Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Allbrook 1881 1920 16-11S-27W Mail to Mineral Springs
Antimony 1887 33-6S-30W To Sevier County, 1914
Athens 1965 15-5S-28W Name changed from Newmoon, 1901; Mail to Glenwood
Atwood 1885 1907 3-8S-29W Mail to Martha
Baggett 1902 1903 14-6S-30W For William S. Baggett; Was to be Maple; Mail to Galena
Baker Springs 1928 14-5S-30W Changed from Eldridge, 1912; Mail to Wickes; See Polk County
Buckrange 1887 1919 35-10S-27W Mail to Nashville
Burg 1907 1938 15-6S-29W Was to be named Rock; Mail to Dierks
Carl 1904 35-6S-29W Name changed to Oreb, 1910
Centre Point/Centerpoint 1849 c1978 35-8S-28W From Sevier County, 1873
Corinth 1912 24-8S-27W Changed from Wilton, 1885; From Pike County, 1885; Mail to Nashville
Cowling 1903 1908 22-10S-28W Named for Samuel C. Cowling, Postmaster; Mail to Mineral Springs
Crackers Neck See Saratoga
Dial 1897 1919 8-5S-29W Mail to Baker Springs
Dierks 1906 30-7S-28W Named for Dierks Family
Dora 1870 1873 16-7S-27W From Pike County, 1873; Local name, Muddy Fork
Duckett 1887 1919 29-5S-30W Mail to Wickes
Eldridge 1884 13-5S-30W Name changed to Baker Springs, 1912
Euclid 1887 1917 13-7S-29W Mail to Dierks
Flower Springs See Minnie
Forgy 1894 1906 23-95-28W Was to be named Reesville; Mail to Nashville
Fort Logan 14-5S-28W Changed from Venetia Grove, 1890; To Mineola, 1901; Named for Henry A. Logan
Fredonia 1894 1895 3-7S-28W Mail to New Hope
Gaddis 1903 1903
Galena 1880 1930 8-6S-29W Mail to Gillham
Hamlet 1881 5-5S-29W Name changed to New Moon, 1881
Harper Springs 1925 1931 4-7S-29W From Sevier County, 1927; Mail to Mineola
Hattie 1901 1908 21-7S-28W Mail to Mineral Springs
Henry 1901 1928 26-5S-28W Mail to New Hope
Howe 1904 4-10S-28W Changed from Picayune, 1900; Located at "residence" of T. G. Kennedy
Ivington 1878 1882 1-8S-29W Mail to Center Point
Knoll 1894 1898 35-6S-30W For Louis Knoll, Postmaster; Was to be named Delhi; Mail to Antimony
Maple See Baggett
Martha 1892 1920 6-8S-28W Named for Mrs. Martha E. Hester; Mail to Dierks
Mineola 1938 17-5S-28W Name changed from Fort Logan; Mail to Umpire
Mineral Springs 19-10S-27W From Hempstead County, 1873
Minnie 1893 1909 36-6S-29W Was to be named Flower Springs; Mail to Euclid
Muddy Fork/Muddyfork 1878 1931 20-7S-27W Mail to Center Point; See Dora
Nashville 26-9S-27W From Hempstead County, 1873
New Moon/Newmoon 5-5S-29W Name changed from Hamlet, 1881; Changed to Athens, 1901
Okay 1930 1972 30-11S-27W
Oreb 1913 35-6S-29W Name changed from Carl, 1910; Mail to Euclid
Pates 1880 1907 15-6S-28W Mail to Henry
Patis Springs 1876 1879 12-6S-28W
Paul 1909 1913 34-6S-28W Was to be named Delton; Mail to Euclid
Picayune 1880 9-10S-28W Name changed to Howe, 1900
Reesville See Forgy
Rock See Burg
Rosadale 1883 1904 7-9S-28W Mail to Center Point
Rustic 1892 1896 30-9S-27W Mail to Forgy
Saline Mills 1871 1876 8-5S-28W From Polk County, 1873
Saltsprings 1912 1917 Mail to Duckett
Saratoga 1882 33-11S-28W Was to be name Crackers Neck
Schaal 1900 1954 11-11S-28W Named for Loren H. Schaal; mail to Mineral Springs
Schooley 1902 1920 10-11S-27W Named for William S. Schooley, Postmaster; Mail to Mineral Springs
Skillcon See Skillern
Skillern/Skillcon 1895 1896 21-9S-28W Mail to Forgy
Sunset 1881 1881 26-6S-29W
Tanny See Umpire
Tollette 1891 1973 5-11S-27W Named for Sanford W. Tollett, Postmaster; Mail to Mineral Springs
Totefair 1904 1905 12-6S-28W Mail to New Hope
Umpire 1887 25-5S-29W Was to be named Tanny
Venetia/Venetia Grove 1876 23-5S-28W Name changed to Fort Logan, 1890
Wilton 1857 20-8S-26W From Pike County 1885; Name changed to Corinth, 1885
Wilwee 1898 1898