Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Adine 1898 1917 7-15S-12W Was to be named Locke; Mail to Harrell
Aetna See Eye
Artesian 1909 1925 20-15S-13W Mail to Calion
Bab 1896 Name changed to Ellisville, 1909
Benson 1893 1919 9-13S-13W Mail to Hampton
Big Hill 1873 1881 22-12S-13W
Blaylock 1904 1913 22-12S-13W Was to be named King; Mail to Tinsman
Bunn See Dob
Camp Mc See Rolyat
Chambersville 1867 1912 22-11S-13W From Dallas County, 1867; Mail to Ellisville
Champagnolle 1846 1918 From Union County, 1870; Back to Union County after 1870
Covington 1886 1891 13-14S-15W Named for Chandler T. Covington, Postmaster; Mail to Locust Bayou
Creola 1904 1904 12-16S-13W Mail to Adine
Dob 1889 1909 29-12S-12W Was to be named Bunn; Mail to Tinsman
Dunn See Eye
Ellisville 1945 6-12S-12W Changed from Bab, 1909; Was to be Marks; Mail to Thornton
Eye 1888 1896 9-13S-14W Was to be named Aetna or Dunn; Mail to Woodberry
Gardner 1887 1887 Named for John Gardner, Postmaster
Hampton 1852 6-14S-13W
Harbour 1886 1904 4-13S-15W Was to be Supply; Named for John H.S. Harbor, Postmaster
Harlow 1886 1916 20-11S-14W
Harrell 12-14S-13W Name changed from Rolyat, 1908
Hill 1893 1907 13-13S-13W Mail to Summerville
Hopeville 1877 1895 7-14S-14W Mail to Thornton
King See Blaylock
Little Bay 1852 1907 11-11S-14W Mail to Harlow
Locke See Adine
Locust Bayou 1849 1924 25-13S-16W From Ouachita County, 1850; Mail to Bearden
Lux 1894 1894
Marks See Bab
Norman 1890 1891 35-12S-13W Mail to Dob
Nutt 1892 1899 18-12S-13W Named for Thomas P. Nutt, Postmaster; Mail to Benson
Post Oak 1860 1872 27-13S-15W
Raiford 1891 1911 30-14S-14W Named for James W. Raiford, Postmaster; Mail to Hampton
Rolyat 1906 12-14S-13W Was to be named Camp Mc; Changed to Harrell, 1908
Shamrock 1886 1903 36-14S-14W Mail to Raiford
Smead 1892 1924 11-13S-15W Mail to Bearden
Summerville 1859 1913 5-14S-12W Named for W. B. Summer Postmaster.; Mail to Tinsman
Supply See Harbour
Thomas' Store 1858 1867 Named for William A. Thomas, Postmaster
Thornton 1883 12-11S-14W
Tinsman 1906 1975 33-12S-12W
Woodberry 1894 1954 23-13S-14W Mail to Tinsman