Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Adler 1881 1884 15-11N-25W Was to be Batson; Mail to Eubank's Mill
Arleva See Hutson
Basham's Mill 1849 1853
Batson 1890 1933 3-11N-25W Was to be Oaks; Mail to Mountain Top; See Adler
Baxter 1871 1873 21-9N-25W
Beach 1890 1891
Berlin 15-8N-22W Changed from Bolesville, 1880; Changed to Piney, 1893
Bertha 1895 1911 1-12N-21W To Pope County, 1903
Bethlehem 1890 1901
Black Fox 1873 Changed to Knoxville, 1877
Blaylock See Brink
Bolesville 1871 From Pope County, 1877; Changed to Berlin, 1880
Brink 1904 1913 28-10N-25W Was to be Blaylock; Mail to Hunt
Brownsville 1850 Named for Robert H. Brown, Postmaster; Changed to Enterprise, 1851
Burton's Mills 1834 1836 In Crawford County
Butt's Store 1875 1884 1-10N-22W Named for Henry G. Butts, Postmaster; Mail to Hagarville
Cabin Creek 1874 13-9N-23W Changed to Lamar, 1887
Calico 1870 1872
Caperton 1898 1909 29-10N-22 Was to be Woodson, Drewer, Remmell, or Webb
Catalpa 1902 1951 15-12N-24W Was to be Tolppy; Mail to Oark
Clark See Smeadley
Clarksville 32-10N-15W Changed from Johnson Courthouse, 1840
Cline 1886 1906 33-10N-24W Named for Oliver H. Cline, Postmaster; Mail to Smeadley
Clower See Dale
Coal Hill 1876 17-9N-25W
Coalburgh 1879 24-9N-25W Local name, Horsehead Station; Changed to Hartman, 1879
Cobbsville 1851 1887 2-12N-25W Mail to Eubank's Mill
Cowans Mill See Cyclone
Cyclone 1898 1912 4-12N-23W Was to be Cowans Mill; Mail to Garber
Dale 1945 16-11N-24W Changed from Melson, 1892; Was to be Low Gap or Clower
Davils Knob/Knob 1918 2-12N-23W Changed to Salus, 1922
Davis 1890 1907 15-10N-24W
Dillen 1912 1953 14-12N-21W Was to be Piney; Mail to Fort Douglas
Drewer See Caperton
Edna 1908 1918 12-11N-25W Mail to Hartman
Ellsworth 1869 1916 To Logan County, 1871
Enterprise 1851 Changed from Brownsville, 1851
Estep 1878 Changed to Oark, 1879
Eubanks Mill 1851 27-12N-25W Changed to Yale, 1892
Faith See Tum
Fort Douglas 1875 1961 20-12N-21W Was to be Haw Creek
Friley 1899 1933 34-13N-25W Was to be Whitmire; Mail to Pettigrew
Garber 1907 1951 24-12N-23W Was to be Mount Pleasant; Mail to Ozone
Garretton 1842 1843 1844 Named for Wesley Garrett, Postmaster
Germany See Ludwig
Grace 1884 1905 18-10N-25W To Franklin County, 1899
Griffin 1850 1851
Hagarville 15-10N-22W Changed from Johnsonville, 1882
Hartman 24-9N-25W Changed froom Coalburgh, 1879
Haw Creek See Fort Douglas
Horse Head 1837 Changed to Harmony, 1878
Horsehead Station See Coalburgh
Hunt 1881 16-10N-25W Named for Moses H. Hunt, Postmaster
Hutson 1883 1886 14-10N-24W Named for James W. Hutson, Postmaster; Was to be Arleva or Woodland
Jacobs 1897 1912 31-11N-24W Mail to Harmony
Johnson Courthouse 1837 Changed to Clarksville, 1840
Johnsonville 1875 15-10N-22W For Newton C. Johnson, Postmaster; Changed to Joyner, 1875; Changed back to Johnsonville, 1880; Changed to Hagarville, 1882
Joyner Changed from Johnsonville, 1875; Back to Johnsonville, 1880
Knoxville 5-8N-22W Changed from Black Fox, 1877
Lamar 13-9N-23W Changed from Cabin Creek, 1887
Laster See Lonepine
Lebanon/Mount Lebanon 1879 1888 30-10N-22W Mail to Hagarville
Lela See Delma
Linville 1891 1927 To Franklin County, 1921
Little Piney See Mount Levi
Logan 1832 1836 From Pope County, 1833
Lonepine 1897 1916 34-11N-24W Was to be Laster; Mail to Clarksville
Low Gap See Dale
Ludville See Ludwig
Ludwig 1888 1915 22-10N-23 W Was to be German or Ludville; Mail to Clarksville
Lutherville 1883 1954 31-10N-21W Mail to Lamar
Melson 1883 16-11N-24W Named for James W. Melson, Postmaster; Changed to Dale, 1892
Mingo 1901 1906 35-10N-22W Mail to Lutherville
Montana 1881 1954 22-9N-24W Mail to Hartman
Morrison Bluff 1835 1852
Mount Levi 1875 1953 2-11N-23W Was to be Little Piney; Mail to Hagarville
Mount Pleasant See Garber
Mouth of Piney 1867 1868 15-8N-22W
Oaks See Batson
Oark 20-12N-24W Changed from Estep, 1879
Ozone 1873 4-11N-23W
Patterson's Bluff 1852 1897 To Logan County, 1871
Payne 1903 1916 7-11N-22W Mailto Hagarville
Perkin 1857 1867 2-7N-25W
Piney See Dillen
Piney 1934 15-8N-22W Changed from Berlin, 1893; Mail to London
Piney 1844 1866
Pittsburg 1839 1872 17-9N-22W
Point Meers 1848 1866 Named for William Meers, Postmaster
Powers 1888 1911 29-11N-23W Mail to Ludwig
Ragon 1912 1914 2-11N-24W Mail to Ozone
Remmell See Caperton
Rosetta 1894 1937 18-12N-22W Mail to Salus
Salus 1980 22-12N-23W Changed from Davils Knob, 1922
Sanatoga 1878 1882 10-11N-24W
Settie 1912 1913 10-12N-23W Mail to Ozone
Shoal Creek 1839 1931 To Logan County, 1871
Smeadley 1884 1916 24-10N-25W Was to be Clark; Mail to Hartman
Spadra 1871 1954 19-9N-23W Mail to Clarksville
Spadra Bluff 1837 Changed to Johnson Courthouse, 1837
Tolppy See Catalpa
Treat 1898 1952 Named for Andrew J. Treat; To Pope County, 1910
Tum 1900 1911 31-11N-25W Was to be Faith; Mail to Linville
Wardville 1852 1854
Webb See Caperton
Whitmire See Friley
Woodland 1911 1913 14-10N-24W Mail to Clarksville; See Hutson
Woodson See Caperton
Yale 1940 27-12N-25W Changed from Eubanks Mills, 1892; Mail to Pettigrew
Zadock 1890 1931 29-11N-22W Mail to Hagarville