Post Offices

Post office:

Mail delivery first began in North America during the seventeenth century. Prior to the availability of the telegraph, telephone, radio, television, or worldwide web, mail served as the only means of written communication between different locales. The United States’ early mail system proved to be primitive, slow, and often undependable. But as the nation grew, so did its postal system. As American settlers moved west and occupied new lands, their commerce and communication needs demanded dependable, affordable mail service. One of the new places served by the nation’s postal service was Arkansas.

Information about Arkansas post offices on this webpage includes the name of the post office, date of establishment, location, and county. Sources used in compiling this data include official postal service records, “Records of Appointments of Postmasters, Arkansas, 1832-1871” and “Geographic Site Location Reports, 1852-1945.” Also utilized were various editions of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat, several volumes of the Territorial Papers of the United States, and the Works Projects Administration’s “List of Post Offices in Arkansas 1817-1874, Inclusive.” The most comprehensive printed compilation of post office information is found in Arkansas History Commission Archival Manager Russell Baker’s Arkansas Post Offices from Memdag to Norsk: A Historical Directory, 1832-1990, published by the Arkansas Genealogical Society.

Post Office Est. Closed Location Comments
Abels Creek 1838 1842
Almyra 26-3S-4W Name changed from Long Point, 1890
Arkansas/Arkansas Post 1817 1941 ?-8S-3W Mail to Gillett; Changed from Arkansas to Arkansas Post, 1831
Auburn 1860 1883 To Lincoln County, 1871
Bayou Metoe 1877 1955 26-5S-5W Mail to Stuttgart
Bermuda 1894 9-2S-3W Name changed from Wellborn, 1882; Mail to Casscoe
Beuzal See Lazneb
Bitely See Booty
Booty 1888 1913 8-8S-2W Was to be named Bitley or Chester; Mail to Nady
Cass Coe/Casscoe 1852 14-2S-3W
Champion 1890 Name changed to Gillett, 1892
Chester See Booty
Clear Point 1857 Name changed to Goldman, 1886
Coopers Landing 1872 1879 12-6S-6W
Crain River 1858 1860
Crockett's Bluff 1848 10-3S-2W
Cross Bayou See Leanders
Cummins 1853 1874
Cypruss Bend 1837 1839
Dewitt 1856 4-5S-3W
Durell 1894 1897 28-55-34 Mail to Dewitt
English 1930 Name changed from Swan Lake, 1886; To Jefferson County, 1886
Ethel 1888 6-5S-1W
Fair Dale 1858 1869 7-7S-4W
Gillett 15-7S-3W Name changed from Champion, 1892
Golden Hill 1879 Name changed from LaGrue, 1875
Goldman 1930 12-3S-6W Name changed from Clear Point, 1883; Mail to Stuttgart
Gum Pond 1876 1876 21-2S-5W
Gunnell See Mount Adams
Hagler 1888 23-5S-5W Name changed to Lodge Corner, 1945
Hamlet 1881 33-6S-2W Name changed to Tichnor, 1887
Hecatoo/Hecratoo 1832 Name changed to Niccottoo, 1841
Humphrey 1884 25-3S-6W From Jefferson County, 1890
Hynum 1881 1891 20-4S-5W Mail to Hagler
Kleiner 1910 1911 10-4S-6W Mail to Humphrey
La Grew Springs 1848 1853
Lagrew 1897 1899 19-4S-2W Mail to Dewitt
LaGrew 1872 3-3S-3W Name changed to Golden Hill, 1875
Lazneb 1922 1923 7-8S-1W Was to be named Beuzal; Mail to Snow Lake
Leander 1880 1881 16-6S-5W Was to be named Cross Bayou
Lodge Corner 1955 35-4S-5W Name changed from Hagler, 1945; Mail to Stuttgart
Lois 1903 1906 25-5S-2W Mail to Van
Long Point 1858 33-3S-4W Name changed to Almyra, 1890
Mentor 1881 1882 30-6S-5W Mail to Williamette
Molino Del Ray 1852 1866
Mount Adams 1854 1912 29-2S-2W Was to be named Gunnell or Sunrise; Mail to Casscoe
Mouth of Arkansas 1832 Name changed to Napoleon, 1837
Nady 1901 1958 8-8S-2E Mail to Tichnor
Napoleon 1881 Changed from Mouth of Arkansas, 1837; To Desha County, 1843
Niccottoo 1855 Name changed from Hecatoo, 1841
Oak Grove 1860 1866
Oakland 1873 1878 3-7S-3W
Oakley 1874 1881 Spanish Land Grant #2399
Olena 1889 1931 22-4S-4W Mail to Almyra
Pampas 1905 1906 Mail to Bayou Meto
Payer 1883 Name changed to Ulm, 1888
Pearson's Mill 1854 1861
Pendleton 1867 1926 To Lincoln County, 1871
Point DeLuce 1872 1873 11-6S-3W
Prairieville/Prairie Ville 1877 1889 30-3S-4W Mail to Long Point
Preston Bluff 1870 1879 11-2S-3W
Quincy 1838 1839
Racine 1877 1886 34-6S-6W Mail to Williamette
Reeves Landing 1870 1873 10-7S-5W Was to be named River
River See Reeves Landing
Saint Charles 1850 4-4S-1W
Sarassa 1870 1918 To Lincoln County, 1871
Sassafras 1889 1906 3-4S-3W Mail to Almrya
Sharon 1858 1866
South Bend 1835 1925 To Lincoln County, 1871
Stanley 1884 1892 3-7S-3W Mail to Gillett
Stuttgart 1880 20-2S-5W
Sunrise See Mount Adams
Sunshine 1875 1887 36-3S-6W
Swan Lake 1851 Name changed to English, 1886
Tichnor 33-6S-2W Name changed from Hamlet, 1887
Ulm Name changed from Payer, 1888; To Prairie County, 1888
Vallier 1896 1912 22-4S-6W Mail to Humphrey
Van 1897 1973 3-5S-2W
Violet 1881 1903 ?-3S-3W Was to be named White Store; Mail to Almyra
Weber 1900 1915 25-6S-2W Mail to Tichnor
Wellborn 1872 Name changed to Bermuda, 1882
White River 1825 1918 To Desha County, 1840
White Store See Violet
Williamette 1872 1907 To Jefferson County, 1885