Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Ashley 1846 1852
Beaver Ferry/Beaver 1879 1880 20-21N-26W Named for Walson A. Beaver, Postmaster
Beech See Cabaral
Bellefonte Changed from Mount Pleasant, 1871; In Boone County
Berryville 1852 30-20N-24W
Blue Springs 1876 1876
Blythes 1836 1837 1838 Named for John Blythe, Postmaster
Bobo See Hati
Busch 1905 26-21N-22W Was to be Walden
Cabanal 1898 1955 28-19N-24W Was to be Beech; Mail to Berryville
Caput 1897 1898 9-19N-28W Mail to Eureka Springs
Carrollton 1922 33-19N-22W Changed from Liberty, 1834; Mail to Alpena Pass
Cave See Metalton
Cedarvale See Lucky Gap
Cisco 1903 1949 23-20N-24W Was to be Waco; Mail to Green Forest
Coin 1891 1944 23-20N-24W Was to be Russelley Store; See Markley; Mail to Green Forest
Conner 1904 1967 9-18N-23W Was to be Roberts or Davis; Mail to Rule
Crooked Creek 1836 Changed to Harrison, 1870
Davis See Conner
Denver 1884 1974 9-20N-22W
Dry Fork 1874 1948 11-17N-24W Mail to Marble
Elk Ranch 1909 1955 28-21N-26W Mail to Eureka Springs
Ellis See Viburnum
Elmwood 1856 1911 To Boone County, 1869
Enon 1901 1955 22-21N-22W Was to be Silver City; Mail to Green Forest
Eureka Springs 1879 16-20N-26W
Fairview See Osage
Fred See High
Gaskin See Whitcomb
Genseng 1901 1901
Glen 1891 1900 13-19N-25W Mail to Berryville
Grandview 1901 1982 32-21N-25W
Green Forest 1855 4-19N-23W
Harrington 1901 1905 Was to be Hudson; Mail to Grandview
Harrison Changed from Crooked Creek, 1870; In Boone County
Hati 1887 1888 12-20N-24W Was to be Bobo; Mail to Yocum
High 1907 1942 22-21N-24W Named for Fred High, Postmaster; Was to be Fred; Mail to Berryville
Hottentot 1890 18-19N-22W Changed to Hugh, 1899; Was to be Wise
Hudson See Harrington
Hugh 1906 18-19N-23W Changed to Hottentot, 1899; For Maggie E. Hughes, Postmistress
Hussaw 1848 Changed to Mount Pleasant, 1852
Indian Creek 1876 1893 34-21N-24W Mail to Berryville
Jacksonburgh 1873 1883 32-21N-25W For William F. Jackson; Mail to Eureka Springs
Jesse 1936 1948 18-17N-22W Mail to Osage
Kings River 1833 1867
Kingsley 1905 1916 35-18N-22W From Boone County, 1915; Mail to Delmar
Kirtley 1880 1881 15-20N-25W Was to be Walkerville
Lane 1904 1904
Leach 1889 1889 26-21N-26W Named for William Leach, Postmaster; Mail to Snow Lake
Little Star 1879 1888 13-20N-23W Mail to Yocum
Lucky Gap 1916 1917 10-19N-24W Was to be Cedervale; Mail to Berryville
Maple 1889 1925 2-20N-24W Mail to Urbanette
Markley 1906 6-19N-22W Changed to Coin, 1911
Metalton 1898 1957 15-18N-24W Was to be Cave, Nickle, or Rock; Mail to Berryville
Mount Pleasant Changed from Hussaw, 1852; Changed to Bellefonte, 1871 in Boone County
Mount Prairie 1837 1837
Mountain Springs 1856 1873
Mundell 1885 1955 10-19N-27W For William A. Mundell, Postmaster; To Benton County, 1896; From Benton County, 1898; Mail to Eureka Springs
Nickle See Metalton
Nunnally 1879 1881 32-20N-22W
Nyssa 1914 1914
Oak Grove/Oakgrove 1871 1979 28-21N-23W
Oak Hill 1874 1919 24-21N-26W Mail to Eureka Springs
Olivet 1891 1900 10-19N-25W Was to be Potterville; Mail to Berryville
Omega 1889 1912 30-18N-24W Mail to Marble
Osage 1848 1975 26-18N-23W Local name, Fairview
Piney 1873 15-18N-24W Changed to Rudd, 1892
Polk 1860 1866
Polo 1873 1906 20-21N-24W Mail to Urbanette
Potterville See Olivet
Ramey 1878 1879 36-20N-27W
Raum 1892 1932 20-21N-22W Mail to Enon
Roberts See Conner
Rock See Metalton
Rollings Prairie 1843 1871 From Marion County, 1867
Rudd 1957 18-18N-24W Changed from Piney, 1892; Mail to Conner
Rule 1874 1984 32-19N-23W
Russelley Store See Coin
Silver City See Enon
Springtown 1877 1879 13-19N-27W
Tarkiln 1915 1926 25-18N-25W Mail to Marble
Thompsonville 1868 1874 9-20N-25W Was to be Walnut Grove
True 1892 1892
Urbanette 1902 1971 4-20N-24W Mail to Berryville
Vanhook 1909 1910 9-19N-27W Mail to Mundell
Viburnum 1906 1916 23-19N-25W Was to be Ellis; Mail to Berryville
Vilas 1888 1888 21-21N-25W Was to be White Elm; Mail to Oakhill
Vol 1893 1894
Waco See Cisco
Walden See Busch
Walkerville See Kirtley
Walnut Grove See Thompsonville
Whitcomb 1886 1888 33-21N-26W Was to be Gaskin; Mail to Eureka Springs
White Elm See Vilas
Winona Springs 1881 1905 6-19N-25W Mail to Rockhouse
Wise See Hottentot
Wolfpen 1909 1919 18-18N-24W Mail to Berryville
Yocum 1882 1907 3-20N-23W Mail to Green Forest