Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Azor 1892 1914 19-12S-22W Mail to Emmett
Bell See Morris
Bells Store 1867 29-14S-20W From Columbia County, 1874; Name changed to Glenville, 1885
Benett See Morris
Blockton See Davidson
Bluff City 1876 2-12S-20W
Bodcaw 1878 1959 12-10S-23W Mail to Rosston
Boughton 1874 1954 23-10S-22W Mail to Prescott
Bourland's Store 21-13S-21W Name changed from Rosston, 1877; changed back to Rosston, 1886
Brisbane 1889 1906 25-13S-22W Mail to Rosston
Brower See Carouse
Burkville 1871 From Hempstead County, 1871; Name changed to Emmett, 1874
Byrd See Foss
Cale 1901 11-13S-21W Was to be named Zion
Caney 1850 1906 17-13S-20W From Ouachita County 1871; Mail to Rosston
Carouse 1888 1890 15-11S-21W Was to be named Brower
Cedar See Weaver
Cedar Hill 1877 1880 4-13S-21W
Clayton 1879 1906 4-13S-23W Local name, Pickards Mills
Davidson 1900 1900 1-15S-21W Was to be named Blockton; Mail to Glenville
Emmett 3-12S-23W Name changed from Burkville, 1874
Falcon 1852 1906 5-15S-22W From Columbia County, 1871; Mail to Buckner
Foss 1896 1917 35-12S-20W Was to be named Byrd; Mail to Bluff City
Glenville 1936 33-14S-20W Name changed from Bells Store, 1885; Mail to Stephens
Houeaville 1885 1891 26-12S-21W Named for William Houea, Postmaster; Mail to Rosston
Huts 1900 1906 28-13S-22W Mail to Rosston
Irma 1896 1906 4-14S-21W Mail to Rosston
Jackson 1896 1904 16-15S-23W From Lafayette County, 1904; Mail to Stamps
Lackland 1888 1907 20-11S-20W Mail to Lyda
Laneburgh/Laneburg 1885 1918 14-12S-22W Named for Anna C. Lane, Postmistress; Mail to Emmett
Leake 1900 1909 26-14S-20W Mail to Stephens
Lyda 1902 1908 17-11S-20W Mail to Reader
Mendenhall 1891 1900 26-13S-20W Named for Thomas J. Mendenhall, Postmaster; Mail to Young
Morris 1893 1909 26-12S-21W Was to be named Benett or Bell; Mail to Cale
Mount Moriah/Moria 1844 1918 6-13S-21W From Ouachita County, 1871; Mail to Cale
Omar See Verde
Parker 1902 1906 14-14S-22W Mail to Buckner
Pickards Mills See Clayton
Pink 1896 1898 22-14S-22W Mail to Falcon
Prescott 1873 9-11S-22W
Register 1895 1907 27-13S-23W Mail to Bodcaw
Rosston 1872 21-13S-21W Name changed to Bourland's Store, 1877; Back to Rosston, 1886
Stockton 1894 1903 7-15S-21W Named for James W. Stocks; Mail to Delta
Sutton 1892 1907 5-13S-22W Named for Willborn J. Sutton, Postmaster; Mail to Emmett
Theo 1904 1939 34-12S-20W Named for Theodore L. Gulley, Postmaster; Mail to Bluff City
Tyson's Store See Willisville
Verde 1901 1906 24-12S-23W Was to be named Omar; Mail to Emmett
Waterloo 1927 1971 11-14S-21W Mail to Rosston
Weaver 1902 1912 3-10S-21W Was to be named Cedar; Mail to Prescott
Wildcat 1896 1906 27-14S-23W Mail to Stamps
Willisville 1883 1907 18-14S-21W Was to be named Tyson's Store; Mail to Rosston
Woodlawn 1846 1909 13-14S-20W From Ouachita County, 1885; Mail to Stephens
Woster See Wrye
Wyre 1902 1903 16-11S-21W Was to be named Woster; Mail to Prescott
Young 1892 1906 33-13S-20W Mail to Rosston
Zama 1887 1909 16-12S-20W Mail to Theo
Zion See Cale