Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Alpha 1874 1931 1-5N-22W Mail to Chickalah
Aly 1885 1955 20-2N-23W Was to be Milo; Mail to Onyx
Ard 1897 1900 26-6N-21W Mail to Dardanelle
Balloon 1879 1-4N-22W Changed to Plainview, 1907
Belleville 16-5N-23W Changed from Fergeson's Mill, 1886
Birta 1884 1953 4-4N-20W Mail to Ola
Blakely 1936 From Garland County, 1937; Back to Garland County, 1940
Bluffton 1854 17-3N-24W
Box Springs 1879 1886 19-6N-22W Mail to Fergerson's Mills
Bragg 1884 1896 29-4N-21W Was to be Newell or Watch; Mail to Jennings Falls
Briggsville 1879 11-3N-24W Local name, Whitley
Brizz 1908 1909 36-4N-21W Mail to Ola
Cedar 1894 1899 21-1N-23W Mail to Aly
Cedar Hill 1871 1876 6-5N-23W
Centerville 6-5N-20W Changed from Kenzie, 1889
Cherry Grove 1840 1847 9-5N-24W
Chickalah 1838 1953 24-6N-22W From Pope County, 1838; Was to be Sulphur Springs; Mail to Danville
Chula 1883 1963 27-2N-24W Mail to Plainview
Cotage Home See Epsy
Damon 1889 1891 3-4N-23W Mail to Danville
Danville 1823 25-5N-23W Name changed from Monrovia, 1842; From Pope County, 1871
Dardanelle 1823 32-7N-20W From Pope County, 1871
Dutche's Creek 1857 1874 17-4N-234
Emma 1901 1901 20-6N-22W Mail to Chicklah
Epsy 1891 1895 17-4N-23W Was to be Cottage Home; Mail to Danville
Fair Hill 1879 4-4N-23W Changed to Wing, 1888
Foraker 1900 1909 24-5N-22W Mail to Danville
Fowler 1896 1913 21-6N-19W Mail to Carden Bottom
Gardens/Garden Bottom 1874 1916 34-6N-19W Mail Casa
Geigersville 1878 1882 13-4N-24W Mail to Danville; See Shark
Gilkey 1879 1913 17-4N-22W Mail to Rover
Gravelly Hill/Gravelly 1855 29-3N-25W
Greenville 11-5N-24W Changed from Marvinville, 1900; To Havana, 1902
Grovey See Manning
Harkey 1899 1907 12-6N-23W For John Harkey, Postmaster; Mail to Chickalah
Hatch 1898 1898
Havana 11-5N-24W Changed from Greenville, 1902
Hightsville See Petit Jean
Hobart 1879 1921 11-6N-23 W To Logan County, 1883
Hopper Creek 1876 1876 10-3N-24W
Isabel 1897 1899
Jenning's Falls 1872 1914 35-4N-21W Mail to Plainview
Kenzie 1875 31-6N-20W For David McKenzie, Postmaster; Changed to Centerville, 1889
Lafore 1858 1860
Manning 1893 1902 31-5N-23W Mail to Danville
Marvinville 1871 4-5N-24W Changed to Greenville, 1900
Mason See Ruhland
Mennie See Mosley
Merritt 1901 1906 10-5N-20W For Sherrod H. Merritt, Postmaster; Mail to Dardanelle
Milan 1886 1894 33-6N-23W Mail to Marvinville
Milo See Aly
Monroiva 1832 Changed to Danville, 1842
Mosely 1892 1911 6-6N-21W For James O. Mosley, Postmaster; Was to be Mennie; Mail to Chickalah
Mount Nebo 1889 1938 29-7N-21W Mail to Dardanelle
Mounthomer 1895 1905 4-5N-21W Mail to Alpha
Neelly 1885 1906 26-6N-20W Mail to Dardanelle
Newell See Bragg
Oates 1881 1899 12-5N-24W For Thomas M. Oates, Postmaster; Mail to Marvinville
Ola 3-4N-21W Changed from Petitie Jean, 1880
Omega 1872 1888 7-5N-24W Mail to Marvinville
Onyx 1869 1958 5-2N-22W Mail to Steve
Oregon 1846 1850 17-3N-24W
Ottria 1896 1896
Parkersburg 1868 For George W. Parker, Postmaster; Changed from Springfield, 1851
Petite Jean/Petitejean 1848 3-4N-21W Local name, Hightsville; Changed to Ola, 1880
Pine Ridge See Fergerson's Mill
Plainview 24-4N-22W Changed from Balloon, 1907
Pleasant Valley 1849 1866
Pontoon 1892 1914 To Conway County, 1905
Prairie Creek 1849 1852
Prentice 1898 1899 22-2N-22W Was to be Yell; Mail to Clem
Ranger 1889 1912 4-5N-22W Mail to Belleville
Riley 1880 1911 19-5N-24W Mail to Havana
Rock Creek 1849 1866
Rover 1854 36-4N-23W
Rutland 1894 1902 7-4N-20W Was to be Mason
Scott See Theodore
Shark 1885 1926 13-4N-24W Local name, Geigersville; Mail to Danville
Southern Home 1879 1911 18-5N-25W
Springfield 1847 20-5N-23W From Scott County, 1847; Changed to Parkersburg, 1851
Stafford 1894 1935 27-6N-23W Mail to Belleville
Steve 1892 1973 5-2N-22W
Stillwater 1880 1927 19-1N-23W From Montgomery County, 1901; Mail to Onyx
Stovesmith 1915 1915 16-3N-25W Mail to Gravelly
Sulphur Springs See Chickalah
Theodore 1907 1911 32-5N-23W Was to be Scott; Mail to Danville
Walnut Tree 1857 24-4N-25W Changed to Waltreak, 1925
Waltreak 24-4N-25W Changed from Walnut Tree, 1925
Ward 1879 1881 3-3N-22W
Watch See Bragg
Waveland 1881 4-5N-25W
Whitely See Briggsville
Wing 4-3N-23W Changed from Fair Hill, 1888
Yell See Prentice