Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alpine 1849 17-6S-22W
Amity 1848 34-5S-23W
Amos 1881 1883 10-9S-21W Was to be named Victory; Mail to Dobyville
Antoin/Antoine 23-8S-23W Changed from Wolf Creek, 1838; To Pike County; To Clark County, 1866; Back to Pike County, 1877
Anvill 1850 Name changed to Hollywood, 1860
Arkadelphia 1843 20-7S-19W
Ashton 1886 1891 15-10S-20W
Atlee 1907 1925 33-6S-22W Mail to Graysonia
Bee 1902 1906 20-10S-19W Mail to Whelen Springs
Beech Creek 1852 1866
Beirne 12-10S-21W Name changed from York, 1880; Named for James L. Beirne
Big See Elm
Boswell 1897 1912 18-8S-21W Named for Charles K. Boswell; Mail to Okolona
Bradnord See Bradshaw
Bradshaw 1892 1904 7-8S-20W Was to be named Bradnord; Mail to Arkadelphia
Britts 1901 1903 16-10S-21W Mail to Beirne
Brushey See Sodom
Brushy See Fendley
Burtsel 1902 1907 18-9S-21W
Caddo Narrows 1842 1845
Carl See Conrad and Gum Springs
Cherry 1906 1910 28-5S-22W Named for Lezzie Cherry, Postmistress; Mail to Amity
Clark Courthous 1830 Name changed to Greenville, 1838
Clear Springs 1856 1911 8-8S-22W Mail to Okolona
Conrad 1902 1903 20-6S-19W Was to be named Carl; Mail to Arkadelphia
Crittenden 1846 Name changed from Greenville, 1843
Curtis 1874 36-8S-20W
Daleville 1889 1904 16-7S-19W Mail to Arkadelphia
De Gray/Degray 1856 1906 4-7S-20W Mail to Arkadelphia
Dobyville 1879 1914 28-8S-21W Mail to Okolona
Dove Hill See Dove Park
Dove Park 1881 1885 13-7S-18W Was to be named Dove Hill; Mail to Witherspoon
Ellis 1904 1918 15-9S-19W Mail to Curtis
Elm 1889 1914 6-5S-22W Was to be named Big; Mail to Amity
Fendley 1910 1939 10-6S-22W Was to be Brushey; Named for Thos. M. Fendley, Postmaster; Mail to Amity
Geona 1854 1866
Graysonia 1907 1950 22-7S-23W Mail to Alpine
Greenville Name changed from Clark Courthouse, 1838; To Crittenden
Gumsprings/Gum Springs 1889 1922 1-8S-20W Was to be named Carl or Terrell
Gurdon 28-9S-20W Name changed from Tate, 1876
Halfway/Half Way 1884 1916 35-7S-22W Mail to Okolona
Hearn 1884 1908 8-7S-20W
Hebron 1889 1923 25-9S-19W Mail to Curtis
Hickory Grove 1857 1866
High Springs 1870 1873 6-11S-19W
Highway 1853 1866
Hollywood 1954 28-7S-21W Changed from Anvil, 1860; To Spoonville, 1871; Back to Hollywood
Joan 1886 1925 16-7S-18W Mail to Arkadelphia
Key See Thrace
Keyton 1891 1914 11-9S-21W Named for Robert B. F. Key, Postmaster; Mail to Okolona
Ky 1886 1886
Leard 1883 1912 1-7S-22W Named for Dickerson Leard, Postmaster; Mail to Atlee
Lenox 1900 1936 8-6S-21W Mail to Fendley
Long 1900 1903 35-6S-21W Mail to Hearn
Manchester 1880 1903 23-8S-18W Mail to Dalark
Marbury 1884 1884 1-8S-20W Mail to Arkadelphia
McLain 1886 1887 18-9S-21W Mail to Okolona
McNeely's Ridge 1857 1873 13-10S-21W
Missouri 1846 1847
Native 1897 1900 19-9S-21W Was to be named Rome; Mail to Okolona
Okolona 1858 34-8S-22W
Point Cedar 1852 1959 From Hot Spring County, 1852; To Hot Spring County, 1884
Raymond 1835 1850
Rock Creek 1868 1908 To Pike County, 1873
Rome 1851 1885 19-9S-21W See Native; Mail to Beirne
Rossville 1854 Named for Thomas A. Ross, Postmaster; Name changed to Springvale, 1856
Ruhland 1909 1909 23-7S-1SW Named for G. H. Ruhland, Postmaster; Mail to Arkadelphia
Shawmut 1892 1949 See Pike County
Sloan 1893 1894 18-8S-19W Mail to Gum Springs
Smithton 1883 1955 22-9S-20W Mail to Gurdon
Sodom 1919 1923 4-6S-21W Was to be named Brushey
Spoonville Name changed from Hollywood, 1871; Back to Hollywood, 1877
Springvale 1867 Name changed from Rossville, 1856
Stroop 1886 1886
Tate's Bluff 1855 1856 To Ouachita County, 1856
Terre Noir 1846 1866
Terrell See Gum Springs
Thrace 1884 1906 21-10S-19W Was to be named Key; Mail to Whelen Springs
Vaden 1888 1935 10-10S-18W Named for Walter P.Vaden, Postmaster; Mail to Arkadelphia
Vei 1854 1858
Victry See Amos
Whelen Springs 1882 35-10S-20W
Wolf Creek 1821 Name changed to Antoin, 1838
York 1880 Name changed to Beirne, 1880