Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Aberdeen 1887 21-1S-3W Changed from Reagan's Bluff, 1851; Mail to Roe
Avalon 1896 1897
Baytown 1910 1911 36-3S-1W Mail to Indian Bay
Big Prairie 1838 1840 19-1N-4W
Blackton 1966 27-1N-1W Changed from Dunn 1895; Mail to Holly Grove
Blaklly 1904 24-4N-3W Changed to Lynchville, 1906
Brinkley 1870 10-3N-2W
Britton 1870 Changed to Wheatley, 1872; to St. Francis County, 1873
Clarendon 22-1N-3W Changed from Mouth of Cache, 1837
Creigh 1918 1927 9-3N-1E Was to be Crisp Crossing; Mail to Marvell
Crisp Crossing See Creigh
Cypress 1841 1874 33-2S-1E
Cypress Ridge 1873 1890 32-2N-1W Mail to Monroe
Due West 1860 1875
Duncan 1860 1905 26-1S-2W Mail to Holly Grove
Duncan Prairie 1849 1850
Dunn 1880 6-1S-1W Was to be Hickory Hill; From Phillips County, 1883; Changed to Blackton, 1895
Eden See Heflin
Fargo 1898 1976 14-4N-2W
Haflin 1895 1907 24-3N-3W Was to be Eden; Mail to Brinkley
Hard Cash See Pine City
Hickory Hill 1876 1879 See Dunn
Hickory Ridge 1871 1875
Holly Grove 1872 22-1S-2W
Holly Grove 1872 22-1S-2W
Holwell 1891 1892
Indian Bay 1860 1932 36-3S-1W Local name, New Warsaw; Mail to Holly Grove
Jacob's Staff 1830 23-2S-2W Named for Joseph Jacobs, Postmaster; Changed to Lawrenceville, 1838
Kanola 1908 1911 Was to be King; Mail to Clarendon
Keevil 1885 1954 18-2N-2W Named for Seth J. Keevil, Postmaster; Mail to Brinkley
King See Kanola
Lamberton 1883 1902 33-1S-1W Named for Beverly J. Lambert, Postmistress; Mail to Indian Bay
Lamberton 1883 1902 33-1S-1W Named for Befer
Lawrenceville 1880 21-2S-2W Changed from Jacob's Staff, 1838
Lebanon 1837 1838
Lightle 1890 1896 36-1N-3W Mail to Clarendon
Lynchville/Lynchburg 1909 25-4N-3W Changed from Blakley, 1906; Mail to Cotton Plant
Modena 1887 1887
Monroe 1890 33-5N-1W
Moro 1855 36-1N-3W To Lee County, 1873
Mouth of Cache 1828 Changed to Clarendon, 1837
New Warsaw See Indian Bay
Odours 1880 1882 Mail to Clarendon
Palmer 1873 1927 25-1S-1W Mail to Holly Grove
Pine City 1879 1959 28-1S-1W Was to be Hard Cash; Mail to Holly Grove
Pine Grove 1854 1860 10-3N-2W
Pine Ridge See Thweatt
Pleasant Lake 1857 1860 7-1S-2W
Raymond 1892 1916 3-1S-1W Mail to Holly Grove
Reagan's Bluff 1846 21-1S-3W Changed to Aberdeen, 1851
Rich 1921 1921 29-2N-7W
Rochroe 1838 1839
Roe 1880 12-1S-4W
Rough & Ready 1850 1852 17-3N-1E
Saulsburg 1879 1887 16-4N-2W Mail to Cotton Plant
Sebastian 1908 1909 24-2N-2W Named for Samuel S. Sebastian, Postmaster; Mail to Monroe
Surrounded Hill 1848 1866 1-2N-4W Local name, Fredonia
Sylarsville 1867 1904 To Lee County, 1873
Taylors Bluff See Watensaw
Thweatt 1884 1884 23-1N-2W Was to be Pine Ridge
Tulleyville 1848 Changed to Edwardsburg in Phillips County, 1854
Valley Grove 1848 1883 2-3S-1W Mail to Holly Grove
Waldrop 1911 1911 24-4N-3W Named for James H. Waldrop, Postmaster; M\ail to Cotton Plant
Watensaw 1850 1867 19-3N-4W Was to be Taylors Bluff; To Prairie County, 1855
Wheetley Changed to Britton, 1872; To St. Francis County, 1873
Zent 1894 1965 12-4N-2W Mail to Brinkley