Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Acie 1910 1911 8-9S-9W Mail to Lehigh
Advir See Cook
Alcandra 1879 1883 13-9S-10W Mail to Toledo
Annover 1876 1921 12-11S-9W Was to be named Aurora; Mail to Rye
Arkatha See Kingsland
Audley 1887 1902 16-8S-11W Was to be named Niven, Lota, Lauton or Opal; Mail to Clio
Banksville See Peace
Bleeker 1919 12-8S-13W Name changed from Cook, 1902; Mail to Bunn
Boyle 1882 1883 12-10S-12W Was to be named Weldon; Mail to Cohasset
Bradley 1868 23-10S-9W From Lincoln County, 1873; Name changed to Pansey, 1881
Cabool 1905 1914 18-8S-10W Mail to Kedron
Calmer 1890 1910 16-9S-9W Mail to Rowell
Carl See Rye
Chester See Pinchback's Mills
Clio 1889 1918 24-8S-11W Was to be named Owen; Mail to Rison
Cohassett 1883 Name changed to Kingsland, 1883
Colin 1900 1901 32-10S-11W Was to be named Sival; Mail to Kingsland
Como 1855 1914 36-9S-13W From Dallas County, 1873; Mail to Kingsland
Cook 1885 Was to be named Advir; Name changed to Sleeker, 1902
Creswell 1871 1877 23-11S-9W From Bradley County, 1873
Croak 1918 3-9S-12W Changed from Graywood, 1893; Was to be Grover; Mail to Bleeker
Crook See Herbine
Crowder 1893 1898 17-8S-13W Mail to Croak
Dialion 1920 1926 16-8S-10W Named for John M. Dial Postmaster; Was to be Lehigh; Mail to Kedron
Dranghon 1893 1926 5-10S-11W Named for Henry C. Dranghon, Postmaster; Mail to Kingsland
Eagle Creek 1850 1876 14-115-114 From Bradley County, 1873
Eunice 1914 1916 11-8S-9W Was to be named Nelson; Mail to Pine Bluff
Fye See Knox
Graywood 1885 Named from William Gray Postmaster; Changed to Croak, 1893
Graywood 1901 1903 3-9S-12W Mail to Croak
Grover See Croak
Gum Springs 1878 1887 Mail to Rison
Herbine 1906 1953 17-10S-9W Was to be named Crook; Mail to Rison
Hurricane See Pansey
Iota See Audley
Kedron 1884 1954 8-8S-10W Mail to Rison
Kingsland 12-10S-12W Name changed from Cohasset, 1883; Was to be named Arkatha
Knox 1895 1895 27-9S-11W Was to be named Ripley or Fye; Mail to Dranghon
Lauton See Audley
Lehi 1850 1883 28-8S-10W From Jefferson County, 1873; Mail to Toledo
Lehigh 1892 1916 27-8S-10W Was to be named Littles Mill; Mail to Kedron; See Dialion
Littles Mill See Lehigh
Locust Cottage 1849 1924 From Jefferson County, 1905; Back to Jefferson County, 1907
Macks 1880 1882 34-9S-9W Was to be named St. Johns; Mail to Bradley
Marks See Sive
Mason 1901 1923 1-11S-11W Mail to New Edenburg
McKinney 1887 1922 30-10S-9W Named for Norman A. McKinney, Postmaster; Mail to Herbine
Mount Elba/Mt. Elba 1847 32-9S-10W From Bradley County, 1873; Name changed to Ripley, 1891
Nelson See Eunice
New Edenburgh/New Edenburg 1876 16-11S-11W
Niven See Audley
Opal See Audley
Orlando 1884 1914 33-11S-10W Was to be named Wynnton
Owen See Clio
Pansey 1911 23-10S-9W Was to be Hurricane; Changed from Bradley, 1881
Peace 1919 1931 24-8S-11W Was to be named Banksville; Mail to Rison
Pinchback's Mills 1876 1893 6-8S-13W Named for Jane Pinchback, Postmistress; Was to be named Chester
Pleasant Ridge 1872 From Lincoln County, 1873; Name changed to Toledo, 1873
Poole 1906 1913 27-9S-11W Mail to Rison
Randell 1868 1915 17-8S-9W From Jefferson County 1873; Mail to Kedron
Ripley 1915 4-10S-10W Name changed from Mount Elba, 1891; Mail to McKinney
Ripley See Knox
Rison 1883 1-9S-11W
Rowell 1884 1954 34-9S-9W Named for Willaim S. Rowell, Postmaster; Mail to Rison
Rye 1904 1953 24-11S-9W Was to be named Carl; Mail to Warren
Scobey 1900 1913 25-11S-10W Named for John P. Scobey, Postmaster; Mail to Orlando
Siva 1900 1901 27-10S-11W Was to be named Marks; See Colin
Sneed 1903 1914 26-10S-11W
St. John See Mackville
St. John 1868 1879 34-9S-9W From Bradley County, 1873
Staves 1892 1917 13-8S-12W Mail to Rison
Tipton 1905 1914 12-11S-12W Named for William F. Tipton, Postmaster
Toledo 1913 17-9S-10W Name changed from Pleasant Ridge, 1873; From Lincoln County, 1873
Tolsonville 1902 14-9S-13W Name changed to Trigg, 1904
Trigg 1914 1-9S-13W Name changed from Tolsonville, 1904; Mail to Kingsland
Unionsville 1908 1914 36-8S-11W Mail to Rison
Weldon See Boyle
White Oak/Whiteoak 1848 1906 7-8S-11W From Jefferson County, 1873; Mail to Staves
Wynnton See Orlando