Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Amberg 1889 1890 Named for Moses Amberg, Postmaster
Bailey 1895 1903 25-16N-6E Named for John H. Bailey, Postmaster; Mail to Paragould
Bald Knob 1876 1877 16-19N-7E To Clay County, 1873
Bard 1890 1912 30-17N-7E Local name, Philps; Mail to Paragould
Beech/Beech Grove 1894 28-18N-4E
Bertig 1894 1914 27-17N-7E Mail to Brighton
Bethel/New Bethel 1880 1914 14-16N-5E Mail to Paragould
Big Creek 1869 Changed to Boydville, Clay County, 1875
Black Jack 1903 1914 19-18N-4E Mail to Delaplaine
Brighton 1901 1921 29-17N-7E Mail to Paragould
Bula 1880 23-17N-5E Changed to Paragould, 1882
Cache 1881 1882 7-18N-5E Mail to Gainesville; See Rice
Campabello 1856 1866
Chalk Bluff 1850 1868
Clarksburgh 1876 1876 25-18N-4E Was to be Dealville
Collinsville See Stonewall
County Line 1833 Changed to Farm Hill in Poinsett County, 1842
Crowley 1856 1906 14-17N-4E Mail to Walcott
Crowley 1832 From Lawrence County, 1838; Changed to Walcott, 1846
Daisy 1891 1892 25-16N-6E Was to be Spain; Mail to Paragould
Edwards See Mack
Eutaw 1833 1834
Fantain/Fontain 1911 1930 34-16N-2E Mail to Bono
Finch 1878 1916 11-16N-4E Mail to Paragould
Fontain See Fantain
Gainesville 1842 1936 27-18N-5E Mail to Paragould
Goff 1908 1909 23-18N-7E Mail to Leonard
Gray's Station 1872 2-18N-3E From Randolph County, 1875; Changed to Delaplaine, 1875
Greenfield 1834 1931 To Poinsett County, 1838
Greensboro/Greensborough 1866 Changed from Delaware Hill, 1850; To Craighead County, 1859
Griffin 1870 1876
Halliday/Halladay 1886 1923 10-17N-6E Mail to Marmaduke
Herndon 1859 1906 2-15N-3E To Craighead County, 1899
Iris 1903 1908 19-16N-3E Mail to Sedgwick
Knobville 1878 17-18N-6E Changed to Tilmanville, 1880
Lafe 1966 14-18N-5E Changed from Loulyma, 1902; Local name, Newberry
Light 1900 1967 33-17N-3E
Lorado 1848 1913 25-16N-3E Mail to Jonesboro
Loulyma 1890 11-18N-5E Changed to Lafe, 1902
Loyall Hill 1869 1872
Mack 1895 1906 29-17N-5E Was to be Edwards; Mail to Walcott
Mackville 1875 1878 1-18N-6E
Marmaduke 1885 24-18N-6E
New Bethel See Bethel
Newberry See Lafe
Newport 1852 1859
Oak Bluff 1844 1866
Oak Ridge 1848 1866 To Craighead County, 1859
Paragould 31-17N-6E Changed from Bula, 1882
Petra 1859 1866 To Craighead County, 1859
Philips See Bard
Pleasant View 1840 1842
Poplar Creek 1854 1858
Rice 1895 1906 13-17N-3E Was to be Cache; Mail to Walcott
Shakespear/Shakespeare 1855 1869
Smerney 9-16N-3E Changed from Walnut Corner,1923; Changed back, 1926
Spain See Daisy
Stanford 1901 1906 26-17N-4E Mail to Walcott
Talley 1911 1912 23-18N-7E Mail to Marmaduke
Tilmanville 1893 36-19N-6E Changed from Knobville, 1880; Mail to Marmaduke
Walcott 22-17N-4E Changed from Crowley, 1846
Walnut Corner 1919 1929 8-16N-3E Changed to Smerney, 1923; Changed back, 1926