-6S-2E Changed from Mayflower Landing, 1877; Mail to Sunflower Landing
Sterling 1848 1866
Titula See Hickory Ridge
Toney See Wabash
Toney 30-3S-3E See Red Store; Was to be named for Charles E. Tonne, Postmaster
Trenton 1930 23-2S-2E Changed from Big Creek, 1858; Mail to Poplar Grove
Tullyville 1848 1-1N-1W Named for Lewis B. Tully, Postmaster; To Monroe County, 1848; Changed to Edwardsburg; Back to Phillips County, 1854
Turner 1875 33-2S-1E
Tyner 1879 1911 17-1S-3E Was to beWood Lawn; Mail to Poplar Grove
Vineyard 1875 12-1S-2E To Lee County, 1879
Wabash 1908 31-3S-3E Was to be Toney
Walnut Bend 1838 1-1N-5E To Lee County, 1873
Walnut Ridge 1848 Changed to Marianna, 1852
West Helena 1963 1-2S-4E
Westover 1878 1905 20-3S-5E Mail to Helena; See Laposa
Wildwood 1875 Changed from St. Louis Landing, 1875
Wilkins See Laposa
William's Shop 1860 Changed from Planter's, 1860; Named for Thomas Willaims, Postmaster
Woodlawn See Tyner
Worthington See Salvador