Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Akron 1900 17-12N-4W Changed from Big Bottom, 1880; Mail to Newark
Albright 1883 c.1978 6-14N-6W Changed to Alvis, 1884
Alderbrook 1850 2-12N-7W Changed to Jamestown, 1880
Almond 1879 1966 To Cleburne County, 1883
Alonzo 1899 1918 23-11N-7W Was to be Sampson; Mail to Pleasant Plains
Alvis 1905 2-14N-7W Changed from Albright, 1833; Mail to Cushman
Ashley 1895 1895
Bailey 1907 1924 26-11N-5W Mail to Thida
Banner 1879 1971 34-12N-8W To Cleburne County, 1883
Batesville 1824 17-13N-6W
Bethesda 1888 1957 18-13N-7W Mail to Batesville
Big Bottom 1854 18-12N-4W Changed to Akron, 1880
Black Oak 1858 1866
Blackriver 1909 1912 15-14N-3W Was to be Lockhart; Mail to Cord
Buck Horn 1853 1882 To Stone County, 1874
Buckeye See Locust Grove
Cave Springs See Huff
Charlotte 1883 29-14N-4W
Como See Cord
Convenience 1855 1904 12-14N-5W Was to be Gray; Mail to Sharps
Cord 1880 30-14N-3W Was to be Como or Hope
Curia 1848 1913 3-15N-5W Mail to Cave City
Cushman 1887 9-14N-7W
Departee 1904 1911 11-11N-5W Mail to Dunnington
Desha 1883 30-13N-6W Was to be Helms
Dota 1880 1931 3-13N-4W Mail to Sulphur Rock
Dowdy 1930 1972 9-14N-3W Local name, Lockhart
Dunnington 1903 1918 33-12N-4F Mail to Elmo
Earnhearts 1914 1918 29-13N-7W Mail to Batesville
Edna See Rosie
Edward 1891 1895 23-13N-4W Was to be Stock; Mail to Sulphur Rock
Elmo 1879 1939 To Jackson County, 1939
Eminence 1856 1874 13-14N-7W
Fairview See Pleasant Plains
Filmore See Graham
Flat 1896 1897 35-11N-5W Mail to Coffeyville
Floral 1879 16-11N-7W
Galloway 1858 1866 Named for Robert M. Galloway, Postmaster
Graham 1852 1909 32-14N-7W Was to be Fillmore; Mail to Batesville
Gray See Convenience
Grigsby 1902 16-13N-8W Changed to Oneal, 1905
Hazel Grove/Hazelgrove 1881 1910 30-15N-3W Mail to Cord
Heath's Ferry 1848 Changed to Wallace Creek, 1849
Helms See Desha
Hickory Valley 1856 1911 31-15N-5W Mail to Pfeiffer
Highrock 1904 1912 8-14N-6W Was to be Pride or Surprise; Mail to Cushman
Hobson See Wrenton
Hope See Cord
Huff 1911 1975 26-12N-6W Was to be Cave Springs
Hutchinson 1900 1933 31-12N-6W Named for Edwin H. Hutchinson, Postmaster; Mail to Banner
Hutson 1906 1931 27-12N-5W Was to be Tracy Store; Mail to Oil Trough
Jamestown 2-12N-7W Changed from Alderbrook, 1880
Knox See Rawlings
Leiper 1904 1907 21-13N-7W Mail to Batesville
Liberty Hill See Thida
Lockheart 1920 1925 9-14N-3W Was to be Pansey; See Black River or Dowdy; Mail to Saffell
Locust Grove 1910 34-13N-7W Was to be Buckeye
Luckett See Virgie
Magness 1900 1-12N-5W
Martin 1914 1915 19-15N-6W Local name, Younger Mill; Mail to Sandtown
McHue 1896 1973 8-12N-6W
Merittsville 1858 1860 Named for Lewis Merritt, Postmaster
Mobley 1891 1954 25-15N-5W Named for John A. Mobley, Postmaster; To Sharp County, 1900
Moorefield 1883 18-13N-5W Named for Jesse A. Moore, Postmaster
Mount Etna 1879 1883 32-15N-7W Mail to Pleasant Valley
Mouth of Strawberry 1872 1874 5-14N-2W
Newark 1883 5-12N-4W
Oar 1892 1893 23-13N-8W Mail to Jamestown
Oil Trough 30-12N-4W Changed from Pleasant Island, 1849
Oneal 1943 16-13N-8W Changed from Grigsby, 1905; Mail to Batesville
Pansey See Lockheart
Paroquet 1884 1929 12-12N-4W Mail to Newark
Pfeiffer 1907 1942 25-14N-6W Mail to Batesville
Phosphate 1902 1904 14-14N-8W Mail to Virgie
Pinehill 1910 1913 26-15N-7W Was to be Johnson; Mail to Cushman
Pleasant Island 1832 Changed to Oil Trough, 1849
Pleasant Plains 1842 27-11N-6W Local name, Fairview
Pleasant Valley 1878 1883
Poke Bayou 1848 1894 1-15N-7W To Sharp County, 1869
Pride See Highrock
Rawlings 1911 1912 26-15N-5W Named for Harrison A. Rawlings, Postmaster; Was to be Knox
Rock Point 1875 1878 25-12N-6W
Rock Point 1842 1866 Changed to Saladore, 1842; Changed back, 1843
Rosie 1888 9-12N-5W Was to be Edna
Rust's 1856 Changed to Sharp's Cross Roads, 1859
Rutherford 1905 1912 32-13N-5W Mail to Sulphur Rock
Salado 1884 12-12N-6W
Saladore Changed from Rock Point, 1842; Changed back, 1843
Sampson See Alonzo
Sandtown 1882 1935 19-15N-6W Mail to Batesville
Sharp's Cross Roads/Sharp 1918 21-14N-5W Changed from Rust's, 1859; Named for Samuel G. Sharp, Postmaster
Starnes Springs 1814 1921 30-12N-7W Mail to Banner
Stock See Edward
Sullivan Springs 1856 1866
Sulphur Rock 1834 23-13N-5W
Surprise See Highrock
Thida 1922 13-11N-5W Was to be Liberty Hill
Tracy Store See Hutson
Unionhill 1904 1964 34-11N-5W
Victor 1880 1909 4-13N-7W
Virgie 1902 28-14N-8W Was to be Luckett; Changed to Walls Ferry, 1906
Wallace Creek 1866 Changed from Heath's Ferry, 1849
Walls Ferry 1915 28-14N-8W Changed from Virgie, 1906; Mail to Oneal
Walnut Grove 1852 1942 23-14N-4W Mail to Sulphur Rock
White River 1832 1833
Wolf Bayou 1851 To Cleburne County, 1883
Wrenton 1898 1921 34-12N-7W Was to be Hobson; Mail to Floral
Younger Mill See Martin