Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Allis Drew See Nelson
Barkada 1917 16-11S-8W From Bradley County, 1884; Mail to Wilmar
Barkada 1851 1875 21-12S-8W Named for James Barker, Postmaster
Bartholomew 1832 1866 From Chicot County 1846; To Chicot County, 1851
Baxter 34-13S-4W Changed from Bartholomew, 1873
Bishop 1913 1915 8-11S-6W Named for Emma L. Bishop, Postmistress; Mail to Monticello
Blissville 1900 13-15S-4W Changed to Jerome, 1920
Blount 1895 1895
Bodman 1886 1897 9-11S-7W Mail to Montongo
Bombay 1888 1890 1-13S-4W Was to be Tom Henry; Mail to Dermott
Branchville 1858 Changed to Star City, 1872
Chambers See Troy
Coleman 1880 1918 6-11S-5W Was to be Spring Hill; Mail to Monticello
College Station 1913 1930 10-13S-7W
Collins 36-13S-5W Changed from Cut Off, 1873
Cominto 1900 1949 28-13S-5W
Constance 1898 1905 35-13S-5W Mail to Collins
Cornersville 1857 1866
Cotham 1880 15-14S-6W Changed to Grove, 1880
Cut Off 1850 20-13S-5W Changed to Collins, 1873
Cutoff 1897 1966 5-12S-5W Mail to Monticello
De Bastrop 1842 From Chicot County, 1846; Changed to Holly Point, 1851
Don 1902 1912 15-11S-8W Mail to Plantersville
Dry Ridge 1846 1851 From Bradley County, 1851
Eddy 1888 1905 2-14S-8W Was to be St. Cloud; Mail to Moody
Florence 1854 1954 7-11S-5W
Ford 1895 1907 28-11S-8W Mail to Don
Fountain Hill 1846 From Bradley County, 1846; To Ashley County, 1848
Green Hill See Manoah
Green Mount/Greenmount 1855 1880 To Lincoln County, 1871
Grove 1910 30-14S-6W Changed from Cothan, 1880; Mail to Scipio
Grove See Paradise
Hattie See Line
Hay 1886 1886 23-13S-6W Mail to Monticello
Holly Point 1874 Changed from De Bastrop, 1851; To Ashley County, 1853
Ion 1859 1866
Jerome 13-15S-4W Changed from Blissville, 1920
Lacy/Lacey 1848 1922 29-14S-7W
Ladelle 1913 1953 26-14S-7W
Line 1901 1928 23-15S-5W Was to be Hattie; To Ashley County, 1920
Long Prairie See Scipio
Luella 1891 1912 28-12S-5W Mail to Monticello
Manoah 1892 1905 23-13S-8W Was to be Green Hill; Mail to Wilmar
Mar's Hill 1857 1866
Means 1902 1903 33-11S-6W Mail to Monticello
Midway 1880 1925 14-15S-6W Mail to Monticello
Monticello 1849 26-12S-7W
Montongo/Montonga 1847 1916 21-11S-7W Mail to Monticello
Moody 1895 1919 28-14S-8W Mail to Wilmar
Nelson 1888 1907 35-12S-8W Was to be Allis; Mail to Wilmar
Notion 1913 1916 35-12S-4W Mail to McGehee
Oakland See Rock
Oaks See Rock
Oakwood 1880 1881 33-11S-6W
Paradise 1888 1923 6-14S-6W Was to be Grove; Mail to Monticello
Plantersville 1879 1917 16-11S-8W Was to be Rock Springs; Mail to Wilmar
Prairie 1857 1881 2-14S-6W
Relf's Bluff 1850 1954 To Lincoln County, 1871
Rives 1888 1910 6-11S-4W Was to be Taylorville; Mail to Winchester
Rock 1894 1895 14-11S-8W Was to be Oakland or Oaks
Rock Springs See Plantersville
Scipio 1890 1916 7-15S-6W Was to be Long Prairie; Mail to Valley Junction
Selma 1857 1962 36-11S-5W From Desha County, 1867
Springhill See Coleman
St. Cloud See Eddy
Star City To Lincoln County; Changed from Branchville, 1872
Taylorville See Rives
Tillar 1879 25-11S-4W
Tom Henry See Bombay
Troy 1883 2-15S-5W Changed from Dearmond's Mills, 1860; Was to be Chambers
Valley Junction 1914 1919 35-14S-7W Mail to Ladelle
Wilmar 1884 1884 33-12S-8W
Winchester 1879 2-11S-4W
Wolf Creek 1857 1860