Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Artex 1918 1923 6-16S-26W Mail to Genoa
Bain 1896 17-20S-27W Changed to Ida, Louisiana, 1897
Bigby 1900 1912 4-19S-27W Named for Colquitt H. Bigby, Postmaster; Was to be Black Diamond
Black Diamond See Bigby
Boggy 1890 1904 34-17S-27W Mail to Fouke
Boyd 1904 29-16S-27W Changed from Frost, 1893; Mail to Fouke
Bright Star 1860 1908 10-19S-28W From Lafayette County, 1874; Mail to Bloomburg, Texas
Brookerbridge 1925 1926 23-17S-26W Mail to Garland
Cameron 1883 2-16S-27W Changed to Genoa, 1877
Cappstown/Cappscity 1938 1941 11-20S-28W Mail to Bloomburg, Texas
Clear Mount 1874 1876 25-16S-28W From Lafayette County, 1874
College Heights 1894 29-15S-28W Changed to Edson, 1895
Collins Bluff 1883 1892 14-19S-27W
Crank 1896 1910 20-16S-26W Mail to Motz
Doddrige 1895 16-19S-27W
Dooley 1900 27-?-25W Changed from Fay in Hempstead County, 1899; Changed back, 1900
Edson 1895 1899 33-1555-28W Mail to Texarkana
Era 1889 1908 11-20S-28W Was to be Midway; Mail to Ida, Louisiana
Fairland 1882 31-17S-26W Changed to Fouke, 1890
Fort Lynn 1892 1902 22-185-27W Mail to Bigby
Fouke 22-17S-27W Changed from Fairland, 1890
Frost 1889 31-16S-27W Named for James B. Frost, Postmaster; Changed to Boyd, 1893
Garland 1883 1983 17-16S-25W
Genoa 8-16S-27W Changed from Cameron, 1887
Homan 1875 1935 15-14S-27W Mail to Texarkana
Hughes 1885 1886 Mail to Texarkana
Jordan 1904 1905 4-16S-25 Mail to Garland
Kiblah 1897 1942 34-19S-27W Mail to Ida, Louisiana
Lost Prairie 1915 1918 2-15S-26W Mail to Garland
Mandsville 1966 2-15S-28W Changed from Otokanah, 1892
McKinney See Pinestar and Vixie
Midway See Era
Milton 1892 1-16S-28W Changed to Wona, 1894; See Wona
Monterey 1899 27-16S-25W From Lafayette County 1898; Mail to Garland
Motz 1887 1914 6-16S-26W Was to be Tapp; Mail to Pinestar
Mount Elba 1910 1916 21-16S-26W Mail to Genoa
Nashes/Nashe's Landing 1880 1881 26-14S-26W
Orr 1901 1901 4-16S-26W Mail to Garland
Otokanah 1892 2-15S-28W Changed to Mandsville, 1892
Pinestar 1917 5-16S-27W Changed from Vixie, 1911; Local name, McKinney; Mail to Genoa
Ravana 1896 1954 31-19S-28W Mail to Bloomburg, Texas
Roberts 1890 1912 15-17S-27W Mail to Fouke
Rondo 1852 1875 14-15S-28W From Lafayette County, 1874
Spring Bank 1892 1907 23-19S-27W Mail to Doddridge
Sulpher Fork 1874 1876 28-17S-27W From Lafayette County, 1874
Tapp See Motz
Texarkana 1874 30-15S-28W From Lafayette County, 1874
Vixie 1911 4-16S-26W Changed to Pinestar, 1911; Local name, McKinney
Wona 1895 1-16S-28W Changed from Milton, 1894; Local name, Milton; Mail to Genoa