izard County Courthouse

Izard County Facts

Population - Post Offices - County Officials -

Created: October 27, 1825
Named for: Governor George Izard
Parent county: Independence
Progeny: Baxter, Carroll, Fulton, Marion, Stone, and Van Buren
First county seat: house of Jacob Wolf
Current county seat: Melbourne
Notes: All records destroyed by fire in 1889. Another fire in 1937 destroyed the courthouse, but most records saved.