Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Achome See Index
Ada 1880 1913 2-5N-18W Mail to Adona
Arthur 1880 1915 23-8N-16W To be Point Remove; Larman(?), Tuckervill; Mail to Solgohachia
Blackville 1878 1899 30-7N-17W Mail to Atkins
Blackwell 1897 30-7N-17W Named fro William Black, Postmaster
Blick 1900 1913 8-8N-16W Was to be named Homer; Mail to St. Vincent
Breckenridge 1886 1887 2-6N-17W Mail to Morrilton
Cadron 1837 To Faulkner County, 1873; Changed to Martinville, 1887
Cadron Hills 1832 1834 1836
Cane Creek 1858 1878 To Faulkner County, 1873
Centre Ridge/Center Ride 1867 2-8N-15W
Centreville 1849 1851
Cleveland 8-9N-16W Changed from Rondo, 1880
Conway Changed from Evans , 1871; To Faulkner County, 1873
Crossroads See Solgohachia
Dewey See Lanty
Divide 1889 1916 13-5N-19W Mail to Casa
El Paso Changed from Olive Creek, 1869; To Faulkner County, 1873
Elbert See West
Est Fork 1854 1867
Evans 1871 Changed to Conway, 1871
Fitz Henry 1851 Changed to Springfield, 1853
Fog See Index
Fryer's Ridge 1855 1855
Garfield 1881 1983 17-16S-25W
Germantown 1874 1904 33-7N-17W Mail to Morrilton
Glasses Village/Glassvillage 1840 1882 13-9N-18W Mail to Appleton
Gleason 1900 1915 31-6N-14W Mail to Menifee
Gordonton 1899 1900 30-7N-16W Mail to Overcup
Green Grove 1851 1870
Greenbrier 1857 To Faulkner County, 1873
Hattie 1881 1883 6-8N-17W Mail to Old Hickory
Hattieville 1884 36-8N-17W
Hawkstone 1880 1906 29-6N-17W Was to be Stouts; Mail to Ada
Homer See Blick
Howard 1869 1871 9-5N-15W
Hurrican 1843 1852
Index 1892 1915 25-6N-18W Was to be Achome, Nature, or Fog; Mail to Morrilton
Jamison 1879 Changed to Menifee, 1881
Jerusalem 1888 20-9N-17W Was to be named Wilson
Klingethoeffer Landing 1870 Changed from Olivia 1870; To Perry County, 1870; Named for Gustavus Klingethoeffer, Postmaster
Lanty 1899 1954 15-8N-16W Was to be Dewey; Mail to Morrilton
Larmann(?) See Arthur
Lewisburgh 1832 1882 30-6N-16W Mail to Morrilton
Lick Mountain 1839 1906 25-9N-16W Mail to Center Ridge
Mabel See Nail
Mabel See West
Mallett 1901 1901 32-8N-14W Mail to Springfield
Menifee 23-6N-15W Changed from Jamison, 1881
Middleton 1899 1906 18-8N-15W Mail to Center Ridge
Morrilton/Morrillton 1879 19-6N-16W
Nail 1897 7-5N-15W Was to be Mabel; Mail to Plumerville
Nature See Index
Old Hickory 1858 1906 32-8N-17W Mail to Hattieville
Olive Creek 1850 Changed to El Paso, 1869
Olivia 1861 Changed to Klingethoeffer Landing, 1870
Oppelo 1867 1913 2-5N-17W From Perry County, 1880; Mail to Perry
Overcup 1898 1905 28-7N-16W Mail to Morrilton
Plumerville/Plummerville 18-6N-15W Changed from Plummer, 1881
Plummer Changed from Plummers Station, 1875; Plummerville, 1881
Plummers Station 1873 Changed to Plummer, 1875
Point Remove See Arthur
Point Remove 1831 9-7N-16W Changed to Solgohachia, 1878
Pontoon 1892 1914 34-6N-19W From Yell County, 1905; Mail to Casa
Price 1887 1889 21-6N-15W Mail to Plumerville
Robertsville 1894 1904 34-9N-17W Mail to Hattieville
Rondo 1877 Changed to Cleveland, 1888
Ruralhome/Rural Home 1896 1903 32-8N-17W Mail to Hattieville
Slack 1892 1893 8-8N-16W Mail to St. Vincent
Slate Rock 1859 1859
Solgohachia 11-7N-16W Changed from Point Remove, 1878; Local name, Crossroads
Springfield 11-7N-15W Changed from Fitz Henry, 1853
St. Vincent 1884 1918 32-8N-16W Mail to Solgohachia
Stells Mill 1840 1843 Named for Dennis Q. Stell, Postmaster
Stouts See Hawkstone
Tuckorvill See Arthur
Turvilla 1898 1899
West 1901 1914 33-6N-18W Was to be Elbert or Mabel; Mail to Index
Whipple 1900 1906 28-9N-14W To Van Buren County, 1906
Whitfield 1891 1892 34-9N-17W Mail to Jerusalem
Wilson See Jerusalem
Woolverton 1894 1910 2-9N-15W Named for Loretta N. Woolverton, Postmistress; To Van Buren County, 1903
Yorks/Yorks Gap 1903 1906 36-6N-19W Mail to Carden Bottom