Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Amateur 1917 1923 28-16N-5W Was to be Pinecrest; Local name, Streets Sawmill
Armstrong 1885 1915 20-20N-3W Mail to Williford
Ash Flat 1856 10-18N-6W From Lawrence County, 1868
Balboa 1897 1918 9-16N-5W Was to be Ellen/Elen; Mail to Poughkeepsie
Ballard 1905 1955 7-18N-6W Was to be Calvin; Mail to Ash Flat
Bengay 1890 1923 26-16N-5W
Big Creek See Canton
Blanville 1882 1915 7-16N-5W Mail to Evening Shade
Calamine 1871 1967 22-16N-4W
Calvin See Ballard
Canton 1840 1920 19-19N-4W From Lawrence County, 1868; Local name, Big Creek; Mail to Hardy
Cave City 17-15N-5W Changed from Loyal, 1892
Cedar Grove See Loyal
Center 1878 1955 4-17N-5W Mail to Hardy
Clarkson 1899 1911 10-15N-6W Mail to Cave City
Coats 1888 1909 27-20N-4W Named for Caroline H. Coats, Postmistress; Mail to Hardy
Coy 1895 1900 26-18N-4W Mail to Williford
Elberta See Lilac
Ellen/Elen See Balboa
Elppir 1918 1918
Emery 1904 1941 27-16N-5W Mail to Cave City
Evening Shade 1847 3-16N-6W From Lawrence County, 1868
Flat Woods 1892 1892 See Wirth
Flint 1906 1918 5-20N-4W Was to be Owen; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Friend See Whaley
Graceland 1904 1904 24-17N-4W Mail to Smithville
Grange 1884 1954 4-15N-4W Mail to Smithville
Hardy 1883 11-19N-5W
Highland 1878 1901 33-19N-5W Mail to King Mills
Hill See Matthews
Hilltop 1871 1882 16-17N-4W Name for John M. Hill, Postmaster; Was to be Lebanon City or Hopewell
Hopewell See Hillton
Jonesville 1906 1917 8-18N-4W Named for Thomas W. Jones, Postmaster; Mail to Sitka
Kings Mills/King Mills 1878 1950 20-18N-5W Mail to Center
Layne 1907 1917 24-17N-6W Was to be Sims; Mail to Evening Shade
Lebanon City See Hillton
Lilac 1906 1909 8-21N-4W Was to be Elberta; Mail to Wirth
Loyal 1880 8-15N-5W Was to be Cedar Grove; Changed to Cave City, 1892
Martins Creek/Martin Creek 1870 1907 8-19N-3W Mail to Williford
Matthews 1896 1913 10-17N-4W Was to be Hill; Mail to Sitka
Maxville 1871 1931 36-16N-6W Mail to Evening Shade
Mobley 1891 1954 32-15N-4W From Independence County, 1900; Mail to Sulphur Rock
Nelsonville 1910 1934 5-16N-4W Named for William R. Nelson, Postmaster; Mail to Paughkeepsie
Nye 1905 1906 14-16N-6W Mail to Evening Shade
Olympus 1915 1916 22-18N-4W Mail to Williford
Owen See Flint
Paughkeepsie 1870 35-17N-5W
Pinecrest See Amateur
Polk Bayou/Polk 1848 1914 11-15N-7W From Independence County, 1876; Mail to Sidney
Reed 1891 1931 5-16N-4W Mail to Paughkeepsie
Reed's Creek 1838 1918 20-15N-4W From Lawrence County, 1868; Mail to Grange
Shelbyville 1954 3-15N-4W Changed from Sofly, 1899; Mail to Cave City
Shell Rock See Simco
Sidney 1878 20-16N-6W
Simco 1922 1936 26-15N-4W Was to be Shell Rock; Mail to Strawberry
Sims See Layne
Sitka 1880 1955 21-18N-4W Mail to Williford
Sofly 1897 2-15N-4W Changed to Shelbyville, 1899
Streets Sawmill See Amateur
Stuart 1913 1955 33-19N-5W Named for Marcus C. Stuart, Postmaster; Mail to Hardy
Whaley 1892 1895 5-16N-5W Was to be Friend; Mail to Evenine Shade
Williford 1881 36-19N-4W
Winsted 1888 1920 12-20N-4W Was to be Friend; Mail to Evening Shade
Wirth 1892 1918 26-21N-4W Was to be Flatwoods; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Woods 1899 1924 18-17N-6W From Izard County 1903; Mail to Love
Wool See Winsted
Worill 1912 1918 35-18N-4W Mail to Ravenden
Wortis 1943 1954 4-17N-4W Mail to Sitka