Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Asbury 1904 1904 27-6N-11W Mail to Naylor
Barney 1890 1906 8-7N-11W Mail to Enola
Beaver Dam See Reno
Beryl 1894 1908 10-5N-12W
Bessie 1899 1904 25-5N-15W
Bethlehem 1896 1896
Bono See Kendall
Bristol 1888 1911 11-6N-11W Mail to Mount. Vernon
Cadron 1837 1880 30-7N-12W From Conway County, 1873
Cadron/Cadron Cove 21-8N-14W Changed to Martinville, 1887; From Conway County, 1887
Cane Creek 1858 1878 29-7N-11W From Conway County, 1873
Cascade 1904 21-6N-11W Changed from Muddie Bayou, 1882; Mail to Naylor
Cato 1884 1954 35-4N-12W Was to be Doko; Mail to Jacksonville
Cazort See Palarm
Chadwick 1891 1906 31-4N-12W Was to be Og; Local name, Plum Orchard; Mail to Saltillo
Circle Justice
Contest See Justice
Cora See Ruray
Damascus 1887 6-8N-13W
Danley Changed from Palarm, 1877; Changed back to Palarm, 1878
Doko See Cato
Enders 1880 1929 24-8N-12W Was to be Valonia; Local name, Sulphur Springs; Mail to Quitman
Enola 1879 32-7N-11W
Enon See Moore
Faulkner 1899 1908 13-4N-12W
Faulkner Gap 1879 1894 13-4N-12W Mail to Otto
Fundale 1907 1907
Funston 1901 1905 17-5N-11W Mail to Vilonia
Gold Creek 1880 5-4N-13W Changed from Toran, 1879
Good Hope 1879 1886 9-5N-12W Mail to Vilonia
Greenbrier 1857 21-7N-13W From Conway County, 1873
Greengrove 1851 1870 5-5N-14W
Guy 1890 13-8N-13W
Hamlet 1887 1906 5-5N-12W Mail to Conway
Hanks See Justice
Hanna 1900 1905 2-7N-12W Was to be named Owen; Mail to Greenbrier
Hardinville 1895 1905 17-7N-12W Mail to Greenbrier
Holland 1878 1939 10-6N-12W Mail to Vilonia
Holt 1901 1902 22-7N-12W Mail to Holland
Housville 1877 Changed to Mt. Vernon, 1877
Howard 1879 1882 10-6N-13W Was to be Union; Mail to Conway
Justice 1903 1904 10-6N-13W Was to be Contest, Circle, Hanks or Twilight; Mail to Holland
Keith 1886 1887 4-5N-14W Mail to Conway
Kendall 1887 1911 15-7N-14W Local name, Bono; Changed to Mall, 1901; Back to Bono, 1901; Mail to Wooster
Linder 1884 1914 9-6N-13W Was to be Lone Pine; Mail to Greenbrier
Lollie 1889 1911 15-4N-15W Mail to Conway
Lone Pine See Linder
Mall Changed from Kendall, 1901; Changed back to Kendall, 1901
Martinville 1958 22-8N-14W Changed from Cadron, 1887; From Conway County, 1887
Mayflower 1880 3-4N-13W
Moore 1880 1906 6-7N-12W Was to be named Enon; Mail to Greenbrier
Mount Vernon 24-7N-11W Changed from Housville, 1877
Muddie Bayou 1879 15-6N-11W Changed to Cascade, 1882
Naylor 1899 1907 17-6N-11W Mail to Vilonia
Normal Station 11-5N-14W See Conway
Og See Chadwick
Otto 1885 1905 29-5N-11W Mail to Vilonia
Owen See Hanna
Palarm/Palarm Bayou 1856 1923 12-3N-14W From Pulaski County, 1873; Changed to Danley, 1877; Changed back to Palarm, 1878; Was to be Cozart; Mail to Mayflower
Pinnacle Springs 1881 1901 16-8N-13W Mail to Guy
Pliney 1897 1914 11-8N-11W Mail to Quitman
Plum Orchard See Chadwick
Preston 1881 1906 32-5N-13W Mail to Conway; See Twilight
Reno 1880 1884 29-4N-14W Was to be Named Beaver Dam; Mail to Mayflower
Republican 1897 1911 31-8N-13W Mail to Greenbrier
Ruray 1886 1891 3-8N-13W Was to be named Cora; Mail to Guy
Saltillo 1892 1908 31-5N-12W Mail to Conway
Sanson 1880 1881 12-5N-13W
Stanley/Stanley Gap 1894 1902 22-6N-11W Named for James E. Stanley, Postmaster; Mail to Cascade
Sulphur Springs See Enders
Toran 1878 Changed to Gold Creek, 1879
Twilight 1917 1919 32-5N-13W Was to be Preston; See Justice; Mail to Conway
Union See Howard
Valonia See Enders
Vilonia 1879 7-5N-11W
Wanamaker 1892 1895 19-5N-14W Mail to Conway
Wooster 1881 35-7N-14W Named from James P. Wooster, Postmaster