Arkansas History Commission CARAT Arkansas County Ashley County Baxter County Benton County Boone County Bradley County Calhoun County Carroll County Chicot County Clark County Clay County Cleburne County Cleveland County Columbia County Conway County Craighead County Crawford County Crittenden County Cross County Dallas County Desha County Drew County Faulkner County Franklin County Fulton County Garland County Grant County Greene County Hempstead County Hot Spring County Howard County Independence County Izard County Jackson County Jefferson County Johnson County Lafayette County Lawrence County Lee County Lincoln County Little River County Logan County Lonoke County Madison County Marion County Miller County Mississippi County Monroe County Montgomery County Nevada County Newton County Ouachita County Perry County Phillips County Pike County Poinsett County Polk County Pope County Prairie County Pulaski County Randolph County Saline County Scott County Searcy County Sebastian County Sevier County Sharp County St. Francis County Stone County Union County Van Buren County Washington County White County Woodruff County Yell County

The State of Arkansas contains seventy-five political divisions known as counties. This site brings together basic resources and information about each of those counties. The history section offers a quick glance at a county by providing such information as population totals, county seats, dates of establishment, and names of parent counties. Additional historical information and complete lists of post offices and county officials give more detail. County records document life in the county, as do the newspapers published there. Maps and images further illustrate each county’s past.

To learn more about an Arkansas county, click on a county on the map above or use the dropdown box to the left.

©2018 Arkansas History commission. All rights reserved.
Web Services by Aristotle®