Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alligator 1848 1851
Armstrongs See Ashford
Arrington 1881 1882 32-6N-7E Named for William T. Arrington, Postmaster; Mail to Memphis, Tennessee
Ashford 1886 1892 18-5N-9E Was to be Armstrongs; Mail to Grayson
Barifields Point Changed from Bufords Landing, 1836; To Mississippi County
Bartonville 1889 1889 Named for Robert B. Barton, Postmaster
Bauxippi 1917 1921 17-6N-9E Mail to West Memphis
Bird 1899 1909 3-8N-9E Mail to Lambertville
Blackfish 1870 1884 3-6N-7E Named for Blackfish Bayou; Mail to Tyronza
Blanton 1908 5-6N-9E Changed from McGowen, 1894; See Blantonburg
Blantonburg 1916 1918 5-6N-9E Local name, Blanton; Mail to Bridge Junction
Bledsoe 1869 1976
Bledsoe's Landing 1849 Changed to Council Bend, 1866
Blue's Point 1845 1858 19-3N-7E
Blues Point 1887 19-3N-7E Changed from Excelsior, 1879; To Lee County 1879; Back in 1884
Bostons See Leopold
Bridge 1905 1906 13-6N-9E Mail to Memphis, Tennessee
Bridge Junction 1915 1929 13-6N-9E Mail to West Memphis
Bruins 1912 1933 11-3N-7E Mail to Hughes
Buford Landing 1836 Named for Elijah Buford, Postmaster; Changed to Barifields Point, 1836; To Mississippi County, 1836
Canadian 1832 1834
Cat Island 1858 1867
Charley Morris' Landing See Pacific Place
Chatfield 1914 Was to be Silver City
Clarkdale/Clarkedale 15-8N-8E Changed from Clarkton, 1910
Clarkton 1884 15-8N-8E Named for Cleveland B. Clark, Postmaster; Changed to Clarkdale, 1910
Cloar 1906 1918 16-8N-6E Named for Charles W. Cloar; Mail to Earle
Closia 1902 1903 13-6N-9E Was to be Harvey for Amanda Harvey, Postmistress; Mail to West Memphis
Cote St. Phillips See Stenning
Council 1838 1839
Council Bend 1873 28-3N-6E Changed from Bledsoe's Landing, 1866
Council Bend 1846 1871 3-3N-6E To Phillips County, 1847; Back to Crittenden County, 1849
Crawfordsville/Crawfordville 1870 14-7N-7E Named for Adolphus F. Crawford, Postmaster
Crittenden 1909 1927 10-7N-6E Mail to Earl
Earle/Earle 1890 33-8N-6E
Ebony 1932 29-7N-8E Changed from Gerald, 1907; Mail to Marion
Ebony 1892 1905 ?-7N-8E Mail to Vincent
Edmondson 1859 25-6N-7E
Elmgrove 1845 1848
Engledale 1916 Changed to Stacy, 1916
Excelsior 1878 19-3N-7E Changed to Blues Point, 1879
Felco 1914
Fogleman 1900 1915 22-7N-9E Mail to Marion
Fritz 1912 11-3N-7E Changed from Hacker, 1891; Named for Edward Fritz, Postmaster
Garvey 1884 24-6N-9E Local name, West Memphis; Changed to West Memphis, 1893
Gavin 1888 1915 35-7N-8E Mail to Ebony
Gerald 1905 29-7N-8E Changed to Ebony, 1907
Gilmore 1883 7-9N-8E
Grande 1832 Changed to Marion, 1835
Grandee 1881 1881 18-8N-8E
Granville 1911 1913 35-5N-7E Mail to Kate
Grassy Lake 1900 1913 36-8N-6E Was to be Lansing; Station name Grassy Lake; Mail to Earle
Grayson 1849 1907 36-6N-8E Local name, Patton Landing
Greenock 1827 Changed to Oldham, 1851
Hacker 1885 14-3N-7E Named for John A. Hacker, Postmaster; Changed to Fritz, 1891
Heafer 1907 1933 27-9N-7E Named for Edgar W. Heafer, Postmaster; Mail to Earle
Holly Grove 1859 Changed to Pacific Place, 1860
Hopefield 1858 1909 12-6N-9E Mail to West Memphis
Hubbert 1838 1839
Hughes 1886 1896 11-9N-6E Was to be Lusk; Mail to Poindexter
Hulbert 1900 1971 13-6N-8E Mail to West Memphis
Irby 1908 1909 Mail to Kate
Ivoton 1899 1908 4-7N-8E Mail to Crawfordsville
Jeannette 1904 1927 35-7N-6E Mail to Earle
Jericho 1886 1943 27-8N-8E Mail to Crawfordsville
Julious 1884 1913 36-7N-7E Mail to Vincent
Kate 1898 1917 15-5N-7E Was to be Ward; Mail to Neuhardt
Kiboling 1918 1927 29-9N-6E Mail to Twist
Kyle 1900 1907 35-5N-7E
Lambethville 1924 29-9N-9E Changed from Scudder, 1884; For Warner Lambeth, 1913; Was to be Sanders for O.L. Sanders; Mail to Turrell
Lansing 1891 1929 6-7N-7E See Grassy Lake; Mail to Earle
Leopold 1881 1883 5-7N-8E Was to be Bostons; Mail to Marion
Lucas 1838 1839
Lusk See Hughes
Marion 24-7N-8E Changed from Grande, 1835
McGowen 1894 5-6N-9E Named for Thomas J. McGowan, Postmaster; Changed to Blanton
Menesha 1911 1924 3-9N-8E Mail to Turrell
Mound City 1852 34-7N-9E Changed to Mounds, 1888
Mounds 1921 29-6N-8E Changed from Mound City, 1888; Mail to Edmondson
Neuhardt 1913 1928 10-5N-7E Mail to Proctor
Oldham 1892 30-8N-9E Changed from Greenock 1851; Mail to Clarketon
Olney 1900 1902 26-8N-7E Mail to Crawfordsville
Pacific Landing 1877 1879 24-9N-8E See Pacific Place
Pacific Place 1870 24-9N-8E Changed from Holly Grove, 1860; Local name, Charley Morris' Landing; See Pacific Landing
Pattons Landing See Grayson
Pinkney/Pinckney 1880 1951 8-4N-8E Mail to Hughes
Plum Island 1838 1839
Poindexter 1881 1905 31-9N-7E
Procter 1890 32-6N-7E
Quarles 1917 1917 28-6N-8E Mail to Hubert
Riceville 1879 1911 22-6N-8E Mail to Mounds
Roman 1916 1916
Scanlans/Scanlan 1880 1914 20-5N-8E Named for Erastus J. Scanlans; Mail to Waverly
Scudder 1883 28-9N-9E Changed to Lambethville, 1884
Seyppel 1888 1948 6-3N-8E Mail to Hughes
Silver City See Chatfield
Simsboro 1916 1928 29-5N-7E Named for George W. Sims, Postmaster; Mail to Proctor
St. Clair/Saint Clair 1881 1905 2-7N-9E Mail to Bird
St. Francis/Saint Francis Ferry From St. Francis County 1843; Changed to St. Francis after 1843
St. Thomas/Saint Thomas 1877 To Mississippi County, 1903
Stacy 1924 15-9N-8E Changed from Engledale, 1916; Named for John L. Stacy, Postmaster
Stenning 1908 1909 11-5N-8E Was to be Cote St. Phillip; Mail to Scranton
Sweetville 1853 1855 Named for Charles S. Sweet, Postmaster
Turrell 1901 29-9N-8E Named for Fletcher E. Turrell, Postmaster
Vincent 1890 1934 24-7N-7E Mail to Crawfordsville
Ward See Kate
Waverly 1909 1922 16-5N-8E Mail to Neuhardt
West Memphis 18-6N-9E Changed from Garvey, 1893
Wyanoka 1905 1920 36-6N-8E Was to be Coin; Mail to Waverly