Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alix 1906 23-9N-26W
Alston 1880 1921 4-9N-28W Mail to Mulberry
Altus 1875 16-9N-26W
Anise 1903 1917 32-9N-28W Was to be Graham or Teddy; Mail to Vesta
Arthur See Easter
Barnes 1892 1944 12-11N-27W Mail to Watalula
Beth 1918 c1978
Boston 1843 1844
Bradburn 1899 1899 32-13N-27W Was to be Lee; Mail to Combs
Branch 1899 3-7N-28W
Burkesville 1881 1882 6-8N-27W
Calvin 27-11N-26W Changed from Mountain Top, 1888; Changed back, 1889
Cass 1848 1958 19-12N-26W Mail to Ozark
Caulksville 1870 To Logan County, 1873
Cecil 1886 23-9N-28W
Charleston/Charlestown 1846 12-7N-29W
Coldspring 1895 1901 21-12N-28W Mail to Bidville
Constitution 1851 1866
Cravens 1879 1909 13-10N-28W Mail to Ozark
Cross Roads 1850 To Scott County, 1851
Crow See Whitley
Dahoma 1880 1906 27-8N-28W Was to be Keith; Mail to Charleston
Daisey See Donald
Dane See Esther
Donald 1890 1906 2-7N-28W Was to be Daisey; Mail to Branch
Dorietta 1886 1889 32-9N-28W Mail to Paultine
Easter 1884 1884 16-10N-26W Was to be Arthur; See Roscoe
Effa 1892 1923 27-7N-28W Mail to Charleston
Erwin See Ford
Esther 1891 1903 16-10N-26W Was to be Dane; Mail to Ozark
Etna 1888 1909 10-8N-27W Was to be Winnie; Mail to Ozark
Fenn 1886 1883 6 Miles north of Plymouth
Fern 1888 1933 13-11N-29W Mail to Locke
Flowery 1879 1898 2-11N-26W Mail to Cass
Ford 1892 1894 19-9N-27W Was to be Erwin; Named for John K. Ford, Postmaster; Mail to Cecil
Franklin From Crawford County before 1832
Game Hill/Gaine Hill 1860 1878 14-7N-28W
Gammiel 1884 1894 32-9N-27W Mail to Ozark
Grace 1884 1905 24-10N-25W From Johnson County, 1899; Mail to Ozark
Graham See Anice
Hight 1886 1900 5-9N-28W Mail to Alston
Hortense 1879 1880 4-11N-28W Was to be Hurricane
Hughes See Vesta
Hurricane See Hortense
Inland See Mountaincrest
James See Jethro
Jethro 1889 1955 19-11N-27W Was to be James; Mail to Ozark
Keith See Dahoma
Lee See Bradburn
Leon 1882 1907 32-7N-28W Mail to Charleston
Linville 1891 1927 31-11N-25W From Johnson County, 1923; Mail to Ozark
Lonelm 1885 1918 10-10N-28W Mail to Mulberry
Lovely Valley See Vesta
McLeans Bottom 1845 Changed to Roseville, 1846
Meg 1898 1937 5-8N-27W Mail to Ozark
Morton 1872 1874 32-9N-27W
Mount Gilead 1852 1854
Mount Hope 1879 1880 4-8N-28W
Mountain Top/Mountaintop 1879 36-11N-26W Changed to Calbin, 1888; Changed back, 1889
Mountaincrest 1919 1937 29-13N-27W From Crawford County, 1930; Was to be Inland; Mail to Combs
Mounts 1888 1890 31-13N-27W Mail to Combs
Mulberry Changed from Pleasant Hill, 1877; To Crawford County, 1896
Mulberry 1846 1846
Ozark 1837 36-10N-27W
Pauline 1881 1907 29-9N-28W Mail to Anice
Peterpender 1900 1917 24-8N-28W Named for Jerome N. Pendergrass, Postmaster
Pfaffton See Plymouth
Pittston 1902 1912 2-11N-26W Mail to Mountain Top
Pleasant Hill 1878 1879 23-10N-29W Changed to Mulberry, 1877
Pleasant Hill From Crawford County, 1838; Changed to Mulberry, 1877
Pleasant View See Sub Rosa
Plymouth 1886 1905 35-11N-29W Was to be Pfaffton
Point Prairie 1839 1854
Point Rock 1860 1866
Redding 1899 1931 30-12N-26W Was to be Welton; Mail to Barnes
Roscoe 1884 1884 16-10N-26W Mail to Ozark; See Easter
Rosedale 1879 1882 9-10N-27W Mail to Ozark
Roseville 8-8N-26W Changed from McLean Bottom, 1844; To Logan County, 1872
Shares See Vineland
Short Mountain 1843 1860
Sixmile 1892 1920 25-7N-28W Mail to Branch
Sub Rosa/Subrosa 1853 1911 11-8N-28W Was to be Pleasant View; Mail to Peterpender
Taft 1909 1935 27-12N-26W Mail to Mountaintop
Teddy See Anice
Timothy 1886 1886
Tony 1898 1906 26-10N-28W Mail to Ozark
Vesta 1884 1918 11-8N-29W Was to be Lovely Valley or Hughes; Mail to Charleston
Vineland 1886 1908 33-12N-28W Was to be named Shares
Watalula 1881 1955 26-11N-27W Mail to Ozark
Webb City 1875 1955 2-9N-27W Mail to Ozark
Welton See Redding
White Rock 1879 1915 16-11N-28W Mail to Mulberry
Whitley 1903 1903 6-10N-28W Was to be named Crow; Mail to White Rock
Winnie See Etna
Wire Hill 1876 1876 14-10N-26W