Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Amelia 1887 1893 17-13N-11E Mail to Elmot
Archillion 1900 1917 1-14N-11E Mail to Blytheville
Armorel 1899 1967 15-15N-12E
Athelstan 1888 1928 28-13N-8E Was to be Jackson; Mail to Osceola
Bardstown 1888 1919 32-11N-9E Was to be Glenview; Mail to Joiner
Barfield 1856 1925 30-15N-13E
Barifield Point 1836 Changed to Hickman's Bend, 1846
Barnet's Bayou 1837 9-10N-10E
Bassett 1904 33-11N-9E
Biglake 1904 1924 9-14N-9E Local name, Petteyville; See Manila; Mail to Manila
Birdsong 1931 29-10N-8E Changed from Bubble 1917; Local name, Hubbard; Mail Tyronza
Blythesville 1879 15-15N-11E Changed to Chickasawba, 1890
Blytheville 1890 15-15N-11E
Boynton 1900 1923 29-16N-8E Mail to Leachville
Brandon 1898 1898 28-16N-8E Mail to Cinda
Brolaski 1895 3-15N-13E Changed from Hickman, 1884
Browns See Deese
Bubble 1907 29-10N-8E Was to be Cuble; Local name, Hubbard; Changed to Birdsong
Buckeye 1903 1911 6-15N-9E Mail to Manila
Bunch See Yarbro
Burdette 1903 20-14N-11E
Butler 1894 1924 6-10N-11E Named for Joe L. Burler, Postmaster; Mail to Wilson
Canadian 1850 1852 13-14N-12E
Capps See Frenchman's Bayou
Carson's Lake/Carson 1890 1938 32-12N-10E Was to be Goble; Mail to Osceola
Chelford 1895 1910 See Whitton
Chickasawba 1915 17-15N-11E Changed from Blythesville, 1890; Local name, Cook Town
Cinda 1888 31-15N-9E Was to be Hector or Fermer; Changed to Manila, 1901
Clear Lake 1879 1902 1-15N-11E Mail to Archillion
Cook Town See Chickasawba
Cornwall 1839 1839
Cotton Wood Point 1858 1858
Cuble See Bubble
Davis Landing 1838 1839 Named for John G. Davis, Postmaster
Dick 1901 1923 12-10N-9E Mail to Leachville
Driver 1902 1902
Dyess 1935 10-11N-81
Ekron 1901 1913 27-15N-10E Mail to Dell
Elmot 1878 15-13N-11E Changed to Luxora, 1893
Etowah 1902 28-13N-8E Was to be Rosa or Roosevelt
Evadale 1933 26-11N-9E Changed from Liveoak, 1900; Mail to Bassett
Falls See Rozelle
Featherston 1890 12-13N-11E Was to be Lockey; Changed to Rosa, 1893
Fermer See Cinda
Fishers See Voss
Fonville 11-10N-9E Changed from Shawnee Village, 1888; Changed back, 1889
Forty Eight Gin See Hickman
Frenchman's Bayou 1875 33-11N-9E Was to be Spich or Capps; See Louise
Glenview See Bardtown
Goble See Carson
Golden Lake 1875 1916 32-11N-10E Local name, Idoln(?) Landing; Mail to Wilson
Gosnell 1903 1937 36-16N-10E Named for Mervyn A. Gosnell, Postmaster; Mail to Blytheville
Grider 1898 1937 23-12N-10E Mail to Osceola
Harding's Point 1851 1851 Named for Thomas M. Harding, Postmaster
Hector See Cinda
Hickman 1880 4-15N-13E Local names, Rion Styx and Forty Eight Gin; Changed to Brolaski, 1884
Hickman 1896 1941 17-15N-13E Mail to Blytheville
Hickman's Bend 1867 For Elliott Hickman, Postmaster; Changed from Barifield Point, 1846
Hubbard See Birdsong and Bubble
Huffman 1892 1954 29-16N-13E Named for Elbert M. Huffman, Postmaster; Mail to Blytheville
Idoln(?) Landing See Golden Lake
Jackson See Athelston
Joiner 1904 8-10N-9E
Kieser 1915 11-12N-9E
Leachville 1899 8-15N-8E
Liveoak 1894 33-11N-9E Changed to Evadale, 1900
Lockey See Featherston
Louise 1881 1886 8-10N-9E Local name, McBrides Store or Frenchman's Bayou
Luxora 13-17N-11E Changed from Elmot, 1893
Manila 31-15N-9E Changed from Cinda, 1901; Local name, Big Lake
Marie 1903 1935 36-12N-9E Mail to Wilson
Mark Twain 1880 1881 12-15N-13E Was to be Wright's
McBrides See Louise
McFerren 1906 1927 5-13N-10E Local name, Ross; Mail to Osceola
McGavock 1877 c1907 23-10N-9E Named for Felix G. McGavock, Postmaster; Mail to Joiner
Mill Bayou 1841 1881 5-13N-12E
Muir(?) See Wardell
Nodena 1877 1924 19-11N-10E Mail to Wilson
Osceola 31-13N-11E Changed from Plant Point, 1840
Pecan Point 1943 31-13N-11E Changed from Barney's Point, 1839; Local name, Uzzell Landing
Petteys 1880 1884 16-12N-11E Named for Isam E. Petty, Postmaster; Mail to Osceola
Petteyville See Big Lake
Pirtle 1897 1897
Plant Point 1838 Changed to Osceola, 1840
Rafe 1901 1914 21-16N-12E Local name, Walmsley; Mail to Yarbro
Red Bird 1881 1882 27-11N-9E Mail to Osceola
Rion Styx See Hickman
Roosevelt See Etowah
Rosa 1922 12-13N-11E Changed from Featherston, 1883; See Etowah; Mail to Fulton, Tennessee
Roseland 1914 1981 11-14N-9E
Ross See McFerren
Rozelle 1888 1905 34-12N-11E Was to be Fallas; Mail to Fulton, Tennessee
Saint Thomas 1877 1918 5-9N-9E Mail to Frenchman's Bayou
San Souci 1884 1911 17-12N-11E Mail to Osceola
Shawnee Village/Shawnee 1842 1909 10-10N-9E Changed to Fonville, 1888; Back, 1889; Mail to Joiner
Spick See Frenchman's Bayou
Swain's Landing 1838 1839 Named for Persons H. Swain, Postmaster
Tomato 1898 6-14N-13E
Tomlinson 1899 35-12N-10E Changed to Driver, 1904
Uzell Landing See Pecan Point
Victoria 1933 1973 18-13N-10E
Voss 1907 1908 22-14N-12E Was to be Fishers; Mail to Rosa
Walmsley 1910 1911 21-16N-12E Mail to Carter; See Rafe
Walton See Whisp
Wardell 1900 1926 36-11N-8E Local name, Muir(?); Mail to Joiner
West Ridge 1923 8-12N-8E Changed to Worthy, 1925; Changed back, 1926
Westville 1906 34-10N-10E Named for W.W. West, Postmaster; Changed to Dean's Island, 1906
Whisp 1920 1936 31-15N-8E Was to be Walton; Mail to Leachville
Whitton 1904 1928 5-10N-8E Local name, Chelford; Mail to Tyronza
Wilmsby 1907 1908
Wilson 1903 17-11N-10E Named for Robert E.L. Wilson, Postmaster
Worthy 8-12N-8E Changed from West Ridge, 1925; Back to West Ridge, 1926
Wright's Point 1877 1880 12-15N-13E See Mark Twain
Yarbro 1900 1926 27-16N-11E Named for James Yarbro, Postmaster; Was to be Bunch; Mail Blytheville