Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alpena/Alpena Pass 23-19N-22W Changed from Estes, 1901
Batavia 1883 1955 33-19N-21W Mail to Harrison
Bellefonte 1965 19-18N-19W Changed from Mount Pleasant, 1971; Mail to Harrison
Bergman 1905 9-19N-19W Named for Edith O.V. Bergman, Postmistress; Changed to Clabbey, 1905; Back to Bergman, 1907; Local name, Bergman Station
Bergman Station See Bergman
Boone 1869 1908 23-21N-19W Mail to Lowry
Burlington 1871 1878 17-20N-21W
Burlington 1919 17-20N-21W Changed from Pruitt, 1906; Mail to Alpena Pass
Capps 1901 1955 2-18N-21W Was to have been Holt, Parker or Tims; Mail to Harrison
Centreville See Lead Hill
Clabbey/Clabby 9-19N-19W Changed from Bergman, 1905; Was to be Oregon; To Bergman, 1907
Clear Creek 1855 1888 From Marion County, 1875; Back to Marion County, 1888
Cress Springs 1919 1924 14-21N-22W Mail to Omaha
Crest 1906 1906
Crooked Creek 1836 9-18N-20W Changed to Harrison, 1870
Double Springs See Rolling Prairie and Valley Springs
Dugger/Dugger Mills 1878 From Searcy County, 1881; Back to Searcy County, 1900
Edwards 1906 1906
Elixir 1880 1897 36-20N-19W Mail to Keener
Elmwood/Elm Wood 1856 1911 11-17N-21W From Carroll County, 1869; Mail to Harrison
Enon 1884 11-18N-19W Changed to Pedlo, 1887
Estes 1901 23-19N-22W Changed to Alpena Pass, 1901
Everton 1902 5-17N-18W
Francis 1884 1919 14-19N-21W Was to have been Williams; Mail to Harrison
Gaither 1891 1909 12-17N-21W Mail to Hill Top
Harrison 9-18N-20W Changed from Crooked Creek, 1870
Hill Top/Hilltop 1879 1955 7-17N-21W Was to be named Summit Springs; Mail to Harrison
Holt See Capps
Hussaw 1848 Changed to Mount Pleasant, 1852
Keener 1895 1910 10-19N-19W Mail to Bergman
Kingsley 1905 1916 To Carroll County, 1915
Lead Hill 1857 4-20N-18W Was to be Sugar Loaf; See Centreville; From Marion County, 1869
Lickbranch 1897 1907 5-19N-21W Mail to Alpena Pass
Linton 1900 1901 26-18N-20W Mail to Harrison
Lowry 1889 1952 36-21N-20W Mail to Harrison
Mallard 1893 1902 32-18N-18W Mail to Everton
Mount Pleasant 30-18N-19W From Hussaw, 1852; From Carroll County, 1869; To Bellefonte, 1871
Mountain Springs 1856 1877 2-18N-21W From Carroll County, 1869
Myrtle 1889 1951 27-20N-20W Was to be named Tanner; Mail to Harrison
Olvey 1955 11-18N-19W Changed from Pedlo, 1904; Mail to Harrison
Omaha 1873 27-21N-21W
Oregon 1879 1896 8-19N-19W See Clabbey; Mail to Keener
Ottawa 1897 1898
Parker See Capps
Pedlo 23-18N-19W Changed from Enon, 1887; Changed to Olvey, 1904
Pleasant Ridge 1879 1918 9-18N-18W Mail to Olvey
Price See Prosperity
Prosperity 1906 1939 3-19N-21W Was to be named Price; Mail to Harrison
Pruitt 1900 1980 20-21N-21W Named from Joseph H. Pruitt, Postmaster; Changed to Burlington, 1906
Rally Hill 1870 1902 36-18N-19W Mail to Valley Springs
Rolling Prairie 1843 3-17N-19W Local Double Springs; From Carroll County 1869; To Valley Springs
Romans See Roscoe
Roscoe 1886 1896 2-19N-22W Was to be Roman or Sidney
Self 1893 1952 10-20N-20W Mail to Harrison
Shaver 1888 1920 25-20N-22W Mail to Alpena
Sidney See Roscoe
Sugar Loaf See Lead Hill
Summit Springs See Hill Top
Sycamore 1890 1910 26-21N-19W Mail to Willis
Tanner See Myrtle
Tims See Capps
Tunnel 1906 1906
Valley Springs 3-17N-19W Changed from Rolling Prairie, 1874; Local name, Double Springs
Vinehill 1889 1890 1-17N-21W Mail to Elmwood
Vinington 1901 1910 29-20N-18W Mail to Lead Hill
Watkins 1887 1905 12-17N-20W Mail to Harrison
Williams See Francis
Willis 1900 1916 15-20N-19W Mail to Bergman
Zeigler/Zeigler Mill 1883 1890 4-20N-21W Named for William R. Zeigler, Postmaster; Mail to Omaha
Zinc 1900 1975 20-19N-18W