Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Afton 1883 c.1978 9-20N-5W Changed to Many Islands, 1912
Agnos 1880 26-19N-7W Was to be named Elva
Argosy 1915 1931 20-20N-10W Mail to Viola
Beall 1888 16-21N-11W For John P. Beall, Postmaster; Was to be Morris or Bell; Local name, Poor Hollow; Changed to County Line, 1910
Bell See Beall
Bennett's Bayou 1880 Changed from Bennett's River, 1857; To Baxter County, 1873
Bennett's River 1848 Changed to Bennett's Bayou, 1857
Bennett's River 1867 1873 2-20N-11W See Vidette
Bexar 1890 24-19N-10W
Big North Fork 1871 1879 To Baxter County, 1873
Burlin See Mitchell
Byron 1890 1981 8-19N-9W Was to be Rhue, Pink, Rye, or Soda
Cairdr(?) See Harper
Camp 1884 4-20N-7W
Caudill See Vina
Climax 1907 1916 34-19N-6W See Kittle
County Line 1915 26-21N-11W Changed from Beall, 1910; Mail to Bakersfield, Missouri
Cross Plains 1852 1866
Dona See Lucetta
Draft 1916 1934 13-19N-6W Was to be Fred; To Sharp County before 1918
Eagle 1854 1867 12-18N-84 Local name, Union
Elizabeth 7-19N-10W Changed from Sandersville, 1880
Elva See Agnos
Enterprise See Vina
Eola 1878 1879 18-21N-6W
Eugene 1880 1888 29-21N-9W Was to be Valley Store or Mt. Calm; Mail to Viola
Flora 1882 1905 22-20N-10W Mail to Viola
Franklin 1847 To Izard County, 1873
Fred 1900 1907 Was to be Woodsonia or Val; Mail to Hardy; See Draft
French 1910 1943 25-20N-7W Named for Emet B. French, Postmaster; Mail to Camp
Frunston See Saddle
Fryatt 1894 1949 20-21N-6W For William Fryatt, Postmaster; Was to be Fishback; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Gepp 1947 24-20N-11W
Glencoe See Glencoe
Golden See Moko
Gordon's Ferry 1860 1866
Harper 1910 1911 8-21N-7W Was to be Cairdr(?); Mail to Globe, Missouri
Heart 1904 1954 9-19N-7W Was to be Pear Springs; Mail to Glencoe
Jojack 1909 1911 5-20N-6W Mail to Mammoth Springs
Kittle 1921 1931 28-19N-6W Was to be Climax; Mail to Ash Flat
Lucetta 1906 1921 17-21N-9W Was to be Dora
Lucette 1913 1913 21-21N-9W
Mammoth Springs 1883 5-21N-5W
Mammoth Springs 1879 6-21N-5W Name changed to Spring City, Missouri, 1882
Many Islands 1942 17-20N-5W Changed from Afton, 1912; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Marvin 1907 1907 34-19N-6W Was to be Spring City
Mitchell 1880 1954 14-19N-10W Named for Daniel Mitchell, Postmaster; Was to be Burlin; Mail to Viola
Moko 1901 28-21N-8W Was to be Golden
Morris See Beall
Morriston 1898 1966 18-19N-7W Named for James A. Morris, Postmaster; Mail to Salem
Mountain Home Changed from Rapp's Barren,s 1861; To Baxter County, 1873
Mt. Calm See Eugene
Myatt 1879 1894 11-20N-6W Mail to Mammoth Springs; See Pilot
New Hope 1872 1873
Ott 1912 1953 8-21N-10W Mail to Hocomo
Pear Springs See Heart
Pilot 1895 1918 11-20N-6W Local name, Myatt; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Pilot Hill 1844 27-20N-8W Changed to Salem, 1872
Pink See Byron
Poor Hollow See Beall
Rapp's Barrens 1850 Changed to Mountain Home, 1861
Redbarn 1906 1919 1-19N-9W Mail to Salem
Rhue See Byron
Rilda 1908 1913 Mail to Sturkie
Ruth 1890 1922 27-20N-11W Mail to Elizabeth
Rye See Baron
Saddle 1928 1955 29-20N-6W Was to be Frunston; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Salem 35-20N-8W Changed from Pilot Hill, 1872
Sandersville 1878 21-19N-6W Named for Galaton L. Sanders, Postmaster; Changed to Elizabeth, 1880
Sharp Mill See South Fork
South Fork 1877 1925 33-20N-6W Local name, Sharp Mill; Mail to Mammoth Springs
Spring City See Marrin and Mammoth Springs
Sturkie 1894 14-21N-9W Named for William G. Sturkie, Postmaster
Ten Mile/Tenmile 1871 1900 14-21N-8W Mail to Lanton, Missouri
Union 1852 1973 35-19N-9W See Eagle
Val See Fred
Valley Store See Eugene
Vidette 1954 2-20N-11W Changed from Vina, 1890; Mail to Bakerfield, Missouri
Vidette 1875 1886 2-20N-11W Called on map Bennett's River
View 1885 1886 Mail to Salem
Vina 1890 1891 4-20N-10W Mail to Viola
Vina 1886 4-20N-10W To be Enterprise, Caudill, or Vinson; Changed to Vidette, 1890
Vinson See Vina
Viola 1860 18-20N-9W
Wait 1893 1893
Wheeling 1888 1955 8-19N-8W Mail to Salem
Wideman 1872 To Izard County, 1873
Wild Cherry 1878 1967 33-19N-10W Mail to Salem
Woodsonia See Fred
Zebra 1880 1883 19-19N-9W Mail to Mitchell