Monroe County Facts

Population - Post Offices - County Officials -

Created: November 2, 1829
Named for: President James Monroe
Parent counties: Arkansas and Phillips
Progeny: Lee
First county seat: Lawrenceville
Current county seat: Clarendon
Notes: One early courthouse, started in 1859, torn down by Union soldiers during the Civil War; another, built in 1872, burned in 1895. Some early records lost.