Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Austin See Seals
Beech Bluff 1850 1867 26-7S-13W
Bunn 1907 1954 23-5S-14W Mail to Fordyce
Cachemasso 1849 1867 8-8S-18W
Carthage 32-7S-14W Name changed from Seals, 1906
Chambersville 1850 1866
Chappell 1850 1861
Chase 1903 1905 10-7S-17W Was to be named Round Hill; Mail to Dalark
Como 1855 1914 36-9S-13W From Bradley County, 1871; To Cleveland County, 1873
Cruse 1900 1907 7-9S-15W Was to be named Lea; Mail to Nix
Dalark 1887 1957 7-9S-17W Mail to Arkadelphia
Damo 1860 1866
Dorsey 1901 1905 14-8S-17W Mail to Dalark
Dry Run 1886 1893 24-10S-13W Mail to Fordyce
Eaglette 1904 1927 2-105-154 Mail to Bearden
Estes 1909 1917 7-7S-15W Named for John H. Estes, Postmaster; Mail to Tulip
Fairview/Fair View 1852 1927 7-9S-17W Mail to Manning
Fordyce 1883 14-105-131W
Fox See Seals
Fruitridge 1915 1917 29-10S-15W Mail to Holly Springs
Green/Greens 1904 1905 30-7S-17W Named for John W. Green, Postmaster; See Seals; Mail to Dalark
Heine 1894 1918 23-10S-17W Mail to Ouachita
Hickory HillS 1849 1850 1851
Holly Springs 1850 1966 35-10S-16W Mail to Sparkman
Ivan 1906 28-9S-13W
Ivy 1882 1953 9-7S-14W Was to be named Leon; Mail to Leola
Jacinto 1892 1931 33-9S-15W Was to be named Mount Carmel; Mail to Carthage
Jinks 1914 1915 23-9S-16W Was to be named Dean; Mail to Princeton
Lawrence See Wave
Lea's Ferry 1871 1880 36-7S-13W Named for James D. Lea, Postmaster
Lee See Cruse
Leon See Ivy
Liberty See Ramsey
Manning 1914 24-8S-17W
McIntosh 1914 1917 6-9S-13W Mail to Bunn
Moro 1849 1853
Mount Carmel See Jacinto
Nix 1888 1918 33-8S-16W Named for Eldridge D. Nix, Postmaster; Mail to Manning
Oak Grove 1856 1859
Oakhurst 1901 1905 6-10S-15W Mail to Holly Springs
Ouachita 1914 1954 14-10S-17W Mail to Sparkman
Perry 1912 1920 30-7S-16W Mail to Willow
Pine Grove 1874 1923 25-9S-17W Mail to Sparkman
Princeton 1845 1967 34-8S-15W Mail to Carthage
Ramsey 1884 1917 8-10S-14W Was to be named Liberty; Mail to Fordyce
Red Bird 1852 1866
Roane 1899 1917 18-8S-15W Local name, Waverly Farm; Mail to Tulip
Round Hill 1878 1881 11-7S-17W See Chase
Saline 1878 1925 11-7S-14W Mail to Carthage
Seals 1903 4-8S-14W Was to be named Green, Fox, or Austin; Changed to Carthage, 1906
Silver Springs 1849 1851
Sparkman/Sparkmon 1893 33-9S-17W Named for Lemie Sparkman, Postmaster
Stover 1850 1883 18-10S-13W Named for Josiah Stover, Postmaster; Mail to Fordyce
Swaty 1916 1923 24-9S-15W Named for Antone V. Swaty, Postmaster; Mail to Eaglette
Tulip 1845 1938 29-7S-15W Mail to Carthage
Wave 1920 1933 13-8S-16W Was to be named Lawrence
Waverly Farm See Roane
Willow 1882 1967 17-7S-16W Mail to Leola