Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alta See Kilso
Amos See Norsk
Antwerp 1856 1860
Arkansas City 1872 33-12S-1W From Chicot County, 1880
Bath 1874 1879 9-9S-4W Was to be Bowles Station
Beith's Landing 1874 8-7S-2E Named for Robert H. Beith, Postmaster; Changed to Knowlton, 1894
Bellville Changed from Wellington, 1850; Changed to Red Fork, 1852
Bethel See Refuge
Bowles Station See Bath
Bush See Kelso
Butler 1858 1866
Campbell 1856 1866
Chester 1869 1880 21-8S-2W
Cumby See White River
Cypress Creek 1858 1873 27-11S-1W
Davis Lake See Medford
Deposet 1905 1905
Dumas 1879 27-9S-4W
El Central 1915 1927 14-7S-1E Was to be Gates; Mail to Ferguson
Fair Forest 1846 1858
Florance 1867 Changed from Wilsyville, 1854
Forrest Lawn 1867 1869 26-11S-4W
Gates See El Central
Glen Low 1881 1882 27-10S-1E Was to be Tanney or Landy; Mail to White River
Good Hope See Good Luck
Good Luck 1879 1884 25-11S-1W Was to be Good Hope; Mail to Catfish Point
Graddy Landing 1871 8-8S-1E Changed to Henrico, 1883
Halley 1884 c1978 29-13S-2W Named for Hillard H. Halley, Postmaster
Harding 1901 10-11S-2W Changed to Rohwer, 1904
Harrison 1847 1849
Harriston 1878 1879 30-11S-1W Named for M. C. Harris, Postmaster
Hays See Norsk
Henrico 1935 9-8S-1E Changed from Graddy Landing, 1883; Mail to Snow Lake
Holly Glade See McGehee
Hopedale 1878 1895 36-8S-2W
Kilso 1903 1931 26-10S-2W Was to be Mabel, Alta, Northwood, Bush, or Rosa; Mail to Watson
Knoulton's Landing 1874 8-7S-2E Changed from Laconia, 1868
Knowlton 1927 5-7S-2E Changed from Beith's Landing, 1894; Mail to Ferguson
Landy See Glen Low
Lenox Landing See Pendleton
Loconia 1871 1934 32-7S-2E Mail to Henrico
Loconia 1848 Changed to Knoulton's Landing, 1868
Lorays 1912 1914 2-7S-1E Mail to Ferguson
Mabel See Kilso
Masonville 1910 1935 9-13S-3W Mail to McGehee
McArthur 1907 1918 6-12S-2W Mail to McGehee
McGehee 1879 27-12S-3E From Chicot County, 1879; For Abner McGehee, Postmaster; Was to be Holly Glade; Local name, McGehee Station
McGehee Station See McGehee
Medford 1875 1911 2-9S-3W Was to be Davis Lake; Mail to Pendleton
Mouth of White River See White River
Napoleon 1837 1881 27-10S-1E From Arkansas County, 1843
Norsk 1903 1906 26-10S-4W Was to be Amos or Hays; Mail to Winchester
Northwood See Kelso
Oaklawn 1913 1920 19-9S-3W Mail to Dumas
Pendleton 1867 1926 27-8S-3W
Pickens 11-10S-4W Changed from Walnut Lake, 1932
Poynter 1882 1886 20-9S-2W Named for Robert H. Poynter, Postmaster; Mail to Red Fork
Prairie Landing 1860 1874 13-7S-2W Was to be Toboxky
Prewitts Ferry 1870 1872 35-11S-4W
Rawlings Landing See Rosemary
Red Fork 1920 3-9S-2W Changed from Bellville, 1852; Mail to Watson
Reedville 1879 1922 9-9S-4W Mail to Dumas
Refuge 1904 1910 17-9S-2W Was to be Bethel; Mail to Medford
Richland 1894 1913 29-11S-1W Mail to Arkansas City
Rohwer 10-11S-2W Changed from Harding, 1904
Rosa See Kelso
Rosemary 1870 1909 14-9S-1W Local name, Rawlings Landing; Mail to Yancopin
Ross/Rossville 1917 1929 3-13S-2W Local name, Deer Park; Mail to McGehee
Rotan 1895 1915 6-9S-4W Mail to Gould
Selma 1859 1968 To Drew County after 1867
Snow Lake 1905 29-7S-1E
Tanney See Glen Low
Toboxky See Prairie Landing
Trippe/Trippe Station 1879 1899 6-13S-2W From Chicot County, 1879; Mail to McGehee
Waddell 1884 1891 33-8S-1W Named for Paul Waddell, Postmaster
Walnut Lake 1879 11-10S-4W Changed to Pickens, 1932
Watson/Wastsons 1874 26-9S-2W
Wellington 1839 Changed to Bellville, 1850
White River 1825 1918 13-9S-1E Froom Arkansas County, 1838; Local names, Cumby or Mouth of White River; Mail to Rosedale, Mississippi
Wilsyville 1848 Changed to Florance, 1854
Yancopin 1905 1958 6-9S-1W