Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alabam 1882 1954 7-17N-25W Mail to Huntsville
Amethyst 1903 1903
Antoine See Little Spring
Arno See Loy
Asher 1894 1954 28-15N-27W Was to be Slover; Mail to Elkins
Athens See St. Paul
Aurora 1873 2-15N-26W
Ball Creek 1924 1924 7-14N-26W Named for Ball Creek; Mail to Combs
Balltown/Ball Town 1909 1910 8-14N-26W Named for Henry H. Ball; Mail to St. Paul
Beulah 1880 1886 14-13N-26W Was to be Gunter; Mail to St. Paul
Birnie See Redstar
Blaire 1882 1883 21-14N-26W Mail to St. Paul
Borland 1850 18-17N-24W
Boston 1880 c1978 31-14N-24W
Butler's Creek 1846 1846
Campsie 1898 1899 19-13N-26W Mail to St. Paul
Cannon Creek 1938 1955 10-14N-28W Named for Cannon Creek; Mail to Crosses
Canuck 1897 33-19N-27W Was to be Cook for Samuel Cook, Postmaster; Changed to Rock, 1914
Chaplin 1892 1929 21-18N-25W Named for Roswell A. Chaplin, Postmaster; Local name, Hawkins Store
Clifty 1858 c1978 7-18N-26W
Cody 1902 18-14N-25W Changed from Keeton, 1895; Mail to Boston
Combs 1888 2-13N-27W Named for Hiram Combs, Postmaster
Cook See Canuck
Crosses 1889 1957 24-14N-28W Mail to Durham
Drakes Creek 1868 1954 29-16N-27W Named for Drakes Creek; Mail to Huntsville
Dunaway 1890 1890 21-15N-27W Mail to Drakes Creek
Dutton 1878 1981 6-13N-254
Elba See Townsley
Fancher 1887 1896 3-18N-26W Mail to Clifty
Flint 1896 1900 4-17N-26W Mail to Hindsville
Forum 1890 1974 23-18N-26W Was to be Harman for W.H.G. Harman, Postmaster
Friley's Creek 1875 1876 27-13N-25W Named for Friley's Creek
Garden 1902 1902
Grant 1877 25-15N-26W Was to be War Eagle Mills; Changed to Whitter, 1898
Grigg See Purdy
Gunter See Beulah
Harman See Forum
Harrisville See Wharton
Hart/Hartwell 1908 1942 19-17N-26W Named for James S. Hart, Postmaster; Mail to Huntsville
Hawkins Store See Chaplin
Health See Helth
Helth/Health 1947 11-13N-28W From Washington County, 1884; Mail to Winslow
Hindsville 1868 16-17N-27W
Huntsville 34-17N-26W Changed from Sevierville, 1840
India 1881 1882 22-13N-24W Mail to Boston
Jackson Creek See Venquin
Japton 1900 1962 13-15N-27W Mail to Huntsville
Jarea 1902 1908 6-16N-25W Was to be Noel; Mail to Truth
Jordon 1908 1924 7-14N-25W Named for George W. Jordan, Postmaster; Mail to Pettigrew
Judea 1890 1911 16-14N-24W Mail to Redstar
Jupiter 1840 1874 14-14N-28W
Keeton 1895 18-14N-25W Changed to Cody, 1895
Kingman 1898 1906 12-14N-25W Was to be Maine; Mail to Venus
Kingston 1856 16-16N-24W
La Rue 1867 In Benton County
Lanson 1900 From Newton County, 1906; Changed to Townsley, 1913
Little Spring 1853 18-17N-27W Was to be Antoine; To Washington County, 1876
Louisa 1887 4-13N-26W Changed to St. Paul, 1888
Loy 1905 1954 29-16N-24W Was to be Arno; Mail to Huntsville
Maguire's Store 20-16N-28W Changed from Titsworth, 1853; Named for Hosea M. Maguire; To Washington County, 1853
Maine See Kingman
Mante/Mantee 1890 1927 12-16N-27W Mail to Huntsville
Marble 1852 12-17N-24W
Mills 1888 Changed from St. Paul, 1888; Mail to Louisa
Mountain Mill 1874 1874 1-14N-25W
Mullensville 1883 1883 29-13N-27W Named for Calvin Mullen, Postmaster; Mail to St. Paul
Noel See Jarea
Orpha See Venus
Ovid 1904 1908 7-17N-26W Was to be Shales; Mail to Hindsville
Patrick 1889 1974 31-14N-27W
Peak 1900 1900 Never in operation
Pettigrew 1898 4-13N-25W
Poynorville 1876 1878 20-19N-25W Named for John W. Poyner, Postmaster
Pritchett 1903 1903
Purdy 1896 1950 32-17N-24W Was to be Grigg or Debs; Mail to Huntsville
Redstar 1902 1969 21-14N-24W Was to be Birnie
Regincy 1892 1892 5-15N-26W Mail to Aurora
Richland Creek 20-16N-28W Changed to Titsworth and from Washington County, 1847
Rock 1929 33-19N-27W Changed from Canuck, 1914; Mail to Clifty
Rockhouse 1888 1944 3-19N-25W Mail to Eureka Springs
Roxton 1908 1915 26-16N-27W Mail to Wesley
Sevierville 34-17N-26W Changed from Wareagle, 1837; Changed to Huntsville, 1840
Shales See Ovid
Slover See Asher
Spoke Plant 1915 1954 19-13N-24W Mail to Pettigrew
St. Paul/Saint Paul 4-13N-26W Was to be Athens; Changed from Louisa, 1889
St. Paul/Saint Peter 1840 7-13N-26W Changed to Mills, 1888
St. Peter/Saint Peter 1840 1841 24-15N-26W
Statesville 1889 1890
Suggs 1887 1888 5-16N-24W Mail to Kingston
Thompson 1887 1935 34-15N-28W Named for John S. Thompson, Postmaster; Mail to Durham
Thorney/Thorny 1901 1954 10-15N-28W Mail to Elkins
Titsworth 20-16N-28W Changed from Richland Creek, 1849; Changed to Maguire's Store, 1853; Named for John Titsworth, Postmaster
Townsley 1923 35-15N-24W Changed from Lanson, 1913; From Newton County, 1918; Was to be Elba
Truth 1900 1936 34-17N-25W Mail to Huntsville
Venquinn 1915 1917 20-15N-26W Local name, Jackson Creek; Mail to Japton
Venus 1897 1934 26-15N-25W Was to be Orpha; Mail to Boston
War Eagle 1846 1847 8-17N-27W
War Eagle 1850 1876 25-15N-26W
War Eagle Mills See Grant
Wareagle 1837 15-16N-26W Changed to Sevierville, 1837
Weathers 1906 1981 3-15N-24W
Wesley 1854 26-16N-28W To Washington County, 1868; Back to Madison County, 1874
Wharton 1886 1954 16-16N-25W Was to be Harrisville for Jas. B. Harris, Postmaster; Mail to Huntsville
Whitener 1885 1945 18-17N-27W Named for William J. Whitner, Postmaster; Mail to Hindsville
Whitter 25-15N-26W Changed from Grant, 1898