Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Akin Farm/Aiken Farm 1908 Changed from White's Mill, 1886; Named for David Aiken, Postmaster; to Saline County, 1886
Albert Pike Station 1950 Located at Albert Pike & Gardner Lane, Hot Springs, Arkansas
Apple 1907 1910 12-3S-20W Was to be named Handy; Mail to Hot Springs
Avant 1905 1938 15-1S-22W From Montgomery County, 1917; To be named Meek; Mail to Buckville
Balam 1884 1885 5-1S-21W Mail to Cedar Glades
Bankhead Station See Whittington
Bear 1882 1933 29-2S-21W From Montgomery County, 1898; To be Bear Mountain; Mail to Royal
Bear Mountain See Bear
Beaudry 1900 1951 23-1N-19W Was to be named Brumby; Mail to Jessieville
Blakely 1936 28-1S-21W To Yell County, 1937; Back to Garland County, 1940
Blakely See Hawes
Blakely/Blakeley 1882 1889 34-1S-21W
Bodon 1900 1900
Bonnerdale/Bonner 7-4S-22W Name changed from Memdag, 1919; To Hot Spring County, 1925
Brumby See Beaudry
Buckville 1884 34-1S-22W From Montgomery County, 1917
Buffalo Gap See Durant
Cedar Glades 1882 1953 31-1S-21W From Montgomery County, 1917; Mail to Mountain Pine
Chance 1898 1913 10-1S-20W Mail to Lena
Chandler 1892 1914 20-3S-21W Was to be named Florence; Mail to Hempwallace
Crossington 1878 1881 36-3S-20W
Crystal Springs 1880 1964 34-2S-22W From Montgomery County, 1917
Duffie See Fairchild
Durant 1889 1899 1-1N-214 Was to be named Buffalo Gap; Mail to Jessieville
Eva See Mazie
Fairchild 1891 1893 21-1S-18W Was to be named Duffie; To Hot Spring County, 1892
Florance See Chandler
Gladstone 1888 1931 14-1N-22W Mail to Cedar Glades
Glazie Peau (Pole) 1876 1876 9-2S-20W
Gulpha 1900 1901 5-3S-18W Mail to Hot Springs
Gum 1910 1912 34-1S-20W Mail to Garland
Haires 1925 1932 Mail to Mountain Pine
Handy See Apple
Haws/Hawes 1892 9-2S-20W Name changed from Shippey, 1891; Was to be named Blakely
Hempwallace/Hemp Wallace 1922 26-3S-20W Name changed from Wiggs, 1914; Near Kemps Mills; Mail to Pearcy
Hill 1883 1885 3-2S-17W Mail to Fairplay
Holtz 1898 1898 Named for William Holtz, Postmaster
Hot Springs/Hot Spgs Nat'l Pk. 1831 33-2S-19W From Hot Springs County, 1873
Jessieville 1889 30-1N-19W
Kemp/Kemp Station See Milton
Kemps Mills See Hempwallace
Lake Hamilton 1949 Changed to Branch of Hot Springs, Arkansas post office, early 1970's
Lawrence 1915 17-3S-18W Name changed from Potash Sulphur, 1890; Mail to Hot Springs
Lena 1906 1915 32-1S-21W Mail to Cedar Glades
Lockett See Lottie
Lofton 1902 1921 12-4S-21W Mail to Pearcy
Lonsdale 1900 22-2S-17W Named for John G. Lonsdale
Lottie 1914 1921 14-3S-21W Was to be named Lockett; Mail to Hempwallace
Maddox 1911 1938 12-3S-22W Named for Leonard E. Maddox, Postmaster; Mail to Royal
Maude/Maud 1898 1900 27-3S-21W Mail to Wiggs
May 1884 1906 7-4S-19W Was to be named Mt. Carmel; Local name, Mayville; Mail to Hot Springs
Mayville See May
Mazie 1899 1901 2-3S-21W Was to be named Eva; Mail to Hot Springs
Meek See Avant
Memdag 1914 7-4S-22W Was to be named Ussery or Bonner; Changed to Bonnerdale, 1919
Meyers/Meyers 1899 1953 33-3S-22W Was to be named Myers Creek; Mail to Royal
Milton 1906 1921 18-3S-20W To be Mountain Glen; Local name, Kemp; Mail to Hempwallace
Mork 1908 1908
Morning Star 1943 1958 1-3S-19W Mail to Hot Springs
Mountain Pine 1927 8-2S-20W
Mountain Valley 1879 1959 19-1S-19W Mail to Hot Springs
Mt. Carmel See May
Mt. Glen/Mountain Glen 1878 1897 8-3S-20W Mail to Hot Springs; See Milton
Muse 1898 1900 13-1S-21W Named for Jesse A. Muse, Postmaster; Mail to Wiggs
Myers Creek See Meyers
Oma 1917 9-4S-21W Name changed from Spring Garden, 1880; To Hot Spring County, 1880
Owasso 1906 1907 8-1S-19W Mail to Hot Springs
Peak 1903 1914 7-3S-22W Was to be named Victor; Mail to Crystal Springs
Pearcy 1890 31-3S-21W
Potash Sulphur 1883 Name changed to Lawrence, 1890
Prince 1896 1905 22-3S-18W Mail to Lawrence
Rice See Royal
Royal 1906 3-3S-21W Was to be named Rice
Shippey 1882 Named for Dr. E.A. Shippey; Name changed to Haws, 1891
Spring Garden 1878 9-4S-21W Name changed to Oma, 1880
Thorburn 1907 1915 1-3S-19W Named for Mary P. Thorburn, Postmistress; Mail to Hot Springs
Ussery 1890 1917 9-4S-22W Was to be named Bonner; Mail to Memdag
Victor See Peak
Waver Light 1880 1886 6-3S-21W To Montgomery County, 1880
Whites Mill 1878 Named for Thomas N. White, Postmaster; Changed to Akin Farm, 1886
Whittington 1838 1930 25-1S-18W From Hot Spring County, 1880; Local name, Bankhead Station
Wiggs 1886 Name changed to Hempwallace, 1914