VanBuren County Courthouse

Van Buren County Facts

County Officials -

Created: November 11, 1833
Named for: U. S. Vice President Martin Van Buren
Parent counties: Conway, Independence, and Izard
Progeny: Cleburne and Stone
Early county seats: house of Obadiah Marsh and Bloomington
Current county seat: Clinton
Notes: Many records destroyed in 1865 fire. Records also heavily damaged in 1977 flood.