Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Apt 1897 1907 9-13N-4E Was to be Elen; Mail to Jonesboro
Armo 1910 1910 32-16N-7E Mail to Monette
Bay 1884 21-13N-5E
Bay Bridge 1879 1882 23-13N-5E
Bellefield 35-13N-5E Changed from Culberhouse, 1903; Changed to Herman, 1925
Bethena 1916 Changed to Lanieve, 1917; Was to be Pauls
Black Oak 17-14N-7E Changed from Dwight, 1902
Bonnerfield 1883 1884 30-15N-3E Named for Alford B. Bonner, Postmaster; Mail to Jonesboro
Bono 1884 19-15N-3E
Bowman 1897 1901 30-14N-6E Named for Sim M. Bowman, Postmaster; Mail to Lake City
Bradman 1903 1904 4-15N-3E Was to be Fifty-six; Mail to Bono
Brookland 1882 15-5N-5E Named for Archable L. Brooks, Postmaster
Bunney 1919 1954 30-13N-7E Mail to Black Oak
Cane Island 1892 1915 ?-14N-6E Was to be Hurdle; Mail to Lake City
Caraway 1916 11-13N-7E
Cash 1886 36-14N-1E
Claunch 1891 1915 4-14N-6E Mail to Lake City
Credit 1896 1902 32-13N-1E Mail to Pills
Culberhouse 1887 35-13N-5E Changed to Bellefield, 1906
Dryden 1892 1922 20-14N-2E Was to be Homer; Mail to Cash
Dwight 1899 Changed to Black Oak, 1902; Named for Dwight H. Hall, Postmaster
Egypt 1888 c1978 35-15N-1E From Lawrence County, 1889
Elen See Apt
Fifty-six See Bradman
Gilkerson/Gilkeson 1884 1932 31-14N-3E Mail to Jonesboro
Greensborough/Greenboro 1850 1906 2-15N-4E From Green County, 1867
Gubertown 1884 1904 5-15N-5E Mail to Brookland
Hancock 1894 1911 33-14N-7E Mail to Monette
Hasbrook 1900 1900 9-14N-3E
Herman 1926 35-13N-5E Changed from Bellefield; Mail to Truman
Herndon 1859 1906 2-15N-3E From Green County, 1897; Mail to Jonesboro
Homer See Dryden
Hurdle See Cane Island
Joneboro/Jonesborough 1859 18-14N-4E Changed from Lockbee, 1859; From Poinsett County, 1859
Lake City 17-14N-6E Changed from Sunk Land, 1886
Lanieve 1931 1-15N-2E Changed from Bethena, 1917; Local name, Pauls; Mail to Bono
Lester 1879 1881
Lockbee 1854 From Poinsett County, 1859; Changed to Jonesboro, 1859
Lunsford 1892 1933 18-13N-6E Mail to Lake City
Lyons See Delfore
Macey 1883 1909 9-15N-7E Mail to Monette
Mamel 1879 1879 15-13N-7E
Mangrum 1890 1916 36-14N-7E Mail to Monette
Mangrum's/Mangrum's Landing 1880 1885 6-13N-7E Named for Isaac N. Mangrum, Postmaster; Mail to Sunk Land
Monette 33-15N-7E Changed from Stottsville, 1898
Morris 1889 1890 3-15N-6E Mail to Bethel
Needham 1903 1912 27-14N-5E Named for Andrew W. Needham, Postmaster; Mail to Nettleton
Nettleton 1884 1952 27-14N-4E Mail to Jonesboro
O'Bear 1893 35-13N-2E Changed from Seymour, 1891; Mail to Gilkeson
Oak Ridge 1848 1866 From Green County, 1859
Obear 1897 35-13N-2E Changed to Otwell, 1915; See Wardsdale
Otwell 1959 25-13N-2E Changed from Obear, 1915; Mail to Jonesboro
Pauls See Bethena and Lanieve
Perkin 1903 1914 25-14N-5E Mail to Lake City
Petra 1859 1866 From Green County, 1859
Popular Ridge 1909 1911 13-14N-6E Mail to Black Oak
Powell 1879 1881 29-15N-5E
Risher 1906 1920 22-13N-1E Mail to Cash
Santa Fe 1851 1866 From Poinsett County, 1859
Seymour 1891 35-13N-2E Changed to O'Bear, 1892
State College 1925 1975 17-14N-4E Changed to State University, 1967
State University Changed from State College, 1967
Stottsville 33-15N-7E Named for Arnold Stotts, Postmaster; Changed to Monette, 1898
Sunk Land 1878 27-14N-6E Changed to Lake City, 1886
Waco 1914 1916 15-13N-7E Mail to Leachville
Wardsdale 1886 1891 35-13N-2E Named for Robert Ward, Postmaster; Was to be Obear; Mail to Gilkdson