Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Adams See Covey
Advance 1905 1953 32-18N-13W Was to be Helvy; Mail to Lone Rock
Ai See Amos
Alliance 1892 1896 20-19N-20W Mail to Mountain Home
Amos 1884 1938 35-20N-15W Was to be named Ai; Mail to Gassville
Arkana 1921 1941 12-18N-13W Mail to Mountain Home
Arnett See Custer
Bagdad 1884 1887 9-20N-13W Mail to Mountain Home
Barber See Old Joe
Beall 1883 1897 16-21N-11W Mail to Bakerfield
Beans Ford 1906 1907 22-21N-12W Mail to Gamaliel
Bennetts 1881 1913 31-21N-11W Mail to Gamaliel
Bennetts Bayou 1848 1876 30-21N-11W From Fulton County, 1873
Benville 1900 1914 27-20N-14W Mail to Mountain Home
Berry 1938 13-17N-12W Changed from Vero, 1914; Was to be Kirby; Mail to Chastain
Big Flat/Bigflat 1854 30-16N-13W From Searcy County, 1873
Big North Fork 1871 From Fulton County, 1873; Changed to Glenwood, 1879
Big Pond 1858 1879 25-19N-13W From Marion County, 1873; See Ethan
Brookland/Brooklyn 1880 1881 20-18N-12W
Buffalo 1928 1955 1-18N-14W From Marion County, 1928; Mail to Mountain Home
Buffalo City 1848 1896
Buford 1879 1955 9-18N-13W Mail to Mountain Home
Cartney 1947 28-18N-13W Changed from Hayney, 1918; Mail to Buford
Casteel 1906 1930 34-17N-12W Was to be Cate; Mail to Culp
Cate See Casteel
Chastian 1923 1944 3-17N-12W Was to be Matthews; Mail to Norfork
City Rock 1888 1888
Clarkridge/Clark Ridge 1925 23-21N-13W
Connville/Conville 1919 1925 1-18N-14W Mail to Buffalo
Cotter 1903 1-18N-15W
Covey 1915 1924 4-18N-11W Was to be Adams; Mail to Rodney
Culp 1891 1964 24-17N-12W Was to be Table Rock
Cumi 1907 1953 8-20N-11W Mail to Henderson
Custer 1908 1942 11-20N-12W Was to be Arnett; Mail to Gamaliel
Devero 1902 21-18N-12W Was to be Southdale or Jerico; Changed to Norfork, 1906
Diamond See Field
Egypt 1874 1876 3-18N-12W
Eller 22-18N-13W Changed from Lone Rock to Revoke, 1886; Back to Lone Rock, 1889
Ellis 1941 1953 3-18N-12W Local name, Spencer; Mail to Mountain Home
Ethan 1913 1914 19-19N-12W See Big Pond; Mail to Mountain Home
Field 1914 1917 6-19N-11W Was to be Diamond; Mail to Hand
Fitzgerald 1900 1900
Gaitherville 1881 1886 2-17N-13W Mail to Lone Rock
Gamaliel 1896 15-21N-12W
Gassville 1878 28-19N-14W
Glenwood/Glennwood 27-20N-12W Changed from Big North Fork, 1871; Changed to Henderson, 1880
Hand 1909 1942 12-18N-10W Mail to Elizabeth
Haney/Haney's Siding See Segal
Hayney 22-18N-13W Changed from Shipps Ferry, 1905; Changed to Cartney, 1918
Helvy See Advance
Henderson 27-20N-12W Changed from Glenwood, 1880; Was to be named Delta
Herron See Wolf
Hobo See Old Joe
Hopewell 1897 Changed to Old Joe, 1936
Independence 1888 1908 15-19N-14W Mail to Gassville
Iuka 1876 1956 To Izard County, 1887
Jerico See Devero
Jonesdale 1894 1896 3-16N-13W Mail to Bigflat
Jordan 1935 17-18N-11W
Korgan See Pembina
Lakeview 1949 35-20N-15W
Lance 1889 1890
Lankford 1897 1897
Laytonville 1912 1938 Was to be Lone Pine; Mail to Buford
Lone Pine See Laytonville
Lone Rock/Lonerock 1879 1957 27-18N-13W Changed to Eller, 1886; Changed back, 1889; Mail to Norfork
Matthews See Chaistain
McPhearson 1939 33-18N-12W Changed from Morton, 1888; Mail to Culp
Midway 1948 22-20N-14W
Morton 1888 5-17N-12W Changed to McPhearson, 1888
Mountain Home/Mt. Home 1861 9-19N-13W From Marion County, 1873
Nat See Pembina
Norfolk 20-18N-12W Changed from Devero, 1906
North Fork/NorthFork 1889 1892 10-18N-12W Mail to Mountain Home; See Old Joe
Old Joe 1961 26-18N-12W Changed from Hopewell, 1936; Was to be North Fork, Barber, Hobo
Olney 1872 1873 23-20N-14W From Marion County, 1873; Back to Marion County, 1873
Pearl See Three Brothers
Pembina 1891 1901 27-20N-14W Was to be Morgan or Nat; Mail to Benville
Prestonia 1913 1915 20-21N-13W Mail to Mountain Home
Revoke See Eller
Rodney 1906 1976 9-18N-11W
Segal 1903 1906 28-18N-13W Was to be Haney or Haney's Siding; Mail to Sharps Ferry
Shipp 1909 1913 9-18N-13W Mail to Haney
Shipps Ferry 1902 22-18N-13W Name changed to Hayney, 1905
Sneed 1884 1884 3-17N-12W Mail to Gaitherville
Southdale See Devero
Spencer See Ellis
Table Rock 1854 1878 To Stone County, 1877; See Culp
Teas 1913 1913
Three Brothers 1953 11-20N-14W Changed from Vin, 1912; Was to be Pearl; Mail to Mountain Home
Tracy 1894 1914 20-19N-12W Mail to Norfork
Vero 1904 Name changed to Berry, 1914
Vin 1900 11-20N-14W Changed to Three Brothers, 1912
Wake 1890 1914 13-19N-12W Mail to Hand
Whitesville 1858 1879 27-19N-14W From Marion County, 1873
Winneva/Winnerva 1892 1911 26-18N-14W Mail to Buffalo
Wolf 1905 1912 4-17N-12W Mail to Norfork