Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Baparo 1899 1900 17-7N-25W Was to be Harley; Mail to Paris
Barber 1878 1981 1-5N-29W From Scott County, 1903
Belva 1882 25-5N-29W From Scott County, 1903; Changed to Ione, 1906
Blaine/New Blaine 1884 11-7N-23W
Blocker 1872 1879 29-6N-28W Named for Josiah H. Blocker, Postmaster
Blue Mountain 1-5N-26W Changed from Maggie, 1901
Booneville 1837 6-5N-27W From Scott County, 1871
Boss 1896 1899 33-6N-28W Named for Charlotte K. Boss, Postmistress; Mail to Booneville
Boyce 1888 1889 33-6N-26W Was to be Miles; Mail to Magazine
Briar Creek 1877 1-5N-26W Changed to Jay, 1891
British 1881 1890 28-5N-27W Mail to Sugar Grove
Brown 1894 1913 19-8N-24W Mail to Scranton
Calico 1873 1874 9-7N-25W
Carolan 1912 22-5N-28W Changed from Long Ridge, 1890; Mail to Booneville
Caulksville 1870 1910 4-7N-27W From Franklin County 1871; Mail to Ratcliff
Centre Prairie 1871 1873 34-5N-28W
Chismville 1857 1934 6-6N-27W From Scott County, 1871; Mail to Magazine
Cloudcrest 1900 1903 20-6N-25W Mail to Magazine
Corley 1884 1956 3-9N-25W Mail to Paris
Creole 1877 ?-8N-24W Changed to Spielerville, 1888
Crow See Lucas
Driggs 1882 1936 33-7N-26W Mail to Magazine
Dublin 1881 1917 17-8N-23W Was to be Sparta; Mail to Scranton
Echo 1886 1912 18-5N-29W From Scott County, 1903; Local name, Harperville; Mail to Barber
Ellsworth 1869 1916 33-8N-24W Mail to Subiaco
Flat 1885 1887 4-6N-24W Mail to Corley
French Prairie 1873 36-5N-29W Changed to Long Ridge, 1871; To Logan County, 1877
Geren 1902 1916 15-8N-23W Named for Charles N. Geren, Postmaster; Mail to Scranton
Gin Creek See Idel
Golden City 1887 1914 31-5N-22W Mail to Booneville
Harley See Baparo
Harperville See Echo
Hobart 1879 1921 26-7N-23W From Yell County, 1883; Mail to Blaine
Idel 1883 1889 10-5N-26W Was to be Gin Creek; Local name, Petit Jeane Valley
Idell 1889 1906 11-5N-26W Mail to Blue Mountain
Jay See Maggie
Jay 1893 36-6N-26W Changed from Briar Creek, 1891; Mail to Idell
Kalamazoo 1898 1903 18-8N-25W Mail to Paris
Lone 1956 36-5N-29W Changed from Belva, 1906; Mail to Booneville
Long Ridge 28-5N-28W Changed from French Prairie, 1871; From Scott County, 1871; Changed to Carolan, 1890
Lucas 1912 32-5N-29W Was to be Crow; From Scott County, 1903; Mail to Barber
Magazine 1867 1855 32-6N-26W From Scott County, 1871
Maggie 1893 35-6N-26W Was to be Jay; Changed to Blue Mountain, 1901
Miles See Boyce
Millard 1902 1927 10-6N-24W Mail to Havana
Mixon 1893 1912 21-5N-27W Mail to Booneville
Money 1890 1898 19-6N-28W Mail to Boss
Morrison Bluff 1872 1916 3-8N-24W Mail to Scranton
Mount Magazine 1915 1919 21-6N-25W Mail to Blue Mountain
National 1881 8-7N-27W Local name, National Springs; Changed to Ratcliff, 1900
National Springs See National
New Blaine See Blaine
Paris 1874 11-7N-26W
Patsie 1889 1904 22-5N-26W Mail to Sugar Grove
Patterson's Bluff 1852 1897 11-8N-25W From Johnson County, 1875; Mail to Brown
Petit Jeane Valley See Idel
Prairie View/Prairieview 1878 1965 26-8N-24W
Ratcliff 5-7N-27W Changed from National, 1900
Revilee/Reville 1848 1905 2-6N-26W From Scott County, 1871; Mail to Magazine
Roseville 1848 1910 8-8N-26W Mail to Ozark
Scranton 1909 15-8N-24W
Shoal Creek/Shoalcreek 1839 1931 6-7N-23W Mail to New Blaine
Sparta See Dublin
Spielerville 1929 3-7N-25W Changed from Creole, 1888; Named for Louis C. Spieler, Postmaster
State Sanatorium 1927 1968 18-5N-27W Mail to Boonevile
Subiaco 1910 10-7N-25W
Sugar Grove/Sugargrove 1871 1956 19-5N-26W Mail to Booneville
Talmage 1886 1887 28-6N-27W Mail to Booneville
Tate 1892 1913 8-4N-28W From Scott County, 1903; Mail to Ione
Tollbridge 1894 1895 22-8N-26W Mail to Paris
Utley 1893 1912 8-7N-22W Named for James R. Utley, Postmaster
Wikins 1890 1914 24-8N-25W Mail to Scranton