Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Atlanta 1870 1954 35-18S-19W Mail to Emerson
Bearcreek 1852 1855 From Lafayette County, 1853
Bell's Store Named for William H. Bell, Postmaster; From Ouachita County, 1867; To Nevada County, 1871
Bells See Noxube
Big Hickory 1892 1907 17-17S-18W
Box 1890 1890 15-17S-22W Was to be Box Springs; Mail to Magnolia
Box Springs See Box
Brister 1877 1918 28-18S-20W Mail to Emerson
Buckner 1883 To Lafayette County, 1891
Bussey 1910 1952 26-18S-23W Named for Jodie H. Bussey; Mail to McKamie
Calhoun 1849 1904 35-17S-20W From Lafayette County 1853; Mail to Magnolia
Carolina 1860 1861
Chalybeate Springs 1860 1860
College Hill 1873 1912 29-15S-20W Mail to McNeal
Corney See Nalls
Cotton Belt 1889 1896 15-16S-21W Mail to Waldo
Cotton Belt City See Lamartine
Cypress Fork 1878 1905 36-19S-21W Mail to Emerson
Davis 1883 1884 14-16S-22W See Lumber; Mail to Waldo
DeSoto 1902 1904 14-18S-22W Mail to Magnolia
Dickson 1900 1904 2-17S-22W Named for Charles T. Dickson; Was to be Dixon or Dixonville
Dixon/Dixonville See Dickson
Dorcheate 1851 1875 8-18S-22W From Lafayette, 1853
Eden 1872 1892 16-19S-20W Mail to Brister
Emerson 1898 9-19S-20W
Experiment 1928 36-17S-23W Changed from Wise, 1907; Mail to Bussey
Falcon 1852 From Lafayette County, 1853; To Nevada County, 1871
Hicksville 1858 1867
Hobson's Store Changed from Leakes Store, 1859; For William N. Hobson, Postmaster; Changed back to Leakes Store, 1859
Horsehead 1884 1906 8-19N-21W Mail to Emerson
Keifer 1904 1906 4-15S-21W Mail to Davidson
Kerlin 1903 1932 7-18S-20W Named for John Kerlin, Postmaster; Mail to Magnolia
Laireville 1856 1857
Lamartine 1851 33-15S-21W From Ouachita County, 1868; Changed to Waldo, 1884; Was to be Cotton Belt City
Laughlin 1891 1904 21-16S-19W Named for Rufus G. Laughlin, Postmaster; Mail to Stephens
Leakes Store 1848 1867 Changed to Hobson's Store, 1859; Changed back, 1859
Liddesdale 1853 1884 19-16S-19W From Lafayette County, 1853; Mail to Magnolia
Lumber 1891 1907 14-16S-22W Was to be Davis for Virgie M. Davis, Postmaster
Macedonia 1888 1909 17-18N-21W Mail to Magnolia
Magnesia Springs/Magnesia 1898 1903 16-16S-20W Mail to McNeal
Magnolia 1854 13-17S-21W
Marion See Troy
Marr 1892 1895 22-15S-21W Was to be Witt; Mail to Waldo
Marysville 1860 1866
McLure 1899 1901 14-15S-22W Named for B. F. McLure, Postmaster; Mail to Stockton
McNeal 1883 18-16S-20W
Millville 1856 1856
Milner 1886 1928 2-16S-20W Named for Milner Family; Mail to McNeil
Mohawk 1910 1913 21-19S-20W Mail to Emerson
Moulton 1905 25-18S-22W Changed from Payne, 1884; Mail to Magnolia
Nalls 1880 35-17S-19W Named for Nall Family; Was to be Courney; Changed to Village
Naylor 1899 1899
Noxube 1897 1904 19-18S-19W Was to be Bells; Mail to Brister
Oak Grove 1852 1853 From Hempstead County, 1852
Palestine 1856 1970 16-19S-20W
Payne 1883 1888 25-18S-22W Named for Lycurgus W. Payne, Postmaster; Mail to Moulton, 1888
Pickler 1884 1898 19-19S-22W Named for Pickler Family; Mail to Welcome
Plainfield 1884 1905 6-20S-21W Was to be Western; Mail to Emerson
Richland 1878 Changed to Stephens, 1883
Rome See Wise
Sharman 1879 1906 20-18S-22W Mail to Wise
Smithland 1860 1879 28-17S-22W Named for Nathan F. Smith, Postmaster
Snipe 1893 1904 23-16S-19W Mail to Stephens
Spotville 1888 1907 6-18S-19W Mail to Village
State Line 1870 1890 2-20S-20W Mail to Eden
Stephens Changed from Richland, 1883; To Ouachita County, 1883
Sulphur Springs 1855 1866
Taylor 1898 14-19S-23W Named for Albert W. Taylor, Postmaster
Troy 1887 1890 11-15S-20W Was to be Marion; Mail to Seminary
Unity 1888 1889 19-15S-21W Mail to Waldo
Village 1927 14-17S-19W Changed from Nalls, 1888; Mail to Magnolia
Village Creek 1860 1866
Waldo 17-16S-21W Changed from Lamartine, 1884
Walkers 1869 1872 5-16S-20W
Ware 1885 1906 3-19S-19W Named for William W. Ware, Postmaster; Mail to Hayesville
Welcome 1886 1911 11-20S-23W Mail to Taylor
Western See Plainfield
Wharton 1885 1886 Mail to Atlanta
Wise 1890 Was to be Rome; Changed to Experiment, 1907
Witt See Marr