Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alcandra 1872 1873 9-9S-9W
Argo 1896 1900 32-9S-8W Was to be Ray; Mail to Palmyra
Auburn 1860 6-7S-6W From Arkansas County, 1881; Changed to Douglas, 1883
Avery 1891 1916 18-9S-5W Mail to Meroney
Bago 1880 1881 17-8S-8W
Bradley 1868 1889 From Bradley County 1871; To Cleveland County 1873
Brakeville 1881 1884 19-9S-5W Mail to Star City
Branchville 1858 6-10S-7W From Drew County, 1871; Changed to Star City, 1872
Cades See Cadeston
Cadeston/Cader 1909 1914 22-8S-5W Local name, Richholt; Mail to Gould; See Lyko
Cadyville 1897 1897
Choctaw See Mills
Cornesville 1872 1953 16-10S-8W Mail to Palmyra
Crigler 1957 6-9S-6W Changed from Furth, 1937; Mail to Star City
Cummins 1884 1925 21-7S-5W Mail to Varner
Damon 1903 1911 31-8S-6W Mail to Star City
Douglas 1927 1-8S-5W Changed from Auburn, 1881; Mail to Gould
Edlil 1892 1915 27-9S-7W Mail to Star City
Elm Grove See Sarassa
Feenyville/Feeneyville 1893 1918 3-9S-8W Named for John A. Feeny, Postmaster; Mail to Star City
Fresno See Deep Bayou
Frotlen Plantation(?) See Sarassa
Furth 1902 2-9S-7W Changed to Crigler, 1937
Garnett 1879 1933 11-10S-7W Mail to Star City
Gary 1897 1902 29-7S-6W Was to be Shannon; Mail to Grady
Glendale 1884 1958 5-9S-8W Mail to Star City
Gould 35-8S-5W Changed from Joslyn, 1907
Gourd 1902 1917 15-10S-5W Mail to Walnut Lake
Grady 33-7S-6W Changed from Williamsburgh, 1885
Green Mount 1855 1880 20-10S-6W From Drew County, 1877; Changed to Tyro, 1879; Back to Green Mount, 1880
Handly 1912 1913 24-8S-5W Was to be Happy Hollow; Mail to Varner
Happy Hollow See Handly
Heckatoo 1876 1894 17-7S-5W Mail to Cummins
Jones Ferry See Warrenton
Joslyn 1904 35-8S-5W Named for George H. Joslyn, Postmaster; Changed to Gould, 1907
Little 1895 1895 11-10S-5W Mail to Tyro
Lone Pine See Lyle
Lyko 1921 1927 22-8S-5W Was to be Cades; Mail to Gould
Lyle 1903 1914 27-10S-7W Named for Henry D. Lyle, Postmaster; Was to be Lone Pine
Manteo See Terry
Melton Creek/Melton 1868 1877 8-8S-8W From Jefferson County, 1871; Back to Jefferson County before 1877
Meroney 1910 1931 5-9S-6W Mail to Gould
Mikado 1906 1908 6-9S-5W Was to be Walhallah; Mail to Avery
Mills 1895 1914 14-9S-5W Was to be Choctaw; Mail to Dumas
Palmyra 1877 1957 20-9S-8W
Pendleton 1867 1926 28-8S-3W From Arkansas County, 1871; To Desha County, 1883
Phenix 1894 14-8S-7W Changed to Yorktown, 1943
Puryear 1898 1901 32-9S-5W Named for William F. Puryear, Postmaster
Ray See Argo
Relf's Bluff 1850 1854 32-10S-7W From Drew County 1871; Mail to Star City
Rest 1892 1924 2-10S-8W Mail to Star City
Richholt See Cadeston
Sarassa 1870 1918 25-7S-6W Was to be Elm Grove; From Arkansas County, 1871; Local name, Frotlen Plantation; Mail to Grady
Shannon See Gary
Smith 1895 1902 29-9S-7W Mail to Star City
South Bend 1835 1925 3-8S-4W From Arkansas County, 1871
Staple 1908 1926 18-8S-4W Mail to Gould
Star City 8-9S-7W Changed from Branchville, 1872
Tarry 1892 1965 30-7S-7W Was to be Manteo; Mail to Star City
Todd 1908 1927 20-9S-6W Mail to Moroney
Toledo 1913 Changed from Pleasant Ridge, 1873; To Cleveland County, 1873
Tyro 1880 1953 16-10S-6W Mail to Pickens
Tyro 21-10S-6W Changed from Green Mount, 1879; Changed back, 1880
Varner 1874 1958 8-8S-5W Mail to Gould
Villavale 1903 1909 15-8S-8W Mail to Star City
Walhallah See Mikado
Warrenton 188? 1923 17-10S-5W Was to be Jones Ferry; Mail to Tyro
Williamsburgh 1876 Named for James P. Williams, Postmaster; Changed to Grady, 1885
Yorktown 16-8S-7W Changed from Phenix, 1943
Yorktown 1881 1921 16-8S-7W Mail to Terry
Youngtown 1908 1917 5-7S-6W Named for Edward Young; Mail to Moscow