Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Amy 1939 35-11S-17W Name changed from Kemp, 1914; Mail to Camden
Barham/Barham Station 1931 4-12S-19W Name changed from Red Hill, 1881; Mail to Chidester
Bearden 35-11S-15W Name changed from Gatlin, 1883
Bell's Store 1867 Named for William H. Bell, Postmaster; To Columbia County after 1867; See Remond
Berkley 1847 1851 10-15S-18W Haley Eubank, Postmaster
Braggs See Braxton
Braxton 1904 1905 16-13S-18W Was to be named Braggs; Mail to Lester
Buchanon 1851 1875 4-15S-17W Local name, Livingstons Mill
Buck See Kemp
Buffalo 1846 1866 13-15S-16W
Burena Vista 1848 1968 27-14S-18W Mail to Stephens
Camden 23-13S-17W Name changed from Ecore Fabre in Union County, 1843
Caney 1850 1906 To Nevada County, 1871
Carouse 1859 1866
Chidester 1882 11-12S-19W
Cullendale 1934 1956 2-14S-17W Mail to Camden
Dowling 1889 1895 28-12S-18W
Dowlington See Lester
Eagle Mills 1890 1982 14-125-164
Ecore Fabre See Camden
Eldridge 1849 1849
Elliott 1891 1927 2-15S-17W Mail to Camden
Evans 1890 1891 1-15S-19W Mail to Buena Vista
Finns 1899 1918 7-14S-17W Mail to Camden
Foley 1907 1907
Foster 1840 1847 From Union County, 1842
Frazier's Point 1860 Named for William W. Frazier, Postmaster; Name changed to Star, 1861
Freeo/Freco 1846 1877 18-11S-15W
Frenchport/French Port 1878 1896 28-14S-16W Mail to Louann
Gatlin 1880 27-11S-15W For Margaret R. Gatlin, Postmistress; Was to be Unionville; Changed to Bearden, 1883
Godbold 1848 1852 Named for A Godbold, Postmaster
Hobson's Store Name changed from Leake's Store, 1852; To Columbia County, 1859
Hudson 1890 1895 19-12S-18W Named for William D. Hudson, Postmaster; Mail to Chidester
Kemp 1892 35-11S-17W Was to be named Buck; Name changed to Amy, 1914
Keystone 1896 1899 12-14S-17W Was to be named Maud; Mail to Camden
Kirkland 1893 1930 13-15S-17W Mail to Louann
Lamartine 1851 1884 To Columbia County after 1867
Leake's Store 1848 1867 Changed to Hobson's Store & moved to Columbia County, 1852; Named for George T. Leake, Postmaster
Lester 1881 1948 35-18S-18W Was to be named Dowlington; Mail to Chidester
Liberty 1849 1906 36-12S-19W Mail to Chidester
Lilley 1886 1905 22-12S-16W Mail to Onalaska
Livingstons Mill See Buchanon
Locust Bayou 1849 1924 To Calhoun County, 1851
Lone Grove 1858 1866
Long Branch 1878 1878 28-12S-16W
Louann 1891 30-15S-16W Was to be named Wells
Luda 1851 1874 31-16S-12W
Lufra 1881 1904 31-13S-18W Was to be named Two Bayou; Mail to Buena Vista
Lunet 1887 1906 24-11S-18W Was to be named Victoria; Mail to Chidester
Marquand 1900 1901 35-155-18W Mail to Stephens
Maud See Keystone
McNeely's Ridge 1857 1873 13-10S-21W To Clark County,
Millersville 1927 16-12S-15W Changed from Star 1876, Local name, Salem; Mail to Eagle Mills
Mosely 1888 1-13S-17W Name changed to Van Duzer, 1890
Mount Moriah 1844 1918 From Hempstead County, 1858; To Nevada County, 1871
New Port Landing 1879 Name changed to Smackover, 1887
Ogamaw/Ogemaw 1892 1968 1-15S-19W Mail to Stephens
Onalaska 1898 1916 22-12S-16W Mail to Eagle Mills
Ouachita 1867 Name changed from Tates Bluff, 1856
Petersburgh 1856 1866
Purifoy 1900 1913 23-13S-19W Named for Edward L. Purifoy, Postmaster; Mail to Camden
Quincy 1850 1852
Reader 1913 1957 19-11S-19W Mail to Prescott
Reader 30-11S-19W Name changed from Sayre, 1907; Changed back to Sayre, 1908
Red Hill 1860 1879 9-12S-19W Name changed to Barham; See Rose Hill
Reeder 1888 Name changed to Sayre, 1889
Remond/Red Mond 1890 1899 5-13S-18W Was to be named Bell's Store or Red Mond
Rose Hill 1870 1872 24-11S-19W Was to be called Red Hill
Salem See Millville
Sayre 1931 19-11S-19W Changed from Reeder, 1889; Changed to Reader, 1907; Changed back to Sayre, 1908; Mail to Chidester
Seminary 1848 1905 17-15S-19W Mail to Stephens
Smackover 1887 Name changed from New Port Landing, 1887; To Union County
Snow Hill 1926 1927 28-15S-15W Mail to Louann
Star 27-11S-15W Changed from Fraizer's Point, 1861; Changed to Millerville, 1876
Stephens 1883 21-15S-19W Name changed from Richmond in Columbia County, 1883
Tates Bluff 1855 1856 1-18S-11W From Clark County, 1855; Name changed to Ouachita, 1856
Tremont 1879 1900 27-15S-15W Mail to Smackover
Troy 1891 1909 20-14S-19W Mail to Stephens
Two Bayou/Two Byo 1851 1871 31-13S-18W See Lufra
Unionville See Gatlin
Van Duzen 1925 29-12S-16W Name changed from Mosley, 1890; Mail to Camden
Van Dyke 1892 1894 27-14S-17W Mail to Elliott
Velie 1917 1923 11-12S-17W Mail to Amy
Victoria See Lunet
Wells See Louann
Wilcox 1896 1896 23-14S-17W Was to be Morgan; Mail to Keyston
Woodlawn 1846 1909 10-14S-19W To Nevada County, 1871
Wyloe 1887 1904 29-11S-18W Mail to Chidester